Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
We had a wonderful time ! Hotel workers were very friendly and clean rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, Wi

Hotel is older and needs updating and new carpets

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The deck and the view of the river at night.
Cons: Needs updating.
Location: Not sure. It was close to the golf course where I was in a tournament.
Just needed a room overnight in Rockford close to a golf tournament I was in. People at the desk were friendly and efficient. Used the elevator to go up to the room. It was really slow and the carpet left a lot to be desired. It was dirty and stained. We went to the deck that overlooks the river and the deck and view were great. The staff at the bar were very good. The best part of the stay was the deck, the view and the staff. The hotel is in need of some renovation with paint, wallpaper and new carpeting for sure. Rooms were clean but only two towels in the room. Even with the expedia pricing, I would consider the room rate overpriced for the quality of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Beautiful facility, location is beautiful on river, rest of area isnt great
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired and needing an update

Posted Jul 3, 2014
At one time this was probably a great place to stay. Lots of character features and situated on the river, but really needs a thorough update. Staff were pleasant and helpful, and I was hoping that this would be a better alternative than staying in some flimsy characterless "box" hotel. Sorry I can't be more positive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Libertyville, IL

Historic, nice river view, a little dated

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Moldings, art work on the walls, breakfast and view.
Cons: It could be updated, the staff was nice, but not overly friendly; it was just okay on the cleanliness.
Location: We were in town for a BMX race and it is close to the track; for dinner we went about 7 miles away to the nicer, newer area of Rockford.
Overall, the hotel was nice when we arrived, it is older but kind of neat inside. It does have nice river views, the included breakfast is very good. It isn't a five star, but we would stay there again. It is a good location for where why we were there; however, it isn't my favorite area of Rockford, but we felt safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

The classiest hotel in the Rockford area.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness was immaculate. The breakfast was delicious and the view of the river from the dining area was glorious.
Cons: Air conditioning temperature control in the room.
Location: Close to shopping and recreational activities.
My hotel experience was the best part of my trip. There's an indoor pool and complimentary breakfast. The atmosphere is elegant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice room

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Had no problems. Staff very courteous. My only complaint was that hallway was a little smelly, but room was fine.
1 out of 5
by Jim from Fitchburg, WI

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Condition of the rooms was very sub-standard. Didn't look like they've been touched since being built in the 70's or 80's...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On River

Posted May 27, 2014
Lobby is ornate it the hotel is in need if updates and repairs. The room smelled
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Posted May 18, 2014
Staff was excellent and the morning breakfast was great. More tables should have been made available on the weekends when more guests were staying at the hotel. The beds could have been more comfortable. The tub took a long time to drain.