Ratings based on 3,644 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Bad area of town. Hotel needs work. Very expensive for what you get.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calif.

Older hotel in a bad neighborhood.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Had a starbucks in the lobby
Cons: Hotel needs improving.
Location: Would not walk around the area. Not the best part of San Fransisco.
First thing was my wife used the lobby restroom and it was terrible. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very small for the money. OK hotel in a bad part of the City. Would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Pleasant surprise on Market

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The historical character and cleanliness. The internet was free. Beautiful appointments--drapes, sheets, decor.
Cons: The room was equipped with one of the old hotel style heater/air conditioners and it was a bit noisy, but effective.
Location: I was in only for a very quick business stay so didn't get to enjoy the area much. Next time.
The room was small as is the case with older hotels. It was meticulously clean. The linens were beautiful. I wish I had been there a bit longer to enjoy the beautiful stained glass in the bar and the chandeliers in the lobby.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, Nevada

Posted Sep 5, 2014
From the moment I arrived...every single employes I came in contact was rude and dismissive. Everyone seemed to have a different agenda and other busy things to do besides wait on the customers. From the bellman to the front desk clerk to the staff inside the lobby they were all rude and I was completely taken back because Inqasbteying so hard to be nice and even tried to engage them in happy banter. The accommodations were very sad and dreary, small and confusing. The carpets in the halls were disgustingly dirty and rolling up all over the place--especially in high traffic areas. This is an easy fix...so ateange that it is allowed to be this run down. But then there were new decorative pillows and curtains in the room that really matched nothing else in the room--especially the ugly blue painted trim that was all around the room and matched absolutely nothing. To say it was atrocious would be an understatement. I will never return to this hotel and will NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone that I've ever speak with. For close to $200 a night I could've stayed somewhere much nicer with more charm and less grotesque decor and horrible customer service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

TV & desk electrical plugs did not work

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Major remodeling
The property location was very bad. All the homeless people frightened my granddaughter
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Nice, older hotel in downtown.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: * Convenience to Bart/MUNI * Nice rooms * Friendly staff
Cons: More door insulation possibly, not sure how that would work.
Location: Again, convenience to Bart/MUNI terminal. A good diner across the street. Starbucks inside. One terminal stop away from the Moscone center.
I was very pleased with the comfort of this hotel. I was a little worried by the other reviews, but at the same time, we all have differing opinions. The room was very roomy, and had everything I would expect from a hotel room. The bed was very soft and comfortable. The cleaning service did a great job, and the staff was alway happy to help with anything I needed. The Bart/MUNI terminal is just outside the front door, no need to cross any street at all. The only complaint I would have is that you can hear everything that goes on in the hallway. Not much going on my week there, so that wasn't much of a problem for me.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel, poor location

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly
Location: It was very close to government buildings, a theatre, and museums, BART.
I enjoyed my stay, the hotel is close to a BART station, but the area is very unsafe, tons of homeless people loitering around. On the website it says the hotel is one mile from AT& T park, it's at least two miles.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

family vacation

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Hotel outdated. Walking at night within the nearest blocks to the hotel was a bit concerning.Staff very nice, however, not always the most knowledgeable of destinations and the transit system.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas. TX

Great location

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Old world charm, cleanliness and comfort.
Cons: Offer option to re-use towels and sheets; offer coffee maker and fixings in the room.
Location: The hotel is located right next to a subway station and walking distance to City Hall, Opera, Orpheum Theater and symphony halls.
We were easily able to use public transportation to get around the city. The staff were helpful in directing us and responding to our needs. The onsite restaurant was both convenient and reasonably priced for excellent meals. Starbucks, off the hotel lobby, was busy in the mornings. The room was clean and comfortable but a tad small. I would have liked coffee service in the room. The blackout curtains didn't close all the way which wasn't helpful. Overall, though, we enjoyed our stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

waste of money.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
simply put, do not stay in this hotel. it is a bad hotel.