Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Convenient location

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: It was close to the beach, shops and restaurants. The exterior of the hotel is very inviting as well.
Cons: The bathroom could use some improvements, like more room to store toiletries. Also a fan to relieve the humidity would be a big help as well.
Location: Great location.
The El Cordova hotel is a very quaint historic hotel. It is in a perfect location for an easy walk to the beach, shops and restaurants. The hotel could use some renovation and a slight improvement on furniture. Overall it was worth the money for a standard room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with European feel near beach

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Unexpected upgrade and friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Monica

Lovely Staff and Location, but too noisy

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: The location and staff
Cons: Tell Miguel's to push their cleaning services to at least 9am. It's pretty ridiculous.
Location: Definitely hit the Tavern. They have live music, good food and great drinks. Clayton's Coffee shop is awesome. Donuts and coffee
The staff at the Cordova Hotel were fantastic. Holly, specifically was a pleasure during the extent of our stay. I really enjoyed the boutique feel of our rooms, combined with the location. The only downfall to our stay was the noise factor. The restaurant Miguel's is located in the courtyard, and they scrub and vacuum the tile floors every morning starting at 7am (Vacuuming begins at 8am). So if you want to catch a couple extra hours of shut eye after a long evening out on the town, then I would recommend bringing some ear plugs or finding another place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix, AZ

Great Bargain in Coronado

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Close to the best Beach in Coronado. Close to great food.
Cons: More updating
Location: Food, Drink, Relaxation
From the check in to check out the employees were GREAT at El Cordova. This is our second trip here and I would not hesitate coming back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom WV

Close to everything

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Loved it. Walking distance to delicious restaurants, two blocks from the beach and lots to do. The hotel is not new and I did enjoy the ambiance. I was traveling alone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle on Tyne, England

Coronado, a jewel of a holiday

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Staff are excellent. Good value for money
Cons: Quieter A/C
Location: Eat,drink & be merry.
Return visit this year for 3 weeks holiday. Had a great time once again. Hotel is ideally situated for beach & the desk staff are the most pleasant you will meet anywhere in the world. Being pensioners we had $18 / month Compass passes which give you travel on public transport, (bus & trolley) to anywhere you want to go in the San Diego area. Will be back again next year for certain.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
first room icky.....second room better........amazing manager..........fixed everthing he could
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gretchenfrom Anaheim

Exactly what I wanted

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Don't let the star rating fool you. The El Cordova was a 5 star for us. It was exactly what we were looking for, unique, historic architecture, quaint, centrally located with a quick walk to everything. We parked our car (that was a challenge on this island), and never needed to use it again until we left. This place does not feel like a hotel, it feels more like you are staying in the middle of a lovely little town's market area, where people know each other, and the movement of the town is all around you. The restaurant below has the usual sounds and aromas of a restaurant, but it didn't bother us because it was quiet by the time we wanted to go to sleep, and didn't start up again until we wanted to get up in the morning, I actually kind of liked that aspect...felt like I was in Spain or something! The Del Coronado Hotel is literally right across the street, so easy to adventure there and enjoy the beach out front. The room wasn't perfect, the kitchen was ehh, the grout wasn't always fresh in every corner of the room, but MAN, the bed was comfortable, and I didn't care a bit about the imperfections, because the charm outweighed it all. If you want Hilton, then go there. If you want a little hidden gem of a place to create memories in, then go here. LOVED renting bikes next door and touring the island in an "easy hour". I hope to be back again sometime. The AC was excellent, which is huge for me. Cute and private little pool and spa too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Emiliafrom San Diego

Loved the 1 Bedroom Suite

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is great, the Suite is roomy, clean and comfortable. A terrific place to relax and walk to the beach, restaurants and shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by ksl

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everyone was wonderful, we enjoyed our time there.