Ratings based on 591 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wheeling

Twice as nice 2nd year in a row

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Layout of the property. Daisy area separated from swim up pool bar. Shaded Tiki huts on the beach with chase lounges under them for guests relaxation.
Cons: Theater could be cooled off during shows, but the shows themselves are very enjoyable.
Location: So much to do at the resort, never left.
This is the second year in a row we have stayed at this resort and it will remain on the short list of places to visit again. Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Everything was very clean and kept up. Restaurants offered a variety of culinary delights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Great staff, great guests, fun resort

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, fun guests, easy going attitude.
Cons: Quality of pillows and linens, television is quite dated, location of wall outlets in room is not very convenient.
Location: It's 45 minutes to Cancun downtown, but everything you "need" is within the resort.
My group of 20+ chose Ocean Coral for our bachelor/bachelorette party. The first thing I noticed was the friendly staff and friendly guests. This is a big resort, meaning there is a spot for people to have fun, and a spot for people to enjoy the sun with no distractions. I've been to only one all inclusive prior to Ocean Coral, but I can safely say the food at Ocean Coral is good. They have one restaurant that opens VERY late, which came in handy many times for me and my friends. The rooms are very spacious and the air conditioning works great. The beds aren't the most comfortable but they do the job. If you plan on spending a lot of time in your room then maybe Ocean Coral isn't the place for you. Transportation to Cancun for night life is a bit of a journey (45 minutes with normal traffic), but the resort is filled with fun people so you don't necessarily need to go outside the resort for nighttime fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Medina, Ohio

Great concept, great staff.

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, especially of grounds and public areas. Hallways and stairwells were always clean.
Cons: One pool could be left open for evening swimming, at least until 10:00 p.m.
Location: Did not try anything this trip.
Staff was fantastic. Made us feel we belonged, and that they were happy to have us as guests. Jacuzzi did not operate properly, and air conditioning did malfunction, but both were resolved in a timely fashion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ocean Isle, NC

Second time to OCT

Posted May 15, 2015
I was hoping everything would be as great as first time and it was. Anyone interested in going here, please read all reviews. If you're going for the beach, look at other places. A lot of seaweed due to the reef. Also, if you can't get into one restaurant, there are more options. That is probably the most frustrating thing about this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Cameron Wisconsin

Beach Dirty,

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: The nightly entertainment. And the Asian restaurant.
Cons: When someone asks to have 2 beds and get 1 bed and sofa that is not what the customer wanted. and no time share it's my vacation
Location: had to take a bus every where or shuttle. about 40-60 minutes from most attractions.
The resort was nice but as soon as we arrived and checked in they tried to get us to go and listen to a time share. Not interested!! They have 3 pools which are all nice. We did get a ocean view room was nice but smelled like sewer. Had to get a dehumidifier to get the smell out. The beach was very dirty. The locals say because no hurricanes this yr. Food great in the Asian, the rest just ok need more variety. Breakfast burnt most days (bacon, pancakes, waffles,etc...)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Good enough for the price.

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Liked that there was a choice for pools. Tennis courts were nice.
Cons: The weight room is horrendous. No clamps for the barbells, everything is rusted. No cleaner for the benches except a can of Lysol and paper towels.
Location: Not far from Puerto Morales. Boat trips for snorkeling.
Beach was full of seaweed, but the staff at Ocean Coral work hard to remove it. Everything needs an extra cleanup. Furniture was worn out and kind of dirty. People save chairs and they are not supposed to and nothing is done about it. Good activities. Performances and the music and night was fun. Restaurants have good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pampa, TX

Area is beautiful!

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: The hotel and grounds were extremely well maintained.
Location: Everything is close by, lots of shopping and amazing excursions!
We paid for the Privilege upgrade and I highly recommend that anyone that stays here do the same! The hotel was beautiful and clean. Hotel staff was amazing! Always friendly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom rhode island

Beautiful resort

Posted May 8, 2015
The resort and staff were excellent. Will definitely be going back!! Only drawback was that the ocean was dirty, but that's Mother Nature Beds and pillows could be a little more comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, AB

Don't bother going here.

Posted May 3, 2015
We upgraded our room as much as possible, only to be disappointed upon arrival and throughout our stay. We booked a king size room, with jacuzzi on balcony. We got two double beds pushed together with a crack in the middle of the two and a jacuzzi that did not work. The outdoor shower drain was clogged and maintenance took four days to get there to fix it. No amount of asking resolved our issues. We were even told king sized beds did not exist at their hotel. HA! The buffets were inedible, the restaurants made it somewhat better but not great. The staff was not around when needed. Room service took over an hour and food came in cold. Rooms were not made up until 3-4:00 in the afternoon. While we paid for premium, premium drinks were not to be found. The bell-hops were slow, the bugs were plenty and the place was far away from any outside entertainment or activities. The last few days our maids stopped leaving coffee and toiletries even though we were clearly out of those items. Tipping didn't encourage better service and we were left needing another holiday. Don't waste your money here, the weddings aren't that great either, and they pack in as many as possible each day. Which closes down the restaurants for the guests whom are staying there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Beautiful, Clean, Straightforward

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: Nice rooms, awesome pools, beach close by, and wide variety of food and drink options.
Cons: At times, the service was bad unless we gave a tip prior to even getting drinks.
Location: Among seemingly a thousand other resorts on a beautiful beach nearby the second largest coral reef in the world.
Very impressive cleanliness and upkeep in the rooms, the restaurants, the common areas, and the beach. Food was inconsistent in quality but we always had a nice variety to choose from whether it was breakfast, lunch, dinner, or snacks. The staff sometimes employed the "good service for good tip" philosophy. We found that tipping ahead of time normally got us the quality wine, prompt service and good food that we hoped we'd get anyway. But for an all-inclusive resort with "gratuity included" per Expedia, this definitely had an effect on our overall experience. Overall, a beautiful resort with attentive staff and strong amenities. The pool with swim-up bar and short walk to the beach were my favorite part of being there.