Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near a beautiful beach

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Great beach walking! Went swimming in both sea and pool. Great to be able to BBQ Great spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Does what it says on the tin

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Lighting in the room, as I said the room was dark and the bathroom and bedroom lights wre poor, us girls need to put on some make up even on holiday.
Location: Not much apoart from Harry's, St Armands Circle is closest it has some interstiong shops and good restaurants.
The hotel is in a great position on 10 miles of pricvate beach. It has a swimming pool and just beyaond there direct access to white sand and sea. You ca walk to the convenience store Harry's from the hotel and his restaurant and Deli. Other restaurant and the only supermarket on Longboat you will need a car for. The rooms are clean and utilitarian. As there were only 2 of us we booked the 'hotel' room, it was exceelend but as there was no balvony or door it was dark inside the room, I needed more natural light. This is not there issue just a poor choice from me, next trip I will book a larger room with outside space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J and C from Chicago, Il

Classic Florida Hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Everything was very nice and clean. Dedicated staff. Shuffle Board courts for old school fun and beautiful pool and grills, washers and dryers.
Cons: Hotel rooms need a usable table and normal arm chairs for watching TV, eating, playing games, etc. Wish there was an extra small sink in kitchenette.
Location: Gorgeous beaches and greenery all around hotel. Walking/Biking path runs for miles along road, walk to one restaurant and a few others a short drive.
Room was very clean and had nicely updated decorating. We especially liked our room (237) because it had it's own entrance. The room had a kitchenette but had no sink. It had storage, microwave, toaster and coffeemaker. Coffee packs were provided everyday, as well as other amenities and daily maid service if you want it. We chose not to have our towels changed and room cleaned, for the week we were there, for conservation reasons. They also had self serve recycling bins by their waste bins, for which we were very happy. Beautiful pool area and ocean view and beach!! Complimentary lounge chairs and umbrellas could be brought out onto the beach, another plus. Beautiful area on Longboat Key.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable room in a block right on the beach.

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Comfort of room and proximity to nice beach.
Cons: 1) Sound insulation; we were in 251A and could hear everything next door 2) Ceiling fan / light was low enough to be a hazard 3) Provide a room safe
Clean, comfortable room right next to the beach with most of the facilities you will need for an enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

on the beach

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: right on the beach
Cons: larger unit would have been better choice than hotel unit
Location: close to St Armands circle where there is great shopping and restaurants- Publix grocery nearby
Our room was very clean and comfortable= not all the rooms are oceanfront -some are- but right on the beach- be sure to ask for a BR unit - ours was considered a hotel unit that had a kitchenette which included a refrigerator, microwave ,toaster and coffee maker- the only sink was in the BR where we had to wash our dishes, that were included- the pool looked nice but didn't get to use due that the weather was too cool- check in and out was quick- only regret was that we wished we had chosen a larger unit-
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Last room available on Longboat Key

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: close to the beach
Cons: the rooms need to be updated.
Location: you have to drive for food and nightlife
The front personnel was extremely unfriendly and unprofessional. We got to the property before check in time just to check if the room might be available. The front desk person was rude and told us to find something to do that she was busy with checkouts and didn't have time right now to check back in a few hours or so.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jim from tampa

Good hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Clean, nice, quiet and great location.
Location: Nice shops, good places to eat and good places to get groceries.
Nice hotel, great location. The hotel was very well maintained and pleasing to the eye. The location was close to shops and restaurants but not too close. The atmosphere was quiet and peaceful. I would stay there again. The lady at the front desk upon our departure was too busy to look up from her computer to answer a question I had but finally did but was very short with her answer and went right back to her computer. Other than that everything else was good. The lady upon our arrival was very pleasant.
1 out of 5
by Ed from Rochester, MN

Big price for small, uncomfortable room

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Room was clean and clerks reasonable helpful.
Cons: Lower price; comfortable chairs in room, better description.
Location: Good beach; many activities in Sarasota and Bradenton.
Our 'hotel room' was small, overlooking a parking lot for more money than we have paid for beachfront in Hawaii. The room had only one uncomfortable desk chair, a broken alarm clock, no Kleenex (until we asked), and no desk help after 5pm. Overall=the least for our money anywhere, anytime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Frank from Ontario

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: Nice garden, well maintained. Nice pool, fun putting green.
Cons: Units are a bit small relative to what might be expected for the price. Units have a porch area, which seems superfluous, since nobody sits there.
Location: Beach-walking, swimming.
Good place to swim and walk on the beach, not crowded.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Beach

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Where it was located
Cons: Lighting in the front rooms
Location: It was a short drive to the busier keys and Sarasota which have restaurants, museums and shopping.
Silver Sands was a quiet, comfortable, little motel on a beautiful beach with outstanding sunsets. The pool area was lovely and the views from the front rooms were amazing. Unfortunately we did not have a front room but if we go back we would definitely rent one. The island, Longboat Key, is lovely but pricey. It is definitely the nicest of the three keys, Anna Maria island, Longboat Key and Siesta Key which are all in a row. We will go back.