Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Wanted to get away for a few days while visiting family and friends in St Croix. Nice beach. Room good. Enjoyable. Reasonable price. Private.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BOSTON

NICE HOTEL NEEDS A LOT OF UPDATING

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: LOCATION AND BEACH
Cons: THEY NEED TO BUY NEW MATRESSES
Location: EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO DO IN ST CROIX IS A TWO MINUTE FERRY RIDE AWAY
GREAT LOCATION EXCELLENT BEACH WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Quiet Island

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: It's surrounding views.
Cons: Needs a snack machine and a night staff.
Location: Sunning on the beach restaurants and shopping.
A simple hotel in a very pleasing area. Great for quiet getaways, not for the party crowd.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Enjoyed stay. Needs improvements. Very old.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Very peaceful and not a lot of children. Great place to rest and relax
Cons: In need of new sliding glass doors. All original from when facility was built.
Location: Location wonderful. Things to do: scuba diving, sunrise and sunset cruises, great restaurants, snorkeling, shops to spend your money.
Staff very nice and accommodating. Especially our maid Rosa. Met many nice people from all over the states and some foreign countries. Shuttle back and forth to main land was very timely. Never waited more than 5 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom racine wi

Love this place

Posted Feb 16, 2015
This is my 2nd year staying on the cay. My criteria for staying here is cleanliness and location and this place provides both. While not a lot of amenities, the beach and employees cannot be matched. I find this place relaxing and peaceful. I will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom someplace too cold

Slightly shabby hotel in the ideal location

Posted Feb 14, 2015
This slightly run-down hotel is in the perfect location in my opinion. We were in St. Croix for four days and didn't need to rent a car, because this hotel is right in the middle of Christiansted where lots of action is happening. Good restaurants and shopping are a quick and convenient ferry ride away. The beach on the cay is quiet and lovely and we did some excellent snorkeling there. The water was much calmer than buck island, and although it has less coral, we saw more varied marine life in our snorkels off this beach and around the north side of the cay. We saw sea turtles, squid, sting rays, eagle rays, octopi, and lots of fish. There is a marine equipment rental right on the cay, and the woman who runs it, Michelle, will happily point you towards the snorkeling hotspots. The overpriced restaurant on the cay has so-so food and service. We ended up walking a mile to seaside market and buying a bunch of groceries. The rooms have a serviceable kitchenette, complete with microwave and toaster oven, so we were able to make several meals there. I had requested a room with two beds, and the reservation line (doesn't ring the hotel directly) told me "ok." But when we checked in, we were told we'd have to move rooms twice during our four night stay to have a room with two beds. We only ended up having to move once, but it was a big hassle and we had to wait for hours on the day of the move. I have AT&T so we finally told them to call when the room was ready. Island time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room upgrade

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Staying at Hotel on the Cay was a wonderful experience, the room was clean and we got a room Upgrade. we had a private living room and mini kitchen it was awesome!!!! Saddly, around the hotel has an odor but that is outside of your room. No complimentary breakfast but we purchase our breakfast at the mini restaurant at night we went across the ocean for dinner which was awesome!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel for the price

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Clean rooms, great view of the island, right on the beach, bar and food on the beach, very relaxing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome location, ferry ride to hotel island

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: ummmm, everything
Location: did not have time
staff not particularly warm or helpful. Rooms very dated, doors don't lock well ... beds in serious need of replacement and upgrade. Bathroom fine, actually nicer than the room. TV barely worked. BBQ on the beach for $31 was a ripoff. Hotel did arrange for taxi for me for an early AM pickup and ferry was on time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location - hotel needs updating.

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Location: St Croix Water Sports is located on the Cay. They had the best rates for snorkel equipement and anything else you might need to play on the beach.
The location is wonderful. The snorkeling was the best on the entire island. St Croix Water Sports, located next to the hotel has the best rates and service if you need to rent snorkel equipment or paddle boards etc. The hotel itself needs some updating but it was comfortable. The Resturant 'HaborMaster' was over priced and the staff was rude and unfriendly.