Ratings based on 224 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing to eat

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Hotel itself was good but food was very very bad!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arlington va

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Outstanding place and staff. Will definitely come back and recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Falls Church, VA

Family Stay at Paradisus La Esmeralda

Posted Aug 30, 2014
We had really a blast. Paradisus you did it again. We stayed last February my wife and I at Paradisus Punta Cana and we decided to take the kids 4 & 11 with us this time to Playa Del Carmen since we loved our previous stay. The experience was the same, great people, great food for an all inclusive, the kids had a wonderful time and it was really a timeless experience overall. My brother in law and his family joined us on this trip and they also loved everything from check in to check out. We decided all of us to join Club Melia and Claudia did an outstanding job walking us through the process. Again thank you everybody at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda for making our experiace unforgettable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from So Cal

Totally overrated all inclusive hotel.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: the service staff were friendly, the conciegerge folks are pretty snooty and the bell hop we had a couple of the days was always busy flirting w/othe
Cons: the FOOD!!!! The food is just mediocre, room service is minimal, don't bother. The snooty stuck up concierge staff is just mind boggling....
Location: ruins, 5th ave, beaches, the islands, so many things and excursions to do but note, its HOT and humid, keep hydrated and watch out for scams
We originally asked for two adjoining rooms - we had two swim ups and of course we were instead six rooms apart, they had nothing available unless we upgraded .. we booked via expedia and chose the VIP hotel which included free upgrades if available upon check in but no upgrade was given but available for a fee. The food is sub par - very cheap, not close to being a five star resort, you dont get what you pay for, but the only seafood was some shrimp which was rare and the meat was mostly flank type of steaks, everything better was an upgrade and charged as an extra fee. the pool food was also typical cheap fare, burgers, grilled chicken sandwich. Minimal choices and it wasnt available until 11 AM. The pool lifeguards allow older children with large flotation devices on the sliding pirate ship which would knock over the smaller toddlers. The pools in general were pretty clean, but when we checked in there was a chicken bone by our pool bed in front of our room, it was there for two days, but eventually cleaned. Bird poop here and there seems the norm. Our room was clean and had turn down service twice a day, though hardly needed for the second but nevertheless the room was always clean, we appreciated that, the next door neighbor had a loud snoring man which came through to our room, the staff did say there was another swim up room further away from our friends swim up room available if we wanted to move, the halls are LOUD
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, Ca

Paradise in Paradisus

Posted Aug 27, 2014
I love this place and will be back next year for longer. This place is not just beautiful but the staff were excellent! We ate at Naos, The Grill, the Brazilian restaurant, Bana and Toji. The food was amazing at every place, I would have paid good money to dine at those again. The kids club was great my son was hesitant at first but on the last day he made sure he said bye to all the staff. Can not wait to plan my vacation for next year!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Not worthwhile for this cost

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Irresponsible / inattentive staff Too crowdy swimming pool Our Valuable hours taken from club melia membership presentation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Splendid Property. Not on beach is it's only negative . Isreal our Family Conciege was extraordinary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Great Place, great food

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Food, pool, master suite, private entrance to the pool.
Cons: Beach, better alcohol (at least at the mini bar). We stayed at the most luxury suite and beverages where cheap (whisky and rum).
Location: Lots of things to do, local tours offices inside the hotel, Playa del Carmen is just a 5 minutes ride in taxi.
It was a very nice Hotel with lots and lots of pool everywhere. The pool bartender was extremely nice, they should improve the quality of the alcohol being served, most of the bottles where cheap alcohol. The food was very impressive considering it was an all inclusive resort, there where shows almost every night and there was always some activity going on. All in all this is a very recommended place, we had our honey moon there, the room was like expected with jakuzzi at the deck, big bathroom, the direct exit to the pool was the best part of it. We stayed at the top Suite located at the first floor (just because of the private entry to the pool). Beware of the beach, its not like you would expect it to be and definitely not like the resort pictures it with the photos. That's the only negative aspect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny ny

Like a village onto itself.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: E above
Cons: See above
Location: Down town strip was jice
We stayed in the esmarelda but our friends all stayed on the Perla side, both were fantastic in their own way but it was nice that you had the option of a kid friendly or non kid environment. Beautiful room, GREAT food, the only thing I would have want ed d was maybe a few large fans positioned around the complex, the heat can be stiffening not that it's the hotels fault but whe you are walking around a breaze, artificial or not would be nice. OH my only complaint, the elevators are sweltering, we were on the top floor and used the stairs most of the time due to the fact the elevator us have been 115 degrees with no ventelation. GREAT place for couples and families
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: I like about the the hotel is very very clean I love all the staffs there...they are wonderful and very well trained
Cons: If the beach has no sea weed and no need to reserve the dinner or lunch
Location: Xeha is very nice
All the staffs are very nice and I had a very nice stay. No complaint and overall I think the hotel is perfect for any age. My family would go back again soon.