Ratings based on 389 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

End of June 2015

Posted Jun 28, 2015
We stood in La Esmiralda, family style. May be adult only side in La Perla is better. What was good- Modern style, nice appearance, mostly clean (public bathrooms not always clean) large choice of restaurants, good choice of liquor. Defiantly may be choice for my next trip in Playa Del Carmen, if I will not find better place. What was bad - first couple days amount of Mosquitos was incredible. It took hotel 2-3 days to treat area. Beach is good, not the best. Beach umbrellas had to be replaced couple years ago, ugly, ripped and are not in good working condition. If you need to use bathroom while you on the beach you have to walk 5 min. Horribly far. The only bridge from hotel side to the beach was occupied by the wedding ceremonies after 4pm 5 days out of seven of my stay. To return back to the hotel we had walk additional 10-15 min around area. Why hotel has so much respect to the weddings and total disrespect to other guest of the hotel? Same thing with private parties. Hotel management doing them everywhere they want, sometimes blocking walkways of other guests. Hotel staff has no idea what is good service means. Waiters in buffets are slow and ignorant, it look that they spent all their time for personal conversations. It use to take a good minute before beach bartenders notice single person in front of them. I heard a lot of complains regarding leaking plumbing, but my room was perfect. Spa is nice, but small and extrely overpriced.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Service is so bad .......they are not understanding English. ..so it was so hard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas city

Some short comings, but,

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Many of the negatives were beyond the Hotel's control. A fire closed 2 of the restaurants & nightclub. Thus limiting the dining variety and choices and making it difficult to get prime dining times. A seaweed invasion essentially closed the beaches. And stinch was awful! The many pools were great and my grandkids had a great time. I highly recommend a swim up room. Great pool services! Because of the lack of activities at the hotel, booking off sight activities is a must if your stay is beyond 4 or 5 days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Second time around even better than the first.

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Pool design and distribution. Liquor and food offer. Design of facilities. Staff.
Cons: Some sections of the beach could use some sand refilling, but it's nothing that would limit your enjoyment of the beach.
Just a wonderful place all around for all of adults and children in our family. Great, modern, facilities. Extremely professional staff. Incredible value for your money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Just OK

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: restaurant variety
Cons: beach, a/c in the rooms needs to get cooler, temp outside was a high of 90, I can't imagine staying in the hotel when it's 100 plus outside.
Location: 10 minute ride to 5th Avenue shopping and bars.
Room would never get cold, staff was not friendly, beach area was terrible but on a positive note... food was really good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston Tx

Awsome and beautiful

Posted Jun 16, 2015
I actually went expecting the worst since this was my first time traveling to a all inclusive resort. When we arrived I quickly noticed they welcomed us and accommodated us to the fullest every single day for the entire 7 days we were there. I love this place and for sure will tell people and go back myself real soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from conroe, tx

june 2015 family trip

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Food Options, Bar Service, Pools, Relaxation, Staff is excellent, Family Concierge is Great, Kids club is awesome
This was our 3rd trip to Paradisus La Esmeralda. Great place to stay, staff is great all around, food is top notch any where you go. Pool and service is excellent. Will return again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Almost a Five Stars ..

Posted Jun 12, 2015
We love the Resort..gorgeous and the food was amazing at Lapalada. The resort was full of staff, and the attention was there. Unfortunately, I had my ring stolen in my room right after they cleaned my room in late morning- I did bring the attention to the security manager but I did not get any reassurance that they will taking care of the issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Family friendly, excellent quality food and great shows
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

The resort was immaculate and beautiful.

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Everything was excellent, from the view, the employees, the food, and the shows.