Ratings based on 1,502 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good location

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: People.
Cons: Fixing the window screen and fixture.
Location: Good location for shopping.
Boutique type of hotel. Excellent location and close to all shops. Cannot expect premium amenities or modern decor, though appreciate the history as this hotel has a hundred year of history. Staff very helpful and friendly. Enjoy our stay and pleased with the value,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Great downtown location.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Second time to stay here. Very nice and quiet. Great place to rest and close to many things.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Different then advertised

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Has a character
Cons: Update!
Location: Excellent location
Stuffy and loud. Worse condition then on the pictures. That all would be fine but not for this rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and nice hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and location
Cons: Parking prices
Everything was outstanding. Location is perfect and prices were very reasonable for the majority
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You're paying for location.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Proximity to shops and attractions
Cons: Where does one start? It's a quaint nice little hotel with small rooms, but if you get a good deal then it's all ok
Nice , but small. Doors are loud when they slam all night. No ice machine, no fridge, very basic but clean. We had much better room near fishermans wharf. If you're doing lots if shopping it's nice to be so handy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from honolulu

Great Location & Staff

Posted Jul 12, 2014
We stayed over 4th of July weekend and it was great! The staff was very friendly and professional. The lobby is beautiful but I thought it was unfortunate that they had a bar area with no liquor license. It seemed like wasted space to me since they're not utilizing it. The room was clean and cozy but too small. I heard anothwr guest refer to it as a doll room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

the room was small but very clean.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: That it is clean and convenient in the middle of all attractions.
Cons: none
The hotel is in the middle of everything. you can get to any place from this hotel. Very convenient location. The staff very friendly. The room small but the most important the room was very very clean every single day I was there. I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel. I had access to every thing and everywhere. And the most important I had a peace of mind that I am in a clean place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Great hotel, located really close to Union Square! The room was nice but the only complaint was the size of the bathroom. It's super small, hard to get into the shower, which is weird because there is a huge walk-in closet right beside it. The staff were really friendly and helpful too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Folsom, Ca

Just Keeps Getting Better

Posted Jul 6, 2014
The Cartwright has never let me down. The beds are very comfortable and the location a block off Union Square can not be beat. The front lobby and fireplace area is perfect for morning coffee and a newspaper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pinecrest, CA.

Very nice & cozy.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Staff very friendly & helpful. Only improvement would have been to have view of street rather than building wall next door. We'll ask for that next time. Thank you!