Ratings based on 873 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Mediocre

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Bathrooms were filthy, far from 4 star. Restaurant staff very slow, unprofessional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

A tropical getaway with adventures for kids

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Loved our stay. Beautiful bay views, lush trooical grounds to explore, lots of coastline to wander. We rented a Duffy boat to explore the bay, swam in the lagoon pool and main pool, used the fitness center, and really relaxed. The exteriors of the bungalows are a bit dated, but inside was nice, our room was clean and fresh. The dining options are minimal but the food was pretty good. We will definitely return and bring more family with us to escape to the Island. Our 3 year old had a blast too. No poolside drink service midweek though...only on Fri to Sun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2014 by David, Hotel Management
Traveler, thank you for the detailed review of your recent visit to Paradise Point Resort & Spa. We appreciate the kind comments regarding our views, lush grounds and accommodations. We are also grateful for your insight on poolside drink hours, which we will look at expanding outside of summer. We are thrilled to hear your plans to return to Paradise Point and look forward to seeing you and your extended family here in the near future. Best, David Hall Managing Director
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chino, CA

Posted Sep 7, 2014
The amenities of this hotel is great, but we have some complaints about the room. We checked in on a Thursday night around 10pm for a lanai garden king. The staff was overall helpful. When we got to the room, it smelled like somebody just had a poop in the restroom, and I could smell it from outside of the bathroom. The smell finally faded away I think the 2nd day. The bed is very firm and makes a weird squeaking sound, which makes the sleep very uncomfortable. We couldn't manage to have a good night sleep and went ahead to check out at 4am in the morning. I could live with the smell and uncomfortable bed if this was a $100 plus n minus hotel in the area. But it's unacceptable for a hotel that charges at least $300 a night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Not for business traveller, plenty for families

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Great staff
Cons: Complete renovations of all of the rooms. Improve the gym, it has old equipment, and the water container is serving room temperature water.
Location: The resort is on it's own island. There are several activities available provided by the resort.
Great check in and staff. Rooms are semi-renovated. Bedroom area is modern with great furniture. The bathrooms are circa 1980s with peeling painted over-tiles and old decor. Limited electrical outlets. Most of the bedroom outlets were too loose to use as my laptop plug kept slipping out. No outlets at bedside. Room walls are thin. You will know if you have a neighbor. Because resort is on an island, there is limited off-resort dining options. Resort dining options are great, but nearest off-resort restaurant requires a cab/car.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beware of additional hidden costs!!

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: It was quiet. Not too many people.
Cons: Additional costs should be mentioned in hotel description section, so there is no surprise at the checkout.
Location: No need to stay at the resort type accommodation while in San Diego.
It was our last minute travel. Paradise was the first and the “best” deal option available on Expedia search results. It was a bit expensive but considering it should be a beautiful resort on the island we decided to go ahead and book it. The pictures on Expedia were amazing. The first minute we arrived to Paradise, found our room I was sad and disappointed. It was ok resort, nothing to compare to resorts in Mexico, Jamaica etc. The room was also ok. I immediately regretted our decision to stay here. Food at the restaurant was ok food and service was lame. At the checkout we were presented with an additional $300 bill. It turned out that they charged $35 per parking per night and $35 extra for tennis court and other amenities that we obviously didn’t use. On Expedia page there was something about “may be additional cost charged by hotel” but no specifics. Beware! Was not worth it!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Housekeeping needs a major overhaul!!!

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Great Landscape on property
Cons: Housekeeping!!
Location: Definitely need a rental car to get around to attractions.
Unfortunately our short stay at Paradise point was a complete disappointment. We booked based on reviews and amazing pictures we had seen on Expedia as well as the hotel website. We arrived late in evening but were still able to see the grounds which were beautiful! We got to our room and I was in shock! The floors were filthy and the bathroom had hairs all over it. We immediately went back to front desk and they apologized and put us in another room. By this time it was 1:30 am and we didn't have much else of an option. They placed us in a so called "upgraded suite" but it was almost worse than the first. The place was again very filthy. I couldn't believe how this place could be rated so high. Hair everywhere, floors covered in sand. Cobwebs over doorways and ants on the bed. By the next morning we spoke with management and checked out immediately. They were nice enough to refund our stay. Sounds like they are in need of a major renovation which is suppose to happen soon per staff. Rooms are very old and need some major TLC. Not sure what rooms they have pictures of on the website because the two rooms we checked out were far from it. I wouldn't recommend this place until they gut all the rooms and start over. Sad because I was so excited to stay at this place and we wasted an entire day looking for a new place to stay on a holiday weekend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southern orange county

Be careful what room th give you

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Water sports
Cons: Food was ok at best. Ordered wine at the pizza cove and it came in an individual milk type carton. Really?
Location: Good location to lots of cool places.
I paid avg $400 a night during Labor Day weekend for a Lanai Garden room. It actually backed up to the main road. Our view was a highway. First night one of our beds was full of ants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary, alberta

definitely not a 5 star

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Cons: rooms need updating, maid service needs improvement (they didn't clean or replace glasses in the room)
Location: location was fantastic and close to everything a tourist might want to see.
We stayed in one of the bungalow suits. First impression was nice, but as we walked further to the back of the room where the dressing room and shower room are, was disappointing. The bath tub area was very grungy. The first night I pulled the bed down and got in, I found sand down at the feet! Gross! Called and complained, and they offered to send someone down to have linens changed, but by this time out 5 year old was already sleeping. So I just asked to have the linens to both beds changed the next morning. The following morning we woke and went to Disney land. When we returned, it was around 1am. turned the bed down, the sand was still there!! I called the front desk, they apologized, and again asked if they should send someone to change the linens! Well of course our son was passed out from our long day, so i said no just put a note in the file to change them which they said they would. I called the following morning just to make sure that note was on our file... which is wasn't!!! The lady apologized, and assured me the linens would be changed and she gave us a 50 dollar credit. The linens were finally changed. On a brighter note, the day we checked in, the original suit was extremely far from everything, when we asked to get something closer to the beach, they were happy to upgrade us and were placed very close to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Awesome location and great resort feel

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Feels very tropical and secluded while being right in the middle of San Diego attractions. Great family fun with plenty to do right on tag resort. Fire puts and ability to have beach bonfires is awesome! Definitely recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2014 by David, Hotel Management
Thank you for the stellar review of Paradise Point Resort & Spa! It sounds like our tropical resort with an assortment of outdoor activities, including bonfire pits, exceeded your expectations. As you mentioned, our private resort is centrally located, with many of San Diego’s top activities just a short drive away. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best, David Hall Managing Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to SeaWorld

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Unique Atmosphere
Cons: Quality of bathroom was poor. Shower tile/siding falling off, poor shower water pressure.
Location: Rent boats, close to SeaWorld and
Fun atmosphere, great restaurant food and setting.