Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom glasgow

All marketing with no substance

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: The beach was great
Cons: Hot water would be great Cleaners in evidence
Location: Very quiet area Hotel has monopoly
Reception area is pleasant Rest is shabby Dining room could do with a thorough clean
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Balsall Common, England

'All fur coat and no knickers' !!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The nearby beach and swimming pool
Cons: Customer service and standards generally.
In essence the hotel did not live up to its marketing hype and was poor value for money. The overall impression I received was one of an hotel being run on a shoe string budget - the breakfasts were dreadful compared to other Caribbean hotels and destinations that I have been to e.g. the fruit choice was limited to water melon or pineapple with the odd banana thrown in ; the staff gave the impression that it was all a bit of an effort to look after its customers; the dining area in parts was down right dirty (cleaners generally seemed to be noticeable by their absence.) We stayed for 5 nights and we never had a hot shower, lukewarm at best. The safe didn't work and we had to get a replacement hairdrier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C

Nice

Posted Mar 11, 2015
It's was Great but I have a couple suggestions. Room service hours not good, sould be more convenient. Need vending machines and Ice maker close to room. The refrigerator did not keep drinks cold enough. Potato Chips were stale. There should be a gift shop on premise. But the Staff was great and Hotel Beautiful. Oh also, The room need a rug at front door and bedside for all the sand. Overall it was a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta

lovely hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Cons: The plumbing was a little wonky and my husband had to fix something so the shower would work.
Location: Very private area and hard to find. No sign on the road, only on the hotel which is set back from the road. We had to try about 3 times to find it.
We arrived to see red flowers strewn all over the white bed with mosquito netting, as well as in the bathroom.. Our room faced the infinity pool and ocean. Our deck was large and well furnished. We appreciated the fridge in the room and all the amenities were nice, including the robes.They provide a lovely breakfast every morning. The beach is beautiful, quiet and private with no rocks.We never ate any other meals at the hotel, as the prices for lunch and dinner were far too expensive. We also paid for the penthouse for 3 ladies and it was beautiful. It had a large double deck and many antique furnishings. The ladies enjoyed the room although it was very expensive. We all enjoyed the pool as it was very refreshing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Not as elegant as some photos but among best on island probably. I think the place is very clean, restaurant not the best but passable. I would recommend staying on the Caribbean side of the island, but if the price is right here for you, take it.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom trinidad

Bacolet Beach Club Construction Site

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: If the whole hotel was as clean, tidy and in as good as a condition as reception area it would be lovely
Cons: Spent money to bring it back to when it was new, hotel is living off its past glory and memory!,
Location: Sae Horse Inn, absolutely amazing, location and food, staff exceptional service, out doors under the sun, listening to the sea, fantastic!,,,,,,,,
Hotel photographs of rooms make them look bigger than they are! Cleanest, best condition place is reception, pity they don't put the same effort to keep the rest of the hotel the same! Hotel better at nite a sin cold lite of day some, lot of it looks grubby, restaurant looks like it is cleaned only where they can touch or they think it shows. Construction going on new annexe being built, Chinese men hammering, angle grinding etc from 07.00 in Morning, right next to restaurant as well, you have breakfast early as the noise has woke you up early! I complained on day before we left to be told should have complained early, I accept responsibility for not complaining earlier, but hotel, if ethical, honest and professional should advise people booking on their web site and booking sites of construction? Wifi is pants, I stood 8ft from router outside to try and get face time connection, constantly loosing/ finding connection and face time just locked up!,, 2/3 stars trying to be 5 star, falls far short on integrity and structure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TDOT

Enclave of Privacy and Comfort!

Posted Jul 13, 2014
I stayed at the Bacolet for 2 nights In Tobago. One thing I can tell you is everything you see in the pictures are all there. This hotel is immaculately designed with great amenities. The staff at the front desk were generally helpful. The food from its Café Havanna was always delicious. The wi-fi is excellent :) However, there is still a lot of room for improvement. For the price you are paying you don't really get much. Paying this much in Mexico or Cuba would have gotten you 3 square meals and an open bar......mind you the quality of the food in those places is doubtful. You do get a filling buffet style continental breakfast. But, the mini bar in the room seemed to be a money grab. Also, looking at the menu at Café Havana you feel as though you are paying way too much for food that was most likely locally sourced. Be careful with booking online, I thought that I had payed half the cost by booking online and confirming the reservation with expedia. However, the headquarters of this hotel is based in London and the accounts person failed to debit the transaction from my credit card before we got there. When I was finally checking out I was shocked to find that I had to pay the whole cost. Just some heads up. MAKE SURE TO CHECK THAT YOUR CREDIT CARD WAS CHARGED! :) All in all I loved my stay at this hotel and it was so wonderful to have a place like this to come back to after a long adventurous day in tobago. Adios! Hope I have been helpful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brianfrom Ottawa

Nice hotel for a couple of nights

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Easy location. Professional staff. Nice lounge chairs around the pool.
Cons: Wifi in the room would be nice. We could only access in the lobby.
Stayed at Bacolet for two nights after spending 7 nights in Speyside and Castara. Nice location, although you do need a car or taxi to go out and eat if you choose somewhere other than Cafe Havana (which is nice). The hotel is in good shape but is slightly worn. The beach is alright but compared to other bays throughout Tobago, it is below average.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Pattyfrom Clearwater

Bar drinks and food

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The drinks and food at the hotel were extremely over priced eat in town the rooms ac wasn't the best nice place for romantic weekend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Fernanda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com