Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom canada

the view of the harbour lives up to the hype

Posted May 12, 2015
Location: megans beach is a top attraction with clean change rooms entry fee is 4$ per person, plus 2$for parking
only difficulty is finding the hotel if you rent a car. wifi is great except in the farthest rooms from the route,. but one can easily access from the pool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Charming hotel; great view

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: It's charm and the view. Also, the restaurant at the hotel has excellent food, great staff and a stunning view.
Cons: NA. Great value for the price.
Location: You have to take a taxi to get anywhere but that's true of most places on the island. The restaurant at the hotel is excellent.
The Mafolie is on a hill overlooking Charlotte Amalie and St. Thomas harbor. The view is so stunning it is surreal. The rooms aren't fancy but they are very nice. The air conditioning units are new and work great - quiet and efficient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The restaurant staff was rude and eager for tips

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: the view
Cons: customer service training for the restaurant staff.
the hotel staff was extremely helpful and nice. the restaurant staff was not.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Queens, New York, NY

In Dire Need of Renovation and Care

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Charming hotel. One of a kind views, great restaurant, near to attractions, proximity to town without the noise and traffic.
Cons: Cleanliness needs to be made a priority. Bathrooms are in dire need of a renovation.
Location: Mountain top, zip lining, phantasea botanical garden, town is a short 5-7 minute drive away. Driving to/from the hotel can be scary as its very steep.
This hotel was not what we expected, in more ways than one. First, the good: The view is absolutely amazing, much better than expected. The restaurant had the best food we had on the island. The hotel had a unique charm to it. It didn't feel like a generic chain hotel, but a one-of-a-kind experience. As for the bad: The room was way below our expectations! We knew we weren't going to get a perfect or even average room because the hotel is a small, independently run place. But the room was completely not like the pictures and the reviews were not even close to what we experienced. Maybe we had randomly had a few bad experiences? For what we paid, we deserved a lot more. The room felt more like a motel room than hotel. Basically no amenities aside from an old, rusty mini fridge; not even a pen and pad. Forget about things being outdated, at least keep them clean! There were bugs all over the place, from little ants crawling over every surface, to a gigantic cockroach laying right beside the bed. A gecko was also seen scurrying beneath the tv cart. The bathroom was so bad. It felt like a college dorm bathroom; you have to wear flip-flops, especially in the shower. The shower curtain reeked horribly and the tiles and grout were so dirty they were black. The toilet seat had grime on it upon our arrival. The safe didn't work. Aside from the restaurant, the staff is not too friendly. The hotel maid walked in on us without warning. The lady in check in office was off-putting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms are tired and need to be updated

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: the staff were wonderful
Cons: handrails for steps
Location: Not near anything, if you could walk the steep mountain side
the restaurant bar has a very lively nightlife, unfortunately it sounds like ir is on your door step
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Nice hotel overlooking the bay.

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Great staff and lovely views. Staff gave great recommendations for things to do and great food. The rooms were clean and spacious. I would recommend to anyone that wants to go to St. Thomas and doesn't want to stay at a resort. We were close to Magens Bay and only a 25 minute taxi ride to the ferry to St. John. We didn't rent a car but the taxi service was always there within 10 minutes of the staff calling. Great pool with a bar for lazy afternoons and excellent restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our Honeymoon was amazing!

Posted Apr 14, 2015
The Mafolie hotel couldn't have been more perfect! The staff is friendly and helpful times 10. The views are spectacular. The rooms are cute and cozy. The location is perfect being in the center of the island you can get anywhere in 15-20 minutes if you have a car which we did. (not sure how easy it is to get a taxi, but we did see a lot of them). I can't imagine staying anywhere else if we get to come back. We absolutely loved this little hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tuscaloosa, AL

Wife's birthday trip

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The view was spectacular. The restaurant is unsurpassed.
Cons: Given the location, St Thomas, and its limitations with water and infrastructure, nothing.
Location: You can stay in the hotel and enjoy your stay without leaving. Downtown, Magan's Bay, St John, Water Island are all great.
What a great location! The hotel, staffed with truly friendly and helpful staff, offers the best view of Charlotte Amalie Harbor and the southern part of the St. Thomas. While it is quite an experience to get there in a rental car, it is well worth the effort. The pool is located on a terrace overlooking the town, beautiful. The breakfast was excellent, prepared by some really fine people. The restaurant is possibly the best on the island! Pricy but wonderful meals! Overall, a great place to stay. Recommended to all!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night transition from St. John to airport

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: View, service, food.
Cons: General modernization of fixtures, electrical outlets, etc.
The hotel advertising and staff constantly mention the view - and for good reason. The panorama of town, harbor, sea and sky are not to be denied. Service was good, food at breakfast was excellent and the structure is spread down the hillside in a most interesting layout. Our room was small and the hotel is beginning to show its age, dating as it does from 1970. An update should be in its future. Still, reasonably convenient, clean, well run and beautifully situated, it was no disappointment at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philly

Fine experience in a nice old Hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The view, the breakfast and the Staff
Cons: Rooms are a bit dated, but clean.
Location: We had to jump in a cab to get almost anywhere in town, but there is lots of shopping and many decent restaurants in town.
The Hotel Mafolie is situated high on a hill overlooking the Harbor in Charlotte Amalie, St Thomas. While this means getting to it requires motorized transportation, the panoramic view from most rooms and from the very good restaurant in the hotel is a fantastic experience. The staff was very helpful. The room was comfortable and clean, The complimentary breakfast was extraordinary! We had omelettes with lots of fixings and fresh fruit and juice, while sitting at the edge of a veranda overlooking the sea.