Ratings based on 307 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice resort. Horrible service

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: The food was good. The royal service pool was nice.
Cons: Customer service. A smile doesn't always cut it.
Location: I recommend the Maroma for jet skiiing and ATV'ing. The snorkeling left nothing to see but brown coral, so I would recommend that part.
They overbooked the resort, so many people had to be moved from the La Perla building to the Esmeralda. This was especially frustrating for us, since the rest of our family was staying in the La Perla building (a good 10 minute walk away). The day we were scheduled to move, we had to wait for an hour and a half for the bell boy to show up to move our luggage, so we were stuck in our hotel room in the middle of a nice day. We upgraded to Royal Service, along with my father, but ours was put under his room #. This wasn't straightened out until half way through our trip. The last day, the beach was completely covered in seaweed. I enjoyed staying at the Paradisus Palma Real in DR, but will Never visit the Playa Del Carmen resort again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Great Hotel, would stay there again.

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Food, room, service, beach
Cons: price could be lower
Location: not in the midle of playa del carmen but not far, 15-20 min walk or 7 min taxi. Taxi will charge 10 USD to go to Playa del Carmen.
Can't complain about anything other than the price, but in this case you get what you pay for in the good way. Great food, good services, not too far from playa del carmen if you want to walk by the sand. Great rooms and beatiful hotel decoration. No pressure to buy any extra stuff, what I love!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom portland, or

Great food & drinks. Decent beach and great pool!

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: The hotel had a really nice ambience. It did not look run down and was very well kept. The food, drinks and staff was top quality.
Cons: The reservation system for reserving in the restaurant was bad. Not that many activities in the night except for one 1/2 hr show. Nothing for Tweens.
Location: The entrance to the hotel is drab and there didn't seem anything to do around. The taxi to 5th ave was $15 which we didn't use.
Our stay was excellent in every aspect. The room was just fab with a jacuzzi in and out and a pool that went forever. The food and drinks were of excellent quality. It was like having food in a 5 star hotel. The hotel staff were very nice and very prompt in their service. The beach area is not too big. There was also quite a bit of seaweed. The beach was a little rocky.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury hotel far from beach

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Stayed Dec 20-27, 2014, 2 adults + 2 kids (12 and 3). Wake up earlier to get cabana bed and avoid crowds at breakfast. Pros - one bedroom suite - closets in the room - elevators in the buildings - pool towels without cards - clean hotel grounds - meals well presented - professional entertainment Cons - no towel station at the beach - no restrooms close to the beach - breakfast can be very crowded if you late sleeper - not much entertainment for kids if they don't stay in kids-zone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with all the amenities!

Posted Dec 30, 2014
We loved our stay at this hotel. They provided outstanding service and accommodated anything we needed. We brought our one year old and they even had baby food if we needed it! Since it was Christmas time, they had Santa and even gave kids real presents. We also loved the kids zone and enjoyed our time as well by the pool. The food was amazing, and the restaurants served high quality food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom puebla

Hotel recomendable

Posted Dec 27, 2014
De los pocos defectos que tiene es que las albercas no tienen calefacción y el agua está realmente fria. La mayor parte de los restaurantes no aceptan a niños después de las 730 pm
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Good resort for families with some flaws

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Food, pool area, beach, resort maintenance, bathroom/tub
Cons: heating the main pool and the infant pool although it is hot weather.
The resort is beautiful and well maintained. food was delicious and there was a huge variety of food. the room was big and continent. The weather was hot but for some reason the water in the pools was icy cold, we took a swim up room and couldn't enjoyed it because it was too cold to get in. The beach was beautiful and clean but there was no place to take towels, you had to go back to the pool area, few minutes walk, there was no enough umbrellas to hide from the sun, you had to get up early in the morning to save a spot. The big flaw in my opinion was that the resort actually combines 3 sub hotels: Esmeralda, la pearl and the family concierge with shared amenities sound good, well not so much, why?! because you couldn't enjoy the swimming pool at the family concierge which was the only pool in the resort with heated water, I had to sneak in with my baby cause I wanted her to enjoy the pool so much, we couldn't enjoy the la perla restaurants cause there were for adults only, same in the beach area. so whats the point of combining them all together and have an all inclusive resort if not all inclusive and you feel so limited?! I would prefer to have them totally separated so I don't have to be jealous of those families who were enjoying the heated pool while I was freezing cold with my baby... All in all it is good resort for families. but I would only go there when it is extremely hot weather or you are not sensitive to cold water..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom orlando florida

Paradise

Posted Dec 19, 2014
The hotel was so grand and well cared for. The staff was very dependable and so professional. Everything about our experience was decadent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Amazing service and great for families. Family Concierge well worth it for the extra special treatment, access to the heated pool and special reserved areas at the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Nice hotel for family gathering

Posted Dec 17, 2014
We travel for wedding occasion and this hotel is very nice and good accomplish for weddings