Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny ny

Like a village onto itself.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: E above
Cons: See above
Location: Down town strip was jice
We stayed in the esmarelda but our friends all stayed on the Perla side, both were fantastic in their own way but it was nice that you had the option of a kid friendly or non kid environment. Beautiful room, GREAT food, the only thing I would have want ed d was maybe a few large fans positioned around the complex, the heat can be stiffening not that it's the hotels fault but whe you are walking around a breaze, artificial or not would be nice. OH my only complaint, the elevators are sweltering, we were on the top floor and used the stairs most of the time due to the fact the elevator us have been 115 degrees with no ventelation. GREAT place for couples and families
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: I like about the the hotel is very very clean I love all the staffs there...they are wonderful and very well trained
Cons: If the beach has no sea weed and no need to reserve the dinner or lunch
Location: Xeha is very nice
All the staffs are very nice and I had a very nice stay. No complaint and overall I think the hotel is perfect for any age. My family would go back again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice all-inclusive hotel for the family.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The rooms were very nice as well as a variety of excellent restaurants. The staff was very friendly and always accommodating.
Cons: The only reason I'm giving this hotel a 4 is because they shut down the swim up bars and grill poolside at 6:30 at both the family side and adult side
Location: Location was great! Just ten minutes from shopping in town and close to many other excursions which can be arranged at the hotel.
We had a wonderful family vacation with the beautiful beach and pools. The restaurants were all very good especially Bana with its family hibachi experience. You definitely have to make all your reservations as soon as you arrive because the restaurants fill up and they are pretty strict about reservations. You make reservations through your assigned concierge, we had Abraham and he was wonderful. They do try to sell the time share presentation through discounts at the hotel. The service pool side and at the restaurants was amazing and all of the food was very good. We also got top shelf liquor whenever we asked for it. Overall we were so impressed with the hotel and staff and would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, canada

Great Resort

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Had a great stay at La Esmeralda. Would consider going again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great service, food, entertainment

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Food, entertainment, service
Cons: The only improvement would be to put sanitizer stations at the buffet the way cruise ships have. Other than that no complaints.
Location: Plenty to do near by: Ferry ride to Cozmel, shopping at local market, excursions and tours available through the hotel although we didn't do any.
My family of four enjoyed our stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda. Our children ages 9 and 8 enjoyed the kids club and the rock climbing and bungee jumping offered by the hotel. We ate at a different restaurant every night of our 7 night stay. Our favorite was The Market and The Grille (Adults only). The food was exceptionally good. As New Yorkers we frequent many Zagat rated restaurants and believe the food at Paradisus Playa del Carmen was excellent. The Market was a rodizio where they come around and serve all different types of meat, in addition they had a salad bar. The Grille was for adults only, we love the fact that we could drop off the kids in a SAFE kids club and enjoy our time alone at a quiet dinner. The resort offered many different food options whether you wanted room service, a bite to eat by the pool, a sit down lunch/dinner or a buffet you will not be disappointed! I thought the entertainment of the Elvis show and Michael Jackson review would be cheesy but it was REALLY enjoyable. The dancers, impersonators, and gymnasts were true professionals. Lastly, we stayed in family concierge which offers cabana beds on the beach to the left. Although other posts wrote that it was rocky and had coral...if you walk a little further the beach is perfect! The sand is soft and the water is clear, what more could a person ask for? Our kids are asking to come back to this resort and we will be happy to oblige! Great vacation!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lewisville, TX

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Food was excellent. Very kid friendly resort.
By far the best resort my family and I have every stayed at. Service was impeccable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Disappointing Staff and Kid's Club

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Food quality, cleanliness of resort
Cons: Activities for kids and adults
Location: The Beach was nice
The overall facilities and accommodations were very good and the quality and the variety of the food was also very good. However, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was not as would be expected. In addition, the availability and variety of activities was lacking particularly in terms of the kid's club. I would not even describe it as kid's club rather than a room that is loosely watched by a staff member while kids try to entertain themselves with Spanish language television and a beat-up pool table. After being treated to the level of quality provided by Club Med Ixtapa's Kid's Club, I cannot recommend this resort for those with children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Co

Fabulous resort all round.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Everything about this resort was fabulous. The restaurants, the pools, the beach, the service, the rooms, the beach - everything was top class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Jul 13, 2014
The food was delicious! The only problem was that the beach was very far from the hotel and u have to walk on a brigde and pass a manglar to arrive. Other than that everything was great!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Very family-friendly resort with nice facilities

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: - Very family friendly. Staff knows how to handle child-specific requests. (need for milk, crib, highchair, etc...) - Food was good overall.
Cons: - Service at the restaurants can be improved. Mostly good, but kinda spotty some times. - The Brazilian BBQ at The Market needs work.
Location: - 5th Ave in downtown Playa Del Carmen was THE GREATEST. I can't remember any street with this unique blend of shops, restaurants, and charm.
This resort was awesome. When I compare this place to Riu Palace or other resorts of similar level, I would rate Paradisus way above the other 'run-of-the-mill' 4-star resorts. You would pay a little more, but it's totally worth it in my opinion. - Food: All the of a la carte except for 'The Market' for dinner (Market is GREAT for lunch) were great. I would pay $30-$40 to eat at those restaurants, plus you can ask to try more than one things if you want. Also, they have 24-hour room service with good menu items. Had ribeye steak at 10pm in my room and burgers and wings at 1am two other occasions. The room-service food is better than what you will find at a diner or lower-end family restaurants in the US. The staff are very accommodating to your requests. The servers are unfortunately hit-and-miss. I think it has a lot to do with the command of the English. They are all nice, but some of them are more helpful than others. The only minus is that service can be slow some times, but it wasn't too frequent. - Facility: The room was in the Family Concierge building although we did NOT pay for FC. The room had huge tub in the bathroom with a separate rainfall shower. There was another tub with jets on the balcony which was really nice. The entire complex is very well maintained and beautiful. You will have to walk for about 5 minutes to go to the restaurants and the beach is about another 3-minutes walk, but no big deal. Great private beach.