Ratings based on 1,266 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom san francisco

Complete unmitigated disaster.

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Just about everything.
Their "system" was down, so they could not check anyone one in. They sent everyone to the lobby bar where they offered free drinks, which was nice. But we were there as a surprise party for our Dad, who was also waiting in the lobby bar, so we had to hide elsewhere until rooms were ready at 5pm and later. Rooms were so loud, so much noise from all sides, that I thought I was in a fraternity house. There was NO staff in the garage so I had to park my car by myself, and retrieve it, but they still charged me the same $60 that usually includes valet. Terrible staffing and technology situation at a historic hotel, what a shame!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SF Bay Area

Classic elegant SF hotel, rich with history

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Classic, charming elegant without being phony, pretentious or stuffy. Great location, view, history and tradition.
Cons: Bigger, thicker bath towels--they were very flimsy for a hotel of this quality
Location: Lots of SF historical buildings right nearby on Nob Hill, 2 different cable car lines that will take you to lots of neat places in SF
Spent the night there because we had a dinner event in the City, and had always wanted to stay there but never had a reason to as we live nearby. Check in went fine, and though at first we were told they could not give us an upgrade (we had booked through Expedia standard room), when she saw that it was my birthday she put us in a deluxe...which I think was simply a higher floor, but much appreciated, as view of Nob Hill neighborhood was lovely. Room was traditional and "old school SF", as were the lobby etc downstairs, which is just what we were hoping for. Went upstairs to Top of the Mark for cocktail before leaving for our dinner event---that was lovely! At first they told us we would have to wait 20 mins for a window table and stuck us somewhere crummy, but once they saw me get up and walk around and see several open window tables, they moved us before I could even ask. Everything was fine after that. The room was fine, service good, and when we called down at midnite to tell them there was no tv remote control in the room (Hmmm?), they came right up with a replacement. Parking is pricey ($60) so we used the one right across the street ($42) and taxi'd to our event...still saved $! Location is wonderful--we took cable car to Union Square for breakfast at Sears Fine Foods, another old SF classic, and walked back up the hill and walked around and saw lots of lovely old places on Nob Hill--a great way to enjoy SF overnite if you are a local!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed the hotel.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Nice rooms, pretty lobbby nice restaurant. Restaurant/parking pretty pricey though!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Beautiful hotel in a prime location. Easy access to Chinatown, Union Square, and the Wharf.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

"Kinda historic" doesn't imply bad condition

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Cons: Everything need serious intervention
Location: Location is hands down is superb and the only best part, and that has nothing to do with the building itself.
Absolutely wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone,except if they really have to and out of any other option.I'm a constant traveller & have seen a lot around the world and not so picky or biased even toward my favorite hotels. I'm a Fairmont guest whenever in SF usually,but had to stay here because it was somebody else's choice.I felt good since it's an IC group hotel anyway&by default it should be good.Well, this particular one at least isn't.I was disappointed since I first stepped into the lobby but it was ok.Front desk's demeanor was very cold,plastic&impersonal.The biggest surprise was awaiting me once I got into my standard double bed room,I really instantly regretted every penny I paid & was determined to just get out of the room, get down to the front desk and confirm if this is their regular standard rooms&if so I'd just refund if possible&if not will just cross the street to the Fairmont.I was genuinely upset.All this scenario didn't happen because my travel partner convinced me that we're just gonna sleep now for about 8 hours&will leave the whole building by then.He was right after all,&I too that & just slept in disgust.Again I'm not picky¬ difficult to please at all, but it felt like a true trap.It didn't feel actually to me,it was a true zero value for the cost.Double checked with the front desk before leaving if this their standard double room,not old one or if they're renovating some & I didnt get that,she confirmed yes.Im wasting my time writing this now
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom atlanta

San Francisco ladies trip

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: The hotel was very nice and the staff was very friendly.
Cons: More food options would be nice. There were no appetizers available on the lobby level and nowhere to order anything for breakfast. Buffet only.
Location: Had to take a cab everywhere. Not much do do nearby.Jud
We moved once because the bathroom was way to small for 2 ladies. The second room we had was better, but there wasn't any drawer space or enough hangers or shelf space in the bathroom. We set up both ironing boards on which to place our things. The room never got under 74* the entire time we were there. Maintenance came immediately when we called and told us to close the curtains to keep out the sun and that they would override the system. It did come down from 77* , but never got lower than 74. We didn't want to move for a second time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Mark Hopkins SF

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Historic itself, historic area, very comfortable.
Cons: nothing
Location: Cable car rides and transfers to warf and downtown, china town a walk a way, art galleries and Union square close enough to walk to.
Great location on cable car route and historic area. Safe to walk around at night. Check in and out was quick.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2014
beautiful hotel in a great location. staff is very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Truro Nova Scotia

Beautiful classic San Francisco Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Most everything
Cons: Buffet breakfast was excellent but on the expensive side. Likewise the Top of the Mark Bar, cocktails were $14.
Location: Location on Nob Hill is a bit away from downtown, but you can walk there (wouldn't want to walk back up the hill though!)
We stayed eight nights. Staff was superb, helped is with everything. They even gave us a couple of rides in the hotel courtesy vehicle for free. Top of the Mark was a great place to view the city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel with disappointing service.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: History, location.
Cons: Service staff should be trained to care about guests especially considering the cost per night per room.
Location: Plenty to do, just don't ask the front desk...they don't know San Francisco.
Zombies. That's our opinion of the staff at the InterContinental. For the price of this hotel you'd be way better off going directly across the street to the Fairmont. They treat their guests with class.