Ratings based on 360 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Picturesque and Opulent!

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING!!!
Cons: Some of the room doors could use fresh paint touch ups. Bathroom door molding needed a little fresh paint.
Location: If you want a European ambiance on the Rock River, this is your place; whether a small romantic get away, or large group conferences, this hotel is it
I loved the historical decor, from museum pieces on display, to exquisite authentic antique ornamental woodwork facades and imported European fountains. I felt like I was in a timeless movie the entire stay. The service helpers pampered us with genuine, old fashioned guidance and care. I felt truly pampered with a classic, timeless experience! The free morning breakfast was like non other! With Eggs, Bacon, French Toast, Waffles and everything else you could want. The coffee was great! The dining restaurant was great, food prices moderate. We ate with our large family at the outdoor "gargoyle" riverside patio, and had a fabulous time together, supported by a wonderful wait staff who made sure that everyone had exactly what they wanted and needed. With NO rush.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Nice facility for the money

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: The carved wood/marble was awesome. The bed was VERY comfortable.
Cons: The cleanliness of the hotel room.
Location: We were just driving through. But there is a pamphlet when checking in that lists all the unique antiques carvings etc throughout the hotel.
The young lady that checked me in was amazing. She had a great personality, let me know where everything was, was fast friendly and courteous. However there was a male behind the counter as well helping customers, a customer came up to him looking to print his boarding passes and there was no ink in the business center, and he loudly went on and on about how he was not surprised and just talked badly about the hotel. This is something you simply don't do. The hotel is older with all the current convinces of home. You definitely could see the wear and tear here and there, but it did not create any negative situations. There is so much carved wood work and marble its absolutely breathtaking. What a gem. We got to the hotel very late, we were excited because we reserved a river view room. We were traveling and not from the area so was excited to have a water view. We got to our room, turned in for the night and when we woke up, and opened the curtains, found no water view, we were looking at a solid wall of bushes and shrubs??? The cleanliness of the rooms definitely needs to improve. The bedding was good, the furniture and floor seemed good. But the bathroom needs improvement. The was black stains on white towels. Hair/etc on the toilet. Overall for the money I would stay at this hotel again, but knowing there might be some issues i'll have to deal with.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the event we went there to attend

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Beautiful setting, close to the event we were there to attend, helpful desk staff.
Cons: Needs updating and existing repairs need to be completed, portions of the ceiling were open or temporarily patched, general mildew odor.
Location: We were only interested in the event we attended
The hotel is outdated and has obvious signs of damage and incomplete repairs. Housekeeping decided not to clean our room during our stay, which forced me to request more towels to allow us to shower the following day. A note was shoved under the door stating we had a privacy sign displayed (not true) or we had requested privacy ( not true).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Rockford IL

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The Architectural Appearance, and the historical feeling.
Cons: Our room had only a shower and the shower curtain was about 5 inches too short so when showering the water flowed onto the floor. the towel was soaked
Location: Fair.... As expected.
The front desk should supply you with the layout of this hotel..They are located on the 3rd floor and being on the 2nd floor and thinking that the front desk is normally on the ground or 1st floor made it very very confusing. Something that would help anyone staying there for the first time. A simple "this is where we are and this is where you are staying"...would have been a great help. Just hard to get around. It was the hottest day on record and the air didn't work in the hotel restaurant of bar. Needless to say it made it very uncomfortable to even stay and eat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down hotel with holes in the hallway ceilings

Posted Jul 19, 2015
This hotel left nothing to be desired. We would never go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Bed was very comfortable and room was quiet
Cons: The restaurant was closed, need to open it back up
Location: No restaurants near by all fast food or hole in the wall bars
Very Quiet place to stay for meetings or business purposes. Enjoyed my stay and would go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointng.

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Nothing really.
Cons: All of it needs to be redone.
Location: In town for a family function.
Our basement, river-view room, looked out over weeds and trees. There was a very small view of some mud behind the trees. There was someone burning incense in the basement. We had to ask to be moved to another room because the scent was so strong, we became sick to our stomachs. Everything felt grungy. Wall paper was coming off in many places. There were many, many poorly done patches in the ceilings as well as holes in walls and ceilings. There was not much light in the rooms, and what lighting was there, was only partially working. No laundry bag. Only 2 towels in the room. The morning breakfast was over before we even got out of bed. It was quite disappointing-and expensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dunlap, IL

Disappointment.

Posted Jun 9, 2015
First, we paid extra for a room with a river view. We couldn't see the river because of overgrown trees. Second, we were asked for proof that out dog was a service dog. Had to review the law with them. Third, our room was not clean! The air conditioner has not been wiped off since last year!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2015
The facilities were quite dated and in need of upgrading. The resturant was closed forcing me to go out for dinner when I was expecting to dine at hotel resturant. There were very few people staying there, probably because it was a Sunday,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice Hotel on the River

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: comfortable, quiet and awesome woodwork.
Cons: The class and plush comfort of this old resort should be capitalized on. This could be a destination not just another hotel. The plastic glasses.
Location: Fairly convenient off of I90. Plenty of shopping and food options. Right down the street from my customer.
Basically only slept there. It was comfortable and quiet. Great rate. Bring your own shampoo and shower gel.