Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom SC

ANNIVERSARY.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: View. Music. Clean
Cons: Choices of dining. Too expensive for shuttle. Service too slow even for carribean time
Location: Beach
Too secluded Very slow service. Needed more options for dining. Loved loved view. Bed very comfy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom covington tn

Great location

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Great place to stay! Be sure to rent a car.try to get a 2 floor room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Best hotel and facility on the island.

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Location, scenery, Sweet Bottom Diving facilities and instructors, food and rooms.
Cons: The only issue is with the speed of service. I think the management need to rethink how they organize the kitchen and wait staff to be more efficient.
The hotel is great, all rooms are on the ocean. Rooms are quiet and easy to get to. The bar and restaurants serve good food although a little pricey. The only slight grumble is the speed of service which can be slow to the point of being painful. That may have been due to the fact that we were there during Christmas week but talking to other guests it seems like an ongoing issue year on year....as long as you regard it as part of the relaxation process you will be fine! But if you need to get going in the morning do the buffet or you will be there for >1 hour!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom HOUSTON

Nice Hotel close to the beach however poor mgmt

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: The beach and the room
Cons: A Restaurant Manager that could bring food quality up and provide supervision and training to a staff that looks with good intentions but tired
Location: Nothing that's worth to rent a car or pay a taxi, that's why you need a resort that works in all senses.
Very nice location but far from any town. Consequently it was expected that the hotel would provide enough options to entertain besides the beautiful beach. My impression is that the Resort lacks Management, specially on the restaurant sector area. The quality of food is very poor and the staff even with good intentions has lack of training and supervision. I was not expecting a resort with a Marriot brand to have such a poor option and quality in terms of food (also no rotation of menu)....simply low quality and poor restaurant management from breakfast to dinner with the bad part of being expensive as well. If it rains, there's simply no option to do anything, there's not even the possibility to rent a movie on TV. On the positive side, the beach is secluded and beautiful and the Scuba / Snorkeling team is very good and the facilities are good with clean rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great beach resort

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Location: This is a great place to relax and enjoy water actives and golf.
Warm welcome, relaxing time spent at beach and pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Staten Island, NY

Fancy for Caribbean

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pro: Reasonable hotel price, interesting well built rooms, groomed premises, accommodating staff, secluded from locals. Con: Some bugs, high prices on food and drinks. If you have to drive somewhere, takes about 1/2 hour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel I have been to. Very safe,amazing beach

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Clean and safe. Great place to rest.
Cons: They need to take care of electrical issues. Power went out several times.
Location: There are several restaurants for tourists. Off The Wall/ Eat. Bio bay, VIRGIN Kayaking company is also nearby.
Great hotel. Very friendly service. Has too many options. Tennis courts, basketball, jenga, frisbees, awesome hiking trail, several restaurants, and amazing beach. Very clean rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Highly Recommended

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Location, food, friendly staff, picturesque beach
Location: Tide pool hike, bioluminescent bay, local beach bar restaurant, beach
My husband and I and another couple recently had the opportunity to stay at Carambola Renaissance Marriott. After reading the reviews I was a bit concerned it would be unsatisfactory, and my hubby is quite picky. When we arrived for check in the staff literally already knew who we were and had our reservations waiting. They even gave us a delicious cup of rum punch on the house! We got a ocean front room and we were very satisfied with it. It appears that all of the rooms are updated at this time so there isn't a bad room on the property. I think the bad reviews were pre renovation. The staff at this property was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Most of the people on the island were. We loved the close proximity of the tide pool hike to this hotel, didn't have to leave property to fund trail head. And the beach... Wow... It was completely amazing. I'm a travel agent and have been a lot of places. The beach on this property was one of the most picturesque beaches I've ever laid eyes on! The hotel is also in close proximity to the bioluminescent bays. If you have never had the opportunity to visit a bio bay, I highly recommend it! It's like liquid stars, amazing! I liked the remoteness of this property. We visited Christianstead one day and were really happy we decided not to stay in that area. There were a few shady characters lurking around there and we didn't feel as safe as we did at Carambola. I am ready to visit here again! Carambola made our trip awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michellefrom NJ

Wonderful honeymoon!!!

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
This resort was outstanding everyone was very nice and the location was wonderful!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com