Ratings based on 628 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Spokane

Nice time in Seattle

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: A bigger restaurant, back to the way it was.
Location: See above
Our room was very large, and the price was very economical. The room was quiet, thanks to the double glass on the windows. The room, the Symphony Suite, was very nicely appointed, and was true to its theme. The bedding was very nice. I had room service one night and the service was excellent, and the food very good. The restaurant is not what it used to be, but breakfast, lunch, and dinner was also good. The location of the hotel is very convenient to attractions in the downtown area. I'd give it 4 1/2 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oakland, CA

Perfect holiday getaway

Posted Dec 16, 2014
My husband had a conference in Seattle so he and I went for a long weekend. It was early December and the hotel was cozy in holiday decorations, with a complimentary hot chocolate tray all day and wine in the evening. Guests who lingered in the lobby were friendly relaxed. It had a very cheerful feel, and that's not easy to do in hotels. The staff were friendly, helpful - arranged for us to check out late without any big to-do. A lovely restaurant and bar is attached to the hotel. the best chowder! A great coffee shop next door. We would definitely like to return to the Alexis Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in heart of the city

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Really nice hotel with friendly and accommodating staff. Really enjoyed the additional touches of the complimentary evening wine tastings and morning coffee with doughnuts in the lobby as well as hot chocolate and cucumber water refreshments. Like that the hotel is pet friendly as well. Bed was very comfortable. A couple of points lost on the fact that Expedia didn't communicate with the hotel and my reservation was not on file upon arrival which was sorted out since they weren't full... What would have happened if they were and did I actually get the room I booked? I also got a few phone calls to the room from guests trying to book a reservation.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Nice location to Pike Place

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: The location was close by the most of the places I went to visit.
Cons: The staff could work on being personable and engaging. They should also leave a note or memo when they decided to do an alarm testing.
Location: Pike Place, Ferry to Bainbridge Island, Space Needle and Chihuly Glass Garden
Upon booking, I initially had high expectations as my choice to stay there was based on reviews made from Trip Advisor and what other Expedia users had their say in. The room was nice but it the pictures were just a tiny bit misleading. Viewing the photos of the Author's Suite that I booked, I expected the bathroom to have separate bath tub and shower but it was actually combined. Before my arrival I had emailed the hotel to arrange transportation and mentioned that I was there for vacation to celebrate my mother's birthday but they weren't very engaging and only confirmed my airport transfers. I was a disappointed at their lack of attention to detail. Other guests that stayed mentioned they received amenities upon mentioning a birthday/anniversary--but when I mentioned it upon my check-in process they still did not seem very engaging. The one thing that really put a negative spin when staying at this hotel was when they were doing fire alarm testing. I received no memo or notification during my stay that this was something they were going to do. It really startled me and I had taken it seriously when a nearby staff passing by looked at me like I was being silly and told me that they were just testing. Overall the staff was nice but not very personable. They advertise that they are a luxury boutique hotel but I felt that they used the term luxury rather loosely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good stay

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking is too expensive
The location was great. We got early checkin and a room upgrade. The staff were very helpful and we were able to walk to most places we wanted to see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Wonderful hotel close to everything.

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Central Seattle location; close to Pike Place Market, restaurants on the Pier, and downtown shopping, restaurants and bars.
Great stay; the room, service and location were wonderful. Enjoyed drinks in the bar or on the patio; great selection of bourbon and excellent bar food. Close to most everything in downtown and a short monorail ride to the Space Needle and surrounding attractions like the Chihuly Exhibit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Des Moines, IA

Great stay!

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff and the cleanliness of the hotel and rooms.
Cons: Nothing. It doesn't have a water view but you don't miss it it at all. The location is very close to everything. Couldn't have been better!
Location: Very close to the fish market, great food. We didn't have a car that week but we could work or take a quick cab ride to everything. Loved it!
So we went to Seattle for our 15 year anniversary. We spent a lot of time looking online and reviewing hotels. Finally, I just picked the Alexis and figured they were all rated very close and it would be fine. It was not fine. It was amazing! It is more of a boutique hotel so not a huge hotel but the rooms were awesome. Very clean and nice. I am picky about cleanliness and travel quite a bit and honestly this might have been the cleanest room I have ever stayed in. They heard it was our anniversary and we got an upgraded room with a bottle of wine and chocolates waiting for us. The staff was one of the best parts. They were ALL so friendly and gave us great recommendations of where to eat, places to visit, etc. We had some of the best food that week. We honestly loved every recommendation that they gave and couldn't pick a favorite. It was overall just a very enjoyable week!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boise, ID

Great location but not worth the price

Posted Oct 8, 2014
The hotel appears beautiful and well staffed. But looks aren't everything. I called ahead to have a bottle of champagne in our room when we arrived and the front desk made a note on our account and said it would be no problem. The hotel also emailed, asking if we would like a view, a larger room, etc. I selected a room with a view. Checking in was easy and the staff was quick to provide us with the named of the best sushi within walking distance (Nijo is right around the corner and has a great happy hour!). When we got to the room, I was sad to say that a) there was no champagne and b) the "view" was into another building. Additionally, the balcony was shared with another room, without anything to separate the two! We went to dinner and I brought up the champagne to the front desk. They said "oh, it hasn't been delivered. It will be 20 to 30 minutes." Great! We went to dinner and came back to our room. There was still no champagne. Quite a disappointment. Finally, we called down and they brought up a chilled bottle and 2 glasses, a card, and some chocolates (which I never asked for, but they tried to charge me for when I checked out). The door to our balcony wasn't sealed very well and all of the outside noise seeped through the cracks, disturbing our in room couples massage. I was disappointed in the value of this hotel - I didn't pay that much to get so little. If you want location, there are better options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome stay, great staff.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
It felt like a home away from home. Knowledgeable staff and an awesome consierge. Our room was huge and very comfortable. We are switching over from the W Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Great hotel centrally located Downtown ...

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Location: Centrally located for Downtown and waterfront.
Just back from a short stay at The Alexis. The hotel is in the perfect location, the staff so welcoming and helpful. Very clean, comfortable rooms with good amenities. The hosted wine hour each afternoon is such a great way to meet other guests and sample local wines!