Ratings based on 705 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Mexico

Historical hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2015
The jr suite is very different from other hotels. The atmosphere took us back to the early days of Taos. We enjoyed the fireplace and the two separate rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and historic

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Atmosphere
Authentic New Mexican architecture and art. Excellent place to immerse yourself into Taos culture. Breakfast and bar areas are great for beginning and end of day! Newer section has more updated rooms for extra comfort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It probably used to be a good place... last centur

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Cons: Needs to be remodeled or better, rebuilt.
The Grand Budapest Hotel... in the U.S.! It needs to be rebuilt probably.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terribly Disappointed

Posted Jan 4, 2015
We wanted to let you know, since you were so resistant to offer any sort of resolution, that we will continue to share our experience at your hotel these past two nights with ever rating system we can find. This was our experience: We booked our stay many weeks prior to arrival for a one day family ski day at TSV. We chose this hotel due to the suites, the pools & hot tubs, as well as the includes breakfast buffet. For our large family, every amenity counts, as cost quickly add up exponentially. Our first night, the room above us sounded as if there was a party of drunken elephants jumping around. It took 3 calls to the front desk for the noise to settle enough for our children to fall asleep. On our second night, we were terribly disappointed to find the pool & hot tub gates locked upon our return from the slopes. The staff offered no resolution. When we went to find the other jacuzzi, we found it to be in terrible condition. Dirty used towels strewn about, no available clean towels, extremely crowded, and overall just run down. Additionally, none of the exterior doors locked as they should for safety. The fitness room is a joke. And don't count on the breakfast buffet, as it was barely tolerable... We asked for some sort of resolution to the issues named above. Not even an apology was given. DO NOT STAY HERE. In spite of a lovely website and ad in the local travel magazine, the place is tired, dirty and very poorly managed. With disgust, Jason & Hollie Schrock
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. Helped us find ski and snowboard rentals. Kids loved the trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

near to center of Taos

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Staff was very friendly and efficient. They apologized that not all rooms were ready on this weekend after Christmas and before New Year' day. Breakfast set up was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

All Great Except Water Pressure

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: The helpful front desk, incredible breakfast and staff, comfortable beds, location.
Cons: Water pressure was terrible. We inquired but they told us that the pressure was low because they were completely booked.
Location: Great spot on south end of the main street, we were no more than 5 minutes from restaurants & shops, less than 40 minutes from Taos Ski Valley.
The staff could not have been more pleasant at this quiet, spacious inn. Our fireplace room had plenty of room for our family. The full, hot breakfast buffet was exceptional, offering a different variety of foods each day. The staff in the dining area were attentive and eager. Could not say enough good things about the people of Sagebrush. The location was on the south end of town, but that made traffic and noise very light, helping us rest after long days on the slopes. My one complaint was the water pressure. We had hot water, but it came at a trickle, making a comfortable shower virtually impossible. Whether the parking lot was full or nearly empty, the water pressure was non-existent. It was a great value for the price, but a real hot shower would have made the stay practically perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Center Tx.

Conveniently located

Posted Dec 30, 2014
We were on a ski trip to Angel Fire and had to stay in Taos because all the rooms at Angel Fire were booked, so we stayed in Taos and commuted to the ski lodge. Taos was a wonderful destination in itself. We enjoyed the atmosphere and history of Taos and the drive to Angel Fire was beautiful. Also the breakfast buffet was very good and the restaurant in the motel was excellent, we had the ribeye's which were great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Albuquerque

Overpriced

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: the style, comfort level, size of room, fireplace
Cons: better internet connection which is nearly a necessity these days. also, better picture for cable television.
Location: Taos, NM. Site seeing, snowboarding/skiing. Visiting family.
Initially was assigned a lesser room although I had paid for deluxe/fireplace. When receptionist was questioned she seemed suprised and then verified that infact I had paid for the deluxe room and promptly switched it after stating she needed to speak to the manager. The wifi/internet connection never functioned properly although we made several attempts to have staff address this issue. The cable television was fuzzy on every channel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Hotel was good, restaurant was not good and very slow.