Ratings based on 2,094 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not that great for $300 a night.

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: The room was clean, and the towels and bedding were on the newer side. The room was also quiet.
Cons: Install AC, and update the rooms.
Location: Good location, a 10 min walk to the heart of Union Square.
The room didn't have AC, and it felt very stuffy. Ceiling fan helped, and the cleaning staff would open the window, but there was no screen and it opened directly onto the fire escape. I didn't want some alley rat crawling into my room in the middle of the night. The furnishing were also very tired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: you could not reduce noise from street...
Location: everything is nearby
you could not reduce noise from street...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2015
it was not what we saw on the website how the room looks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Good place, good price, great location

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Great stay close to Union Square. Classy old hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Timely support

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Hotel manager Steve is very on top of things. As soon as he finds out that the needs another type of room to suite the need, he calls in right away to find out what the problem is and gets the issue resolved. His action helps to guest to lengthen his stays there from 4 to 7 nights. A win win situation. What makes a hotel great is how willing the staff is in listening to their guests and the efforts they put in to solve the problem. For this excellent quality that Carlwright's hotel staff has, I rate them 5. Location is great, plus great staff, it's worth the stay and future returns!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clovis, CA

Hotel close to everything!

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: The staff and the location.
Cons: Continental breakfast would be nice.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, walking distance to so many places.
Although the staff was very nice and helpful, we were dissappointed we didn't get the kind of room we booked for months back. They tried to convince us they upgraded us to a swite. Yes, it was bigger but we wanted two beds (not a couch and a bed.) Also, the bathroom was for someone in a wheelchair and there was no lip on it so water got everywhere. The next night they put us in another room with a better bath/shower but it was a queen bed and not the 2 beds we booked for. Finally the third night we got the right room the rest of our stay was pleasant. Other than that, we loved the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Value, Close to Union Square

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Proximity to Union Square. Price. General cleanliness.
Cons: As above, some of the electrical outlets were loose, and so plugging and unplugging computers and chargers seemed to weaken them even more.
Location: One short block away from Union Square, and all the shopping and dining facilities available there. The hotel is in a safe neighborhood.
Stayed at the Cartwright for three nights and enjoyed the proximity to Union Square, the free-wifi, and the friendly staff. The room was a good size for myself (a single traveler). Facilities all worked properly and were in decent condition. Some slight maintenance on the electric outlets to tighten the covers would be good. Other than that I have no complaints about the room, service, location, or price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Only the location. Nothing else was likeable.
The hotel was nothing like the photos that appeared on the Expedia site. The room was pitiful, and the bed quite soft. Very disappointing considering the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Good priced hotel in heart of San Francisco

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Great Price!
Cons: updated decor, etc - but that would probably raise the price
Location: Near Union Square, had a Walgreens and 7/11 across the street. Great diner (Loris) right on the corner!
Had a great experience overall. The Cartwright hotel isn't anything fancy with special amenities (nor do they try to sell themselves in that way). That said, knowing what you are paying for (a decent room, bathroom and great location) it is a great hotel. We stayed for 4 nights and it was conveniently located to everything! The staff were very helpful and courteous when I had any questions. Overall, it was a great stay and I would definitely stay there again next time I'm in SF!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Munich

Charming and cozy hotel in heart of San Francisco

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: great location and staff
Location: in heart of San Francisco, Museums, Shopping Streets and Malls close by, also short walking distance to China Town or North Beach.
Really enjoyed stay in Cartwright Hotel. Location of hotel really great as very central. Staff was super nice and always helpful with recommendations and accommodating special requests. Room are not very spacious but enjoyed the atmosphere a lot.