Ratings based on 565 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Midwest

A great value in a beautiful setting!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Price, amenities offered. Some of the restaurants. Evening activities.
Cons: They need to change their policy regarding saving of chairs. We had two confrontations when people comandeered our chairs while we were in the pool.
Location: There are many activites and outings. We chose to go to Puerto Morales to shop at the open air market stalls.
Overall we had a wonderful time. The setting is beautiful. Most of the staff is excellent and provide good service. There are fun activities planned for the evenings. There are many choices for meals. One thing the hotel needs to address is the chairs around the pool policies. There are about 200 chairs for 500 guests. We had two nasty confrontations with people stealing our chairs and putting their bags on top of ours while we were in the pool. We are from the Midwest and have better manners than some but I didn't enjoy dealing with that on what is supposed to be a relaxing vacation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Ok place to stay.

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: The rooms are very nice, comfortable beds. The refrigerator was restocked daily, which was nice.
Cons: The massages are very nice, but the spa tried charging us for too many. Be very careful of what you sign. I feel they tried ripping us off.
Location: We used Best Day for our shuttle and for a excursion. They are amazing! Very helpful & easy to deal with. I would definitely recommend them.
The resort is very pretty, the staff is helpful and friendly. The food is ok, nothing spectacular. Some of the restaurants are closed on certain nights, it's very confusing! I think when you check in, you should be given a listing of all events for your entire stay. And which restaurants are open which days, etc. It's very confusing to keep track of. And also, you can't even get a bottle of water until 10:00 am! Some people in our party had the privileged package, I think this should be offered to everyone making a reservation. We couldn't even lay in their area or order certain alcohol. I definitely would have upgraded, but didn't know about it until it was too late. Being told to leave a certain area of the beach, because there were waiters, and I did not upgrade to a certain package was humiliating and not a good feeling. It really turned me off from the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis

Nice hotel, service is inconsistent

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Good drinks, okay food ( vegetarians), nice pools, okay beach ( lots of seaweed ), inconsistent service
Location: We took a catamaran tour to Isla Mujeres with Albatros, great time!
We had a great time. The rooms were clean and beds were nice. There are multiple pools for everyone. The beach does have a lot of seaweed but we still enjoyed it and were able to get in the water. There are servers for the beach and pool. Corona on tap. A really nice coffee shop. The food is okay. We are vegetarians and didnt have trouble finding something to eat. Service is very inconsistent. We found Ricardo Poot at breakfast and lunch and Alba at the pool and they gave impeccable service! They should be training the staff. We didnt get the Premium package upgrade and dont see a need to. Definetly get a Ocean View Room ( 2nd floor or higher).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scarborough, ME

Relaxing vacation

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Most of the staff are pleasant and friendly, they work very hard to make your stay enjoyable. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and clean.
Cons: The beaches could have been cleaner, there was a lot of trash that never seemed to get picked up even though they have beach staff around all day.
Location: Short distance to the airport. There is snorkeling,diving,sailing, shopping and excursions very close by for everyone to enjoy.
We had a very relaxing vacation! This was our second stay at Ocean Coral but we are not sure that we would go back. Check-in was very rushed, it was a busy time but we were not given any hotel information. We were told to bring our room key to the bell boy station who took our room number and gave us directions on how to get to our room, since we had been there before we found our room with little trouble. Other people that we talked to did have problems finding their rooms. We had asked for a king size bed but had 2 full when we arrived. Our luggage was brought to us about 20 minutes later by a very pleasant bell boy who called housekeeping for us and had our beds put together. We were located on the 3rd floor and had a wonderful ocean view. The rooms are nice and clean but the tiles in the bathroom did show some age and could have been cleaned up a little. There are lots of restaurants to choose from, reservations are not accepted, but the wait time was generally no more then a half hour depending on what time you arrive. The food was average. The beach was large with lots of room although the water does have a lot of seaweed, a tractor cleans the seaweed from the water line all day. The 4 pools are beautiful with lots of chairs, you do need to get there fairly early to reserve them though. There is a children's pool, pool with a swim up bar and a quieter pool. There is also a pool for the privileged guests. We did use the spa which was also very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom MN

Better buy timeshare

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Nice resort. However, if you don't immediately buy the timeshare (high pressure sale as you just get checked in and have not even had chance to unpack bags and hit beach), you will get the dreaded blue bracelet. This means you will be treated like a second class citizen and will have to wait for everything. In five night stay we only were only able to eat in nice restaurant once (after complaining to manager on night number five - not cool). If you like buffet lines, this is your your place. Also, make sure to keep your bracelet on as you would hate to miss out on stale tap beer served in a warm plastic plastic cup. Too many nice "non-band" resorts to waste money at this place.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland, Ohio

Very moderate hotel.

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Just about nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: The location was very good and it seemed very safe.
When I first arrived at Ocean Coral, I thought it would be promising. As time went by, I became more and more disappointed. The staff was, for the most part, very nice, but poorly mismanaged. Food and drinks were awful. The beach was dirty and full of seaweed. It should only be rated a 3 star not 4-1/2. I would never go back there.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: the pools are great.
Cons: The hotel needs a better selection of kids friendly food for dinner. The cups that are used for drinks or soda are too small.
I booked my trip over a year ago, 2 rooms and I requested for the rooms to be next to each other when I booked it, prior my reservations I called and emailed to make sure the rooms are together, I was traveling with the baby and it was important.. as we checking in of course they are fully booked and there are no rooms together, the 2 rooms they booked us for are on the different sides of the resort, that was a huge disappointment. And the hotel staff is not very friendly or accommodating. The lobby is very pretty, the rooms were outdated, the food was disappointing, very little selection. The hotel is kid friendly but they really need to add more kid friendly food. They do have a nice kids club and the staff was nice. Every night I had to argue to get my son who is a toddler a hot dog or nuggets. The pools in this hotel are very nice, just needs more chairs.. very hard to get a chair unless u get up at 5 and put ur stuff on it, which is what everyone did. It was nice, that’s all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Overall the hotel is amazing. Drawbacks would be the ocean (seaweed) and some of the restaurants that were expected to be open weren't. The hotel staff are amazing. We had left a tablet in the room, we didn't realize it until we got home and unpacked the next day. Friends of ours were still there, so I texted her to check lost and found. The hotel HAD it...which all in it's own is amazing and so honest. Some hotels aren't so honest. The pools and grounds are kept very clean. Overall, a great vacation and a lot of memories made.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Second time here!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Location,beach ( even though, this year the seaweed was terrible and made walking the beach not so pleasant.
Cons: Consider going to a no spring breakers, family/ couples resort. The spring breakers were loud, obnoxious and too intoxicated.
Location: Although we Did not go on any excursions, there is plenty to do!
Resort is showing a little wear and tear. Even the foliage!? We stayed for seven days and almost was able to completely relax!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom DC

Doesn't deserve a 4 star rating!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
The price was right but even so. Poor to mediocre food, mediocre facility, mediocre pools. Too hung up with their different levels of guests. Take a note from true luxury resorts, all guests are treated equally. If you want to get drunk on inferior alcohol products, lay in the sun poolside all day, and eat mediocre food at night, this is the place for you. That's not for me. For the most part, the staff were very friendly.