Ratings based on 361 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Perfect for us

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: The beach, the restaurant and the staff were all great. It's located in a nice area.
Cons: The outside of the building is dated and needs some plaster work. Our room was nice inside but could also be updated in the kitchenette area.
Location: We liked trying the other restaurants, Le Piment was our favorite.
My husband and I really liked staying here. The beach is beautiful, the staff was so nice and the location was perfect for us. Walk to the beach, restaurants and grocery store, we just felt so comfortable. The hotel bar and restaurant does close early but everything is nearby and we didn't have to deal with loud music etc late at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario, Canada

Very good hotel close to beach

Posted Apr 4, 2015
We loved our stay there. You can simply hang on the beach or do water sports. Very relaxing and confortable hotel. Hotel food and immediate hotels' food is excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nor Calif.

Close to beach, but.....

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Location to the beach and the little square of restaurants.
Cons: The management and the maintenance.
Location: The little Yellow Boat resturant, (I forget the name) is a nice place for breakfast or lunch.
This was my second time at L'Hoste. About six years ago I made my stay there and it was enjoyable. Stayed five nights in the standard suite on the back part of the complex. The locked gate was always hard to open and grungy to touch. Toilet was in a separate closet like room where brooms, mops and buckets were stored. Toilet wouldn't flush all the way. Drapes didn't close and had holes in them. Bugs in the bathroom; Little tiny mites on the counter and I was greeted by a huge roach. I reported the bug and the drape problem to the manager, was told she would have it sprayed and fixed, it was never done. Manager told me to stay in the deluxe rooms next time cause they are nicer; Hum? On a positive, the maids were real nice and helpful and it is very close to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario, Canada

Great Stay at L'hoste

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Had a great time here and can't wait to return. Staff were very friendly and helpful, location is right on the beach. Restaurants and grocery store near by. La Playa restaurant at the hotel serves delicious food, and pina colodas were the best I've had.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Paradise- sort of

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Hotel staff were friendly enough. There were electrical problems with the building for the room they were going to put me in so they put me at a hotel,across the street. I had to check out at noontime next day from that hotel (Palm Court) and the new room at L'Hoste wasn't going to be ready until 3pm so I was without a place for three hours or so. The room was appointed well enough but the building was dilapidated with rotted out hand railings and pealing paint. There wasn't enough bedding and the pillows were hard and uncomfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Great location, unsatisfactory room

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the beach and restaurants.
Cons: Rooms in disarray that need to be updated should not be rented out until the work is completed. Our room was in that category.
Location: Beach and lovely restaurants within walking distance.
Total disappointment in the location, cleanliness and appointments of our room. I went to the store and bought cleaning supplies that evening because it was so dirty. The bathroom was beyond acceptable. A friend had a room at the same time that was far nicer. It was as if we were in two different hotels instead of just different buildings in the same complex. When I requested a change in room it was denied even though we were spending six nights in the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly and helpful manager and staff.

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: Staff
Great staff, beach, good continental breakfast by the beach but this hotel is just too old and not very well maintained. Mattresses seemed clean but they were old and very inconfortable. A good mattress is really a basic requirement that any guest would expect from an hotel room regardless if it is an hotel with 3 stars or 5 stars.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Michaels, MD

OK hotel, close to beach

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: On popular Orient Beach with access to lots of water sports.
Cons: Rooms need updating. Repairs to many outside areas are needed.
Location: Great location near good restaurants & water sports.
Room just OK. Needs updating. Beds were comfortable. A couple of lights did not work (it was not the bulbs - problems in the wall). Continental breakfast did not vary very much each day. Staff very friendly & helpful (especially Kelly, Patricia, Sendi, Sendita, Yola). Several very good restaurants within easy walk - especially like Le Piment & Cote Plages.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

x Windsurfer /kite surfer - On the beach

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Clean, distance from the beach, breakfast, reserved space on the beach, wifi, friendly staff
Cons: rooms could be refurbished with more modern features
Location: See my previous comment -
Perfect if you are a windsurfer/kitesurfer - it is on the beach , nice, has few places where you can eat near by - rooms are clean well every day - the hotel is not that modern but everything works - This is a place that you need to use for sleeping and to enjoy the beautiful beach, not to spend days at the bar on the pool. There is a little pool, but do not expect a Cancun style place, this is the french side of the island and it is french. The staff is very helpful and very nice - Lots of nudist on the beach, be aware if you don'y like to see people naked. You need a car if you want to experience the island at the best. The vela center for kiting and windsurfing is at a 4 min walking distance on the beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lyon

Hôtel bien situé

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: L'emplacement, la taille des chambres et surtout l'accueil du personnel
Cons: L'hôtel a du potentiel mais il est à rafraîchir. Les chambres sont veillottes et pas mal de meubles sont abîmés. Déco et peinture sont à refaire.
Location: Situé à Orient BAY, il ne faut pas hésiter à découvrir d'autres resto et/ou bar sur la plage. Il faut voir les iles Tintamarre et Pinel.
Un hôtel très bien situé, avec du potentiel mais qui a vieilli, à l'image des chambres spacieuses mais qui sont à refaire. Déco, peinture...etc. De fait, le rapport qualité prix s'en ressent, sans doute trop cher par rapport aux prestations d'ensemble. Très bon accueil.