Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico City.

Very nice hotel to relax.

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: The bungalows rooms. You can use the pool anytime. The personal hotel attention.
Cons: I was in room 9 and the wi-fi signal does not work.
Location: Is located in front of the beach but in the middle of the forest. The only near store not open after 10:00 PM.
This is a perfect hotel to relaxation, in the middle of beatiful tropical forest. No TV's, phone neither in rooms. I was late and one person was waiting for me, but the restaurant close at 10:00 pm. The poolside bar is the restaurant. I have to wait for the wi-fi password until the next day. The personal attention was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pierrefrom Lorraine, Qc, Canada

This is heaven in Tambor...

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: The "secrecy" of the site...the super quality of the construction...the proximity to nature...
Cons: The joviality of the staff...
Location: Unfortunately, the idea of going on the beach and go into the water is not appealing....But the swimming pool is comfortable...
An oasis where you don't expect it!!! Our eyes widened as soon as we came on the site and so did our smile!!!!
3 out of 5
by dianafrom tampa,Fl

Beautiful hotel and beautiful area.

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Uniquely beautiful hotel built with teak wood. Nice pool.
Cons: Air conditioning.
Location: Location is near Tambor airport, which is a direct flight from San Jose. We went snorkeling in Tortuga Island. Scuba, kayaking are nearby.
The hotel grounds are absolutely beautiful, the main problem was that there was no air conditionining in our room. When I booked the room, I had no idea that my room would not have air. Apparently, some rooms do have air. The continental breakfast that was included was very good with plenty of fresh fruit. The beach in front of the hotel was pretty from a distance, but the sand was very dark and not inviting when you got close to it. Being from Florida, where the beaches are beautiful put this beach at a disadvantage.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Juliefrom Oregon

Two night stay - March 2014

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Beautiful physical facility right on the beach. Meal service was excellent.
Cons: The weekend staff was uninformed and lacked customer-service skills. Got us off to an uncomfortable start.
Location: Snorkeling tours, fishing. Small National Park up the road with lots of wildlife (monkeys). Best if you're in your own vehicle.
The check-in staff seemed caught completely by surprise when we showed up with our reservation confirmation. No welcome, no information about the facility or possible tours. The place was pretty empty. Only after we got to the room did we learn there was an extra $40 refundable fee to get a room safe key. Over all, the staff was unhelpful. However, the facility is beautiful, upscale. Breakfast by the pool, lovely and well done. We connected with a snorkel tour on a tip from a couple that showed up at the bar the first night..
5 out of 5
Recommended
by janonetfrom Australia

Beautiful hotel in beautiful gardens

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Situated next to the beach at Playa Tambor, this hotel is a wonderful tropical escape. The hotel itself is beautiful designed and set in gorgeous gardens where you can observe an array of wildlife. Close by is Curu National Park for a greater wildlife experience. Prices at the bar and restaurant are very reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Danielle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Charles

Posted Feb 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Way over priced, beach in appealing go to montezuma
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Mycket vackert hotell

Posted Jan 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Tyckte mycket om Tambor Tropical men det framgick inte tydligt att vi behövde ta en färja som tog nästan två timmar för att komma till hotellet!!Behöver klargöras! Det tar lång tid att komma dit från San Jose Flygplats!Räkna med 5 timmar inkl färjan som på dagtid är jättetrevlig.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Meredithfrom New York, NY

Secluded Tropical Retreat- Perfect for Relaxation

Posted Aug 2, 2012
Pros: The peace and quiet, and the beauty of the surroundings
Cons: The food--we had better eating at local spots.
Location: Secluded, quiet, calm, and beautiful fishing village.
This is the perfect place for couples who want to just relax and enjoy nature. My boyfriend and I were really lucky that we were the only people staying there for 4 out of our 5 days, so we had the beach and pool completely to ourselves. The staff are sweet and extremely accommodating, and the beach is serene and beautiful, with clear, warm water. There are no phones or tv's, so you can ensure you're as cut off from the world as possible, although they do have free wi-fi. There are a lot of activities to do in and around Tambor, including zipline canopy tours, horseback riding, trips to the national park and Tortuga Island, and kayaking. A few things I wish I had known before booking in Tambor: -Fly into San Jose airport, NOT Liberia. San Jose has a direct flight to the small airstrip in Tambor that will save you hours in driving. Just check the schedule, as it is limited. -Try not to go anywhere that involves driving for a prolonged distance on Route 160. This is one of the worst roads in all of Costa Rica. If you need to use it, try taking the ferry in Paquera instead, which goes to Puntarenas. It's only $24 and it saves about 2 hours if you're driving to Liberia or San Jose. -When you rent a car, make sure it's a 4x4 with 4-wheel drive. Luckily Budget was good enough to make sure we did this instead of the original compact car I had requested. Even some of the paved roads are a bit bumpy, hilly, and winding.