Ratings based on 497 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Awesome Hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Very laid back. Made for a nice weekend. Staff very kind and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of Nickle and Diming

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The bed and the location
Cons: Ha! Read review
Location: The Alamo and Riverwalk
So let me start by saying this is in fact a very nice hotel. The staff were friendly and the room was comfortable. In fact when I got home, I ordered a couple of the pillows because I liked them so much. As for why the poor rating. It started when we arrived and were told it was $35 per day to park at the hotel. That was a little excessive to me. Next, we get to our room and try to use our phones only to find out there is no service in the hotel....oh and to get Wifi, that'll cost you $12.95. I found this a little strange, almost like they were blocking service somehow so you would be forced to purchase the Wifi. There is NO continental breakfast available. For the price we paid a night at this hotel, there should be breakfast, free Wifi AND free parking. I get that at any lower cost hotel and I would certainly expect it at a higher end one. So for the FINAL nail in the coffin was check out. A bill was slipped under our door on the day of check out. There was a strange charge on the bill for $40.00 listed as a "room charge". When we went to the front desk , we saw a few other guest holding their bills and I asked them if they had the same charge. They did. When asked about the charge at the desk, it was quickly removed and we were given a new bill with no explanation other than it was removed. We asked what it was and the person tried to explain while tripping over his words. SCAM! There are WAY too many choices of places to stay in SA, my recommendation, stay somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2014
I am so sorry that your experience at the Marriott Riverwalk was such a disappointment. I am glad you found the staff friendly and your room comfortable, but that doesn’t take away from your disappointment with the overall experience. I can absolutely assure you that we do not block wi-fi service to force anyone to purchase our in-room w-fi. We offer complimentary wi-fi in the lobby and other public spaces, but as most full service hotels, we do have a fee for the same service in the rooms. As is also the case with full-service hotels, there is a charge for parking and breakfast, some limited service properties, however, offer them on a complimentary basis. As for the other room charge you mentioned, we are looking into why this happened. We are grateful you brought this to our attention as we take great pride in providing a level of service unsurpassed from check in to check out. I hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your trust and confidence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from houston

Quiet and nice friendly helpful staff

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Dust the room better. I noticed dust and dirt on some furniture and under the sink.
Very nice staff. Gave us a complimentary roll away bed for my daughter and had the requested pack-n-play set up in room for our baby. Staff gave us directions to places and was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by steph from new jersey

Great place to stay

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: location
Great location - on the riverwalk, so easy access. Close to all downtown activities and restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Azle, TX

Marriott Riverwalk San Antonio

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Staff, view, location
Cons: Chair upholstery needs updating and balcony rail needs painting.
Location: Location is great; easy walking distance to Alamodome. Riverwalk is just out the door and down the stairs with immediate access to riverboat departure
We took a road trip to San Antonio to see a show at the Alamodome on Memorial weekend. The downtown riverwalk area was very, very crowded but this hotel was perfect for our needs. The traffic in downtown was terrible and getting to the hotel was slow going. However, once we pulled into the entrance, the staff was calm and pleasant. Valet parking, at $35/night, was the only option. Although, in that traffic, that would have been my choice as well. Check-in was easy, no wait and Anthony was very nice. We were on the 27th floor. It appears that all the rooms have balconies. Because of the location and angle of the hotel, there is no immediate obstruction to a great view and our view was spectacular. The Alamodome was about a 6 block walk from the hotel door to the door of the dome. The riverwalk is just out the hotel door and down the stairs. The riverboat tour rides have several ticketing/departure areas along the river and one happens to be at this Marriott location. There is plenty to do, see, eat and drink along the riverwalk. This was a very fast trip and we were at the hotel less than 24 full hours but it was enjoyable while we were there. The only con I would mention was the upholstery on the chairs and the paint on the balcony railing. The upholstery was stained and railing needed re-painting. All in all, I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Madison from San Diego

Good downtown location.

Posted May 12, 2014
Cons: Bathroom size
Location is nice but the rooms are on the smaller side and the bathroom is very small. The staff at the hotel is very helpful and always willing to help. The gym was really great considering the hotel is a little older.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CB from Arkansas

Wonderful staff, Great location!

Posted May 8, 2014
Staff is exceptional!!! Right on the riverwalk. The staff tried to fulfill all our wants and needs. Definitely coming back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

UNFORTUNATE Situation...But handled AMAZINGLY well

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Location and AMAZING management staff! The hotel sits on a great spot of the river with a great night view.
Cons: SECURITY of the parking garages! This hotel really should do something in the way of a continental breakfast. The rates are high enough to cover.
Location: RIVERWALK...Alamo...mall. Mall was okay! STAR attraction is definitely the Riverwalk. Definitely do a Beaudros dinner riverboat cruise!!!!!
My experience started out as expected! The staff was great when I checked in and made sure I had a room overlooking the riverwalk as requested. After a great night of being able to stroll along the Riverwalk so easily, we woke up the next morning to our car being vandalized in the hotel's self-parking garage. While "frustrating" doesn't quite cover the emotions I experienced on what was supposed to be a great daddy-daughter weekend, the Marriott management staff really took care of us! All things considered, after vacationing around the Riverwalk/San Antonio while getting everything fixed, we enjoyed 3 nights (we were only booked for 2 nights), Valet parking, Wi-fi, a few drinks at the bar, and 3 meal vouchers for only...here it comes...less than $20.00. That's right...$20! So, although the hotel has signs in the garage stating they aren't responsible for loss or damage, the Marriott comp'd my room and all my expenses! They DIDN'T have to do that but I thought it was an amazing gesture and was very APPRECIATIVE!!! Our vacation certainly didn't go as expected, but with a little help from the bar staff (LOL) and a lot of compassion and professionalism from the Marriott's management staff, it wasn't a bust and my daughter got a life lesson on why saving money (insurance didn't cover repair), staying positive, and being kind to others is so important! Thanks Marriott for a great experience!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stayed one night for bachellorette party

Posted Apr 1, 2014
For the money I paid for the room I was not impressed no microwave or refrigerator room was small I have never pd 350 for a room but have stayed in nicer motels for a lot less
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay. I’m sorry to know you were disappointed in your accommodations. We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. All the best,
3 out of 5
by Cris from Texas

Stayed in this Marriot by mistake

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Close to river
Cons: Rooms are too small, and hotel seems really out dated
Location: Close to the mall
My experience with Marriot has always been great, but this hotel needs some remodeling. I have previously stayed at the Marriot River Center at the River Center Mall. By mistake we booked this one and we were very disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2014
Thank you for posting your review. I’m sorry you were disappointed in your accommodations. You will be happy to know, however, that the hotel will undergo a rooms renovation this year, in 2014. Please come again after the renovation so you can see our new, beautiful rooms. Thank you again.