Ratings based on 3,360 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, slow staff

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Good location close to a station and the civic centre, only 15 minute walk from union Square. Staff were very slow to respond to any requests. WI FI didnt work in the rooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Bad hotel in bad part of town.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
I got this through the express deals and I am never playing this game again. The hotel is rundown. Most, though certainly not all, of the staff is pretty abrupt. I don't think the hotel deserves 3 stars, maybe two on a good day. Oh and the location is awesul. Every other person on the street is a homeless bagger ( the other one is a drug addict).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small, Old, and Broken...

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: It was next to a Bart station so moving around the city is easy. Free internet.
Cons: Almost everything. Honestly the place could use a complete remodel down to the frames.
This hotel looks nice in the pictures, but it is very old and outdated. The rooms and bathrooms were very small. When using the toilet, your legs are actually under the sink because of how small everything is. Only one of the few outlets in the room had 3 prongs, so if you need to plug in anything other than a phone charger you are out of luck. The elevators were slow and you could spend several minutes waiting for it to stop (less than 10 floors, it should be fast). To top off the horrible night the moist San Francisco air condensed on the outside of the bathroom fan and ran into the room. There was a constant dripping that left half the bathroom covered in water by the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice Hotel Centrally Located

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: I liked the old world charm of this hotel. They have a singing doorman who is a local hero award winner!
Cons: Only one person was checking in guests, even though there were 3 people behind the desk. The line was getting a bit long.
Location: Centrally located. Great shopping and dining very close by. Easy access to public transportation and the Freeway is not too far away.
I chose this hotel for its charm, but found out it offered quite a bit more. The Hotel Whitcomb is centrally located, has easy access to BART, and every taxi driver knows this hotel by name - I never had to tell them the address! Housekeeping bent over backwards to have our room ready for us and fixed a slight problem very quickly. Concierge service was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pasadena, ca

In a sketch area

Posted Jul 15, 2014
The hotel is kinda hard to get to but everything is in san fran. Easy to catch public transportation from hotel and walking distance from a few shops and bars. The hotel was ok but they told us at night they didnt let anyone in without a key card and when I got back to my room at 2am no one was at the door to check our key cards. I felt like I paid way to much to stay here is they lowered their prices I would say there again maybe. But outside the hotel were alot of beggers and homeless sleeping on the street. Oh and if you smoke their smoking area looks like a mass murder happened there many years ago. Very creepy I could not even go in that room!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Was an ok experience. Hotel staff wasn't very hospitable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Not what I expected we checked in and out the same day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Front desk

Posted Jul 12, 2014
We asked to be changed to anothet room because the old ac in the room had some very annoying and loud sound patterns it was impossible to sleep. Also because the toilet wouldn't stop flushing. It continuously flushed like 8 times and then stopped. The front desk lady Cristina was very rude and sarcastic. Thumbs up to the concierge -don't know his name - he was a middle age African American gentlemen who worked so hard to get us tickets.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Hotel On Market St.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The fantastic lobby and staff
Cons: The smell, beds, water pressure in showers, cleanliness in bathroom
Location: The hotel was on Market St which is the main street of downtown San Fransisco. Union Square was right there also fishermanns warf was near
To be quite honest My family and I could NOT stay in this hotel, we booked it for two days and ended up checking in, showering, and checking out. We honestly didn't care about how much money we were going to loose because the place was just outrageous. The lobby was beautiful and the entrance to the hotel but as soon as we got in the elevator to our room it seemed like we were walking into Dracula's House. Very dark and the rooms and hallway had a musty smell to it. The room was clean but the beds seemed like they were waterbeds from how old they were and the bathroom was tiny. Along with the tiny bathroom the shower had very low water pressure and took a while for everyone to shower. Other than that the Staff was really nice and professional.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Hotel is unclean. There is no electrical outlet. Lamps doesn't work. Poor customer service