Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom OH

Nice hotel - close to I 95.

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Nice hotel but under renovation. We did not know this or we would've gone elsewhere. Breakfast was to begin at 6:30 still not set up at 7:00.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Roanoke, VA.

My first booking through Expedia

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: The room was fine
Cons: Be aware of what is going on in hotels that you list...overpriced for what we got.
Location: Close to the highway and a decent restaurant down the street.
As we entered the lobby, we encountered a mass of dust, plastic walls and loud sounds of grinding. We were informed by the lady at the desk,( attired in a cleaning outfit), that the hotel had been sold to Best Western and was being totally remodeled. As we took our luggage on a cart to the elevator, we had to wait for the workmen to finish tiling the floor. Dust everywhere and a bonified construction site. ,,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Remodel of hotel in progress disappointment

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Due to the current remodel in progress at the hotel, the work out facilities, spa, and laundry areas are all out of order/unavailable. The cribs are no longer available for rental. The manager assured us that the remodel would be completed by the end of January 2015. His staff informed me that there would no longer be a spa/hot tub or sauna area. Apparently the workout area will be larger though. The staff is awesome, the facilities are very clean. The breakfast is expanded and delicious. Worth the stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom myrtle beach, SC

Quick hotel before a race..

Posted Nov 9, 2014
The walls were a little thin and the pillows were small and a little lumpy in my opinion. But I felt safe and clean at the Wingate and I think that trumps all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Valdosta, Ga.

Breakfast

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Everything was great.
Cons: As stated earlier, breakfast bar needs to be stocked completely at all times.
Location: River Boat cruise w/meal---Ghost tours at night---shopping at the mall---Bass Pro Shop---great selection of activities-within reasonable distance.
Did not go down at the very beginning of breakfast. Would suggest that breakfast bar is stocked completely until the closing. Was not well stocked at the time we decided to eat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Location near Savannah, friendliness of staff.
Cons: Breakfast buffet
The hotel facility was great, no problems with housekeeping or the cleanliness. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The only negative was the breakfast buffet. Several group tour buses were staying at the facility and there was a lack of breakfast food available, except for cereal. The waffle batter ran out, no bacon, and the grits were scrapped down to the bottom of the pan. Also, there was no fresh fruit available. The young lady refilling and providing service was working as hard as she could and very apologetic regarding the lack of food. Just for info, we didn't wait until the last minute to eat, the time advertised was 6:30-9:00am, and we were there at approximately 7:45am. I don't know what the people that came down after us ate, but I'm sure it must have been cereal.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom cumming, GA

Horrible

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything. From breakfast to room cleanliness.
Location: Savannah downtown is about 9miles. Easy access
This was one of the worst experiences I've had staying at a place like this. Horrible. Do not stay here if you can avoid it. I rather pay $10 more per night to stay somewhere else. Horrible!!!!!!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Johnfrom Tallahassee

Having a bad night

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
When we arrived after 9 hours on the road they didn't have our reservation. The poor guy behind the reservation desk was short handed and the machine that processed the hotel keys didn't work so as he was resolving our no reservation problems he had to keep leaving to let several guests into their rooms. At first glance the room was nice but the mattresses in the double room we had were terrible and the tiny pillows didn't help. We reserved a king bed but none were available. The shower was however Awesome! During the night the a/c was leaking on the carpet and when my wife got up to use the bathroom her feet were soaked. Not a pleasant feeling might I add. So after a restless night on a bad mattress we left angry and had six more hours on the road tired and achy. We might as well just driven thru the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Very friendly staff. Quick check-in. Room was very clean and looked like a more expensive hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bob black

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com