Ratings based on 685 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom quito ecuador

Great location, great price

Posted Mar 2, 2015
We were visiting sf along with our one year old kid. The people at front desk were super helpful in terms of showing us the best places to visit and even helped us with a problem we had with our luggage
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rome, Italia

Nice inn centrally located

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Its location
Cons: more parking spaces
Location: Close to Little Italy, Cina town, Fisherman's warf
Easy to get to, great parking spaces, friendly personnel, helpful in discovering the city and giving directions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Great Location and Helpful Staff

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Number One would have to be Location.
Cons: n/a
Location: Lots of coffee shops and little restaurants nearby. Union Street within walking distance. we also walked to Ghirardelli Square and Fishermen's wharf.
Spent a long weekend in San Francisco with my 10-year old daughter. We used public transportation throughout our stay starting with the BART from the airport to Powell/Market, then the 27 bus to the hotel. My daughter loved the old-fashioned elevator that took us to our room. The room with the Queen-size bed was clean and perfect size for the two of us. I usually bring slippers to any hotel because I don't like my feet stepping on "public" carpets. Each hotel room is accessed from the outside hallway/gallery which made for somewhat of a noisy night because of street traffic. Hotel staff was very helpful giving us maps and telling us where to go and what areas to stay away from. There are several breakfast places and restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. We never felt unsafe in the area. I would stay at Castle Inn again and recommend it to my friends and family
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Ich habe eine Woche im Februar dort verbracht. Der Herr am Empfang beim CheckIn war sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit, das restliche Personal teilweise eher abweisend. Die Zimmerausstattung ist etwas älter aber sehr sauber. Die kleine Kaffeemaschine, Mikrowelle und Kühlschrank sind sehr praktisch. Es gab auch ein Bügeleisen. Nur das begrenzte Frühstück (ab 7:30) war ab 8 schon fast weg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas

The reviews were right!

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: The price, location, amenities in the room and the friendly agents.
Cons: The refrigerator and hairdryer didn't work properly in our room. So probably a bit of updating/fixing of the appliances.
Location: Location was near all landmark locations like Pier 39, Financial District, Chinatown, Little Italy and other great places.
My friend and I stayed at Castle Inn this past weekend. The location was great! The room was a bit small from other places I have stayed in but it was perfect for us since we were hardly in our room anyways the price was not bad either compared to other places I had searched. The building does look a bit old and has a few wear and tears but it was very clean. The agent was super friendly and was able to check us in early. She even gave us a map of the city, which locations to go to and which locations we should avoid (at least at night time). She went beyond what I expected. The place isn't open 24/7, which for me that's different since we live in a city where everything is open 24/7 so I wasn't able to check out with an agent and had to wait to speak with someone just to make sure we were checked out. But besides that everything was great! I checked the reviews before booking our trip and the reviews didn't lie about this small but pleasant hotel. Would definitely consider staying here again and would recommend it to anyone else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to everything, numerous restaurants ,

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Walked to Chinatown Fishman's wharf Little Italy theater numerous restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Clean, with basic things. Good tv channels. Poor breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Basic accommodation

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: located just one block from Bus Route 19 and a further walk Up Broadway of a block will get you on a cable car rout which every tourist wants to do.
This hotel is conveniently placed on a bus line and not far from the usual venues tourists want to visit, However it lacked a some of the usual attributes of a hotel. Computer access was nonexistent. there was no breakfast other than prepackaged bake goods and an urn of coffee which was not available until 0730 each morning. The bath area was very small and poorly laid out. and the mattress in my room was very tired and needed to be replaced, However the room and bath were very clean although the usual supply of toiletry items very limited to some shampoo and miniscule cakes of soap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Clean older hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Clean and tidy older style hotel. Location is good near Polk St. Room was clean and comfortable but pretty basic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Leverkusen

Schöne Tage in San Francisco

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Das Hotel (besser: Motel) liegt einfach dermaßen günstig, dass man über Kleinigkeiten wie klemmende Badezimmertür hinwegsehen muss. Auch der uns empfangende Kollege an der Rezeption war äußerst nett und auskunftsfreudig! Wir erhielten von ihm eine Karte auf der er uns markierte, wo man hingehen soll und auch besser nicht... Und wirklich kann man sehr viel zu Fuß erledigen, aber wie schrieb hier schon jemand: bergauf/bergab. Eine Renovierung würde dem Hotel/Motel gut tun, es ist in den Zimmern schon ein bisschen abgewohnt. Und über Sauberkeit gibt es nur positives zu berichten, da kann ich nicht klagen! Zimmer nach hinten raus nehmen! Vorn direkt an der Straße ist es ein bisschen laut...