Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Not worthwhile for this cost

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Irresponsible / inattentive staff Too crowdy swimming pool Our Valuable hours taken from club melia membership presentation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Splendid Property. Not on beach is it's only negative . Isreal our Family Conciege was extraordinary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Great Place, great food

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Food, pool, master suite, private entrance to the pool.
Cons: Beach, better alcohol (at least at the mini bar). We stayed at the most luxury suite and beverages where cheap (whisky and rum).
Location: Lots of things to do, local tours offices inside the hotel, Playa del Carmen is just a 5 minutes ride in taxi.
It was a very nice Hotel with lots and lots of pool everywhere. The pool bartender was extremely nice, they should improve the quality of the alcohol being served, most of the bottles where cheap alcohol. The food was very impressive considering it was an all inclusive resort, there where shows almost every night and there was always some activity going on. All in all this is a very recommended place, we had our honey moon there, the room was like expected with jakuzzi at the deck, big bathroom, the direct exit to the pool was the best part of it. We stayed at the top Suite located at the first floor (just because of the private entry to the pool). Beware of the beach, its not like you would expect it to be and definitely not like the resort pictures it with the photos. That's the only negative aspect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny ny

Like a village onto itself.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: E above
Cons: See above
Location: Down town strip was jice
We stayed in the esmarelda but our friends all stayed on the Perla side, both were fantastic in their own way but it was nice that you had the option of a kid friendly or non kid environment. Beautiful room, GREAT food, the only thing I would have want ed d was maybe a few large fans positioned around the complex, the heat can be stiffening not that it's the hotels fault but whe you are walking around a breaze, artificial or not would be nice. OH my only complaint, the elevators are sweltering, we were on the top floor and used the stairs most of the time due to the fact the elevator us have been 115 degrees with no ventelation. GREAT place for couples and families
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: I like about the the hotel is very very clean I love all the staffs there...they are wonderful and very well trained
Cons: If the beach has no sea weed and no need to reserve the dinner or lunch
Location: Xeha is very nice
All the staffs are very nice and I had a very nice stay. No complaint and overall I think the hotel is perfect for any age. My family would go back again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice all-inclusive hotel for the family.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The rooms were very nice as well as a variety of excellent restaurants. The staff was very friendly and always accommodating.
Cons: The only reason I'm giving this hotel a 4 is because they shut down the swim up bars and grill poolside at 6:30 at both the family side and adult side
Location: Location was great! Just ten minutes from shopping in town and close to many other excursions which can be arranged at the hotel.
We had a wonderful family vacation with the beautiful beach and pools. The restaurants were all very good especially Bana with its family hibachi experience. You definitely have to make all your reservations as soon as you arrive because the restaurants fill up and they are pretty strict about reservations. You make reservations through your assigned concierge, we had Abraham and he was wonderful. They do try to sell the time share presentation through discounts at the hotel. The service pool side and at the restaurants was amazing and all of the food was very good. We also got top shelf liquor whenever we asked for it. Overall we were so impressed with the hotel and staff and would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, canada

Great Resort

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Had a great stay at La Esmeralda. Would consider going again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great service, food, entertainment

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Food, entertainment, service
Cons: The only improvement would be to put sanitizer stations at the buffet the way cruise ships have. Other than that no complaints.
Location: Plenty to do near by: Ferry ride to Cozmel, shopping at local market, excursions and tours available through the hotel although we didn't do any.
My family of four enjoyed our stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda. Our children ages 9 and 8 enjoyed the kids club and the rock climbing and bungee jumping offered by the hotel. We ate at a different restaurant every night of our 7 night stay. Our favorite was The Market and The Grille (Adults only). The food was exceptionally good. As New Yorkers we frequent many Zagat rated restaurants and believe the food at Paradisus Playa del Carmen was excellent. The Market was a rodizio where they come around and serve all different types of meat, in addition they had a salad bar. The Grille was for adults only, we love the fact that we could drop off the kids in a SAFE kids club and enjoy our time alone at a quiet dinner. The resort offered many different food options whether you wanted room service, a bite to eat by the pool, a sit down lunch/dinner or a buffet you will not be disappointed! I thought the entertainment of the Elvis show and Michael Jackson review would be cheesy but it was REALLY enjoyable. The dancers, impersonators, and gymnasts were true professionals. Lastly, we stayed in family concierge which offers cabana beds on the beach to the left. Although other posts wrote that it was rocky and had coral...if you walk a little further the beach is perfect! The sand is soft and the water is clear, what more could a person ask for? Our kids are asking to come back to this resort and we will be happy to oblige! Great vacation!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lewisville, TX

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Food was excellent. Very kid friendly resort.
By far the best resort my family and I have every stayed at. Service was impeccable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Disappointing Staff and Kid's Club

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Food quality, cleanliness of resort
Cons: Activities for kids and adults
Location: The Beach was nice
The overall facilities and accommodations were very good and the quality and the variety of the food was also very good. However, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was not as would be expected. In addition, the availability and variety of activities was lacking particularly in terms of the kid's club. I would not even describe it as kid's club rather than a room that is loosely watched by a staff member while kids try to entertain themselves with Spanish language television and a beat-up pool table. After being treated to the level of quality provided by Club Med Ixtapa's Kid's Club, I cannot recommend this resort for those with children.