Ratings based on 772 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Close to the ocean has a nice pool and spa. Price is reasonable. If they had a continental breakfast the rating would go up another star.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

The only room available

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Bed
Cons: Read what I wrote about my experience
Location: Hearst
Motel was old and not well kept up. Old pizza box left in room. almost no water pressure in bath sink. cracked tile on bathroom floor. large stain on carpet. Ice machine was not working. Bed was good. Not worth $166.00 per night but when it is the last room in town you do what you have to do.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pay more or camp!

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Toe nail clippings where vacuum could get. Leaky sink dropped all night. Ac didn't get cool. Smelled bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom l

Annual reunion.

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Heated indoor pool and family room.
Cons: Provide simply, continental breakfast. New carpeting.
Location: Cambria, Hearst Castle, beaches, Piedras Blanca to see the Elephant Seals, State Parks, lighthouse
Appreciate the affordable, family room and location close to the beach, Hearst Castle, Piedras Blanca and Cambria!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware, you get what you pay for.

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Room did not have microwave or refrigerator and had a general appearance of not keeping up with maintenance issues. Water flow was almost non-existent in bathroom sink but could probably be remedied by cleaning filters and flushing pipes, not all necessarily due to the city's lack of pressure and water restrictions. TV channels and pools hours where not as stated on hotel info paper given. Breakfast could be purchased for additional $7 but opted out as it looked pretty chintzy. Other hotels comparable in price in the area would be a better choice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I had a good night staying there.

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Price and location
Cons: adding microwave, and fridge?
Location: elephant seals beach,
It was good for the price and location. I had a good sleep there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fayetteville, Ar.

Old fashioned stay.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Close to the beach but you have to cross the highway. Pool was nice and well used when I stayed there. Furniture was basic but okay. About 3 miles from Hearst Castle. Cons. Older motel, no frills. Internet is practically useless because it's slow. Some rooms have an ocean view...mine did not but I was okay with that because I paid a bargain rate. Bottom line. If you are staying one night this is a good motel. If you are staying a weekend I would suggest one of the more expensive lodges with direct beach access. If you are a complainer and picky, don't stay here, otherwise, this is a good old fashioned motel and worth the stay. BTW....no breakfast but you can buy a $7 coupon for a breakfast of scrambled eggs, sausage and hash browns at the restaurant that serves a couple of the hotels. It is walking distance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Educate their staff.
The front desk is not helpful and friendly. In the 2 mins of checking in, I saw two very unhappy customers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet & did the job, close to Herst castle

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pretty basic facilities, front desk staff wasn't overly enthusiastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cambria ca

Great location

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Near Hearst Castle. Beautiful surf beach within walking distance. Pico Creek