Ratings based on 1,033 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Interesting property

Posted Dec 15, 2014
It's like a cluster of small apartments. Very nice location.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom h

Above and beyond

Posted Dec 15, 2014
The staff didn't go above and beyond. I paid to stay there. And that's exactly what I got. Nothing more. If I am going to come back, I expect them to want me there. The beds were very hard. The manager was unfriendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel for a work conference.

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Multiple pools and ponds. Beautiful landscape and kept clean.
I recently stayed at Paradise Point for a conference. I checked in a few days early to relax and unwind. My room was very nice and clean. I had a walk in closet which made the stay very comfortable and easy to keep organized with my busy schedule. The pool was right outside my back door perfect for a morning swim or evening jacuzzi. I would recommend this as a conference destination again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Noisy!! Book somewhere else!!

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Two nights, two room changes, two scary security issues, would not recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Definitely for families with kids

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: It's location and the friendly staff.
Cons: The food at the restaurant was too fancy. We wanted to only eat at the resort. It would be nice to have basic food cooked well, besides pizza.
Location: We went to the San Diego Zoo. That was amazing. We rented a boat at the marina. There was a nice park adjacent to the resort.
The grounds were beautiful. We could easily access the beach. The marina was close by to rent different types of boats. The heater/air conditioner in our room was noisy. The employees were very friendly. There were a lot of kids at the resort. We did not expect that. The kids were running around and we had planned a quiet get away by the water. We will not be returning for that reason.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2014 by David, Hotel Management
Traveler, thank you for writing about your hotel experience on Expedia. We’re saddened to hear that our hotel did not deliver the quiet getaway you had hoped for. As you mentioned, our hotel often attracts families with children, but it also cater to couples and is known as one of San Diego’s most romantic resorts. We’re also surprised to hear that our dining selection was not to your liking, as we have six dining venues with various types of cuisine at different price points. We hope that the enjoyable aspects of your stay such as our location and friendly customer service will bring you back for another chance to enjoy a relaxing retreat in Paradise. Best, David Hall Managing Director
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Nice spot right on the beach

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Resort is a bit dated, but they have done a great job keeping it up. Close to Lajolla. Staff were great, I'd go back for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2014 by David, Hotel Management
Traveler, thank you for the Expedia review. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our bungalow-style resort and that our friendly staff were a highlight of your visit. As you mentioned, our unique location in the heart of San Diego is just minutes away from popular neighborhoods like La Jolla. We look forward to your next visit from Calgary for another memorable island vacation! Best, David Hall Managing Director
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA

not worth to the price

Posted Nov 29, 2014
the parking fee per night is too higher and ridiculous. the room is not in good condition. the bath room is too small and too old. not clean neither.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom so cal

cute and tropical but poor lighting at night

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Location, quiet
Cons: PLEASE check the comforters before putting them back on the bed prior to new guests. I was cold during the night with only a sheet.
Location: It's in San Diego so everything is close. SeaWorld is across the highway. I would suggest bringing snacks, drinks for kids - no close market.
I have stayed here before as a kid when it was Vacation Village and also with my own kids. I was here this time for business so the amenities weren't needed for this trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location and grounds are beautiful

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Cons: rooms could be updated
Bellmen and cart drivers were very friendly and helpful. Front desk staff nice. When calling front desk the person answering was rude. Rooms could use updating. Just looks old.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2014 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Paradise Point. We apologize for the unfriendly service you received over the phone. As you know from your noted interaction with our front desk, bell and other staff, this is not the norm, and we hope that the friendly customer service you received from these team members will bring you back for another stay in the future. Best, David Hall Managing Director
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice grounds but rooms & cleanliness need work

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: The grounds, bike rentals, restaurant on site.
Cons: Cleanliness. The need to use some of their substantial 'resort fees' to hire an exterminator.
The resort grounds were nicely landscaped. There is a store with food, clothing, and souvenirs that is open fairly late. There are a couple of nice looking places to eat right on site (pricy), and a coffee/pastry place in the lobby. Nice looking pool areas with spas and fire pits. We had a double queen room right by the Tidal restaurant. The door to the bathroom hung at an angle, as if someone had hung on it and tweaked the hinges. You had to lift the door up to close it. We discovered a 2" monster cockroach in there the first night - gross! The room was nice and big, with nice clean bedding, a standard TV & small fridge. The floors were dark hardwood. As we walked around the room and bathroom in white socks, they became black on the bottom from the dirt on the floors. They obviously don't mop frequently. So, really mixed on this place. Lots of good amenities, beautiful grounds, but I wouldn't go back due to the lack of cleanliness.