Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tammy from Colorado

Wonderful resort

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: we zip lined and it was a highlight of our trip
Wow what a find. This Spanish style villa is beautiful. The staff and locals were so welcoming. We ate several meal at the resort and all were very good. The grounds were kept immaculate. We really enjoyed the hot springs. Great to wake up Christmas morning and sit in a river by a waterfall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vivi from Costa Rica

Great place to relax!

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Starting from the guy at the entrance, the whole staff was very kind and friendly, breakfast was delicious! Perfect place for relaxation and peace of mind!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LittleJoPerk from Florida

Hit and Miss

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: The grounds are beautiful. The location is convienent .... right off the main road, yet secluded. There is plenty of hot water for your shower.
Cons: The quality and variety of food.
Location: Within an hour drive from river rafting, zip-lining, animal parks, waterfalls, volcanoes and freshwater fishing.
We have stayed at El Tucano three seperate times .... it is the nicest and most convienent accommodations in that area. However, the food is not worth the price .... breakfast is OK but the same every morning. Beware of the orange juice ... sometimes it's good but we are not the first guests who have gotten sick after drinking the orange juice for breakfast. The thermal pools and hot tubs are not well controled temperature wise ... never the same .... and clean one day and then filled with bits of algae the next. It is usually quiet and relaxing during the week ... unless they get bus loads of tour groups. And there seems to be a loud party or conference every weekend .... so crouded that there is no parking! The biggest reason we keep coming back is the air-conditioned rooms. The next closest accommodations with ac in the rooms are La Fortuna, La Paz or Sarapiqui. Internet is available in the lobby, conference lounge and restaurant but the speed varies and they are slow to reboot the system when there is a problem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Cons: Restaurant Menu
Its a good hotel, specially if you want to rest. Cleaniness is good, and all installations are very comfortable. Maybe it needs improve maintanance..
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Big Daddy

Enjoyed the thermal pools

Posted Feb 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Everything was as expected, clean, friendly, good food. Thermal pools are great. Nearest towns are a cab ride, but its not a problem to call one in. Or take the bus. Tours can also be arranged into Arenal quite easily.
2 out of 5
by Linda from Tampa, Florida

Great hotel bad hospitality. No shuttle service.

Posted Jan 3, 2013
Pros: The river that runs next to the hotel was gorgeous. The nature trail and the hot springs pools were fantastic.
Cons: The staff was awful. Unfriendly and would not try to help with any questions you may have. Very rude.
Location: The hotel is about 3 hours from San Jose airport and they do not offer transportation. While you there there is no way to get around.
The hotel is beautiful but the staff is awful. The initial room that was assigned to us was very small, smell very bad and had no a/c. The neighbors all had their doors open and loud music was playing. We complained and were changed to a better room with AC. The staff was unfriendly, especifically the reception area. The staff at the restaurant was a lot nicer. We were never told about activities during New Year's eve and went to eat without any expectations. We then found there was a musical group, dinner, dance, etc. It turned out to be a great night but we were never told about it. One morning my husband had a bad headache and I had run out of Adviils; I went to the reception desk and asked for aspirins or anything alike and was advised they had nothing of the sort and also they were not allowed to give medications to the guests nor would they tell me where I can buy them. They were not hospitable at all. The only nice person we encounter was our tour guide named Frank. Frank is not a staff member of the hotel but was willling to go out of his way to accomodate us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Courtney

Arenal area

Posted Dec 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very accommodating. The information sent to the hotel from hotels.com was incorrect. We booked executive rooms with a/ c That was not relayed to the hotel. It was a mess. We had 6 incorrect rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sue from Naranjo de Alajuela, Costa Rica

Nice resort for all.

Posted Sep 18, 2012
Pros: The pools
Cons: The toilet was leaking and had a little problem with the hot water
Location: Easy to find in a jungle style atmosphere
Hotel grounds are beautiful,the room was sufficient. Restaurant food was very good,and waiters were very nice. They spoke English quite well. The pools were very relaxing and the river was a plus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

On our way to Arenal..

Posted Jun 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
Comfortable.......good breakfast.l