Ratings based on 3,000 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Good Location

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: The location is great, staff was friendly
Cons: just an extra foot in the bathroom would stop you bumping arms against the sink
Location: just a short walk down to the walk front , the walk back up the hill can be a little harder, with 4 -5 blocks you have the monorail station, markets
The hotel has a good location , nice staff. however the bathroom in the room on the eight floor was very small and tight. The toilet, basin and shower are jammed into a very small room. It makes it hard to move around the room and use it without bumping your arms. If you can handle the bathroom its a great price room in a down town location, you will need to paid for parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2015
A nice and comfortable (if smallish) room, very friendly and helpful staff and an ideal location - recommended.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Didn't exceed expectations where it counted

Posted Jul 5, 2015
When we started our stay here I probably would have given it a 2.5 - not the best hotel, but certainly not the worst. Close to everything including Pike Place, Pioneer Square, and public transportation. I thought 1920s Art Deco hotel would be quaint and charming - but mostly it was stuffy and stale with poor air conditioning. Most of the time we were incredibly hot even with the a/c on full blast. The shower was leaky but good water pressure. They have a free wine hour from 5-6p. Mostly, things evened out. We were planning to leave and take a bus to the next part of our trip. We were told that a car service would be "cheaper" than a cab (not true!) we were quoted a price of $10 for the next morning. Car service came, early - thank god considering what happened next. He drove like an animal to what we thought was the bus station (seriously who needs to go 60 mph at 6:30 am?) He drops us off at the Amtrak station - despite being told Greyhound and that the reservation was made for Greyhound. The Car service did not have enough change so we got WAY ripped off and we were at the wrong station. We called the hotel and explained what happened. The concierge told us there was "nothing he could do," suggested we walk, and "didn't know what to tell us." This significantly dropped their rating. He should have called the car service, had them come and pick us back up, and bring us to the right place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Value for money if you get it as an Expedia mystery hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Posted Jul 3, 2015
I was able to check in early which was a huge relief for me!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misspent renovation funds

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Toilet not bolted to floor and moves when sat upon. Door swelled due to humidity and had to be kicked open. Humidity high as hall windows opened for circulation due to lack of AC in hallway. Rooms small, closet small, bathroom small. Should have combined two rooms into one for renovations. Living on 100+ years old building history does not justify $188 a night pre tax room rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Clean. Friendly Staff. Good location

Posted Jun 30, 2015
We arrived late and the manager and his staff were very welcoming and helpful, and even offered a free upgrade. The rooms were sufficient and clean. Great central location. Good cafes around during the week.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Good location to everything, baseball , shopping , market
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown amenities, walking distance to w

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Good holiday, hotel close to places we wanted to see, walking distance to most things
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent stay

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: The hotel was clean and tidy and the location was perfect, for the price paid! The room was perfectly adequate for my needs. Bed was very comfortable!
Cons: Only thing which bothered me was the shower. Had to step over the bath side to get into it.
Location: Location in relation to waterfront is fantastic and bus services nearby are brilliant. Plenty of places around to get something to eat.
Hotel staff were very welcoming when I arrived, offered to help me with my bags and arrange anything for the duration of my stay. Throughtout my stay, the staff were very polite and were extremely knowlagable of the local area and recommended things to do and places to visit. Only downside was that in the evenings, lots of the cheaper places to eat closed at around 8pm, leaving only the more expensive restaurants open, so you have to trek out to find somewhere - although there are a few dotted around on the waterfront and there's a McDonalds located about four blocks away.