Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Esther from Singapore

Basic hotel just to sleep.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
No wifi in rooms, basic facilities . Could not log in wifi at lobby and the staff was not helpful at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KD from Chattanooga, TN

Overall good experience.

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Sun Members is a little hard to find. We took a taxi from the station because of luggage, and the taxi driver had to ask at a nearby hotel how to find it. (We had told him we knew it was near the Washington Hotel) Once we found it, he parked at the wrong door and there was no one to help get the suitcases up the steps. We found the second, level entrance later. The staff was very nice and helped us make reservations for a city tour. The room was fine with a small table and 3 chairs, but the bathroom was tiny with a faucet that worked for both the sink and the tub. Skip the breakfast buffet if you want eggs and bacon. If you are fine with rolls and cereal, it is OK. The best recommendation I can make is to walk over the block or so to the Tokyo Metropolitan Building and go up to the FREE observation deck on the 45th floor. We went at sunset, and it was beautiful. The building we went up in (there are two) also had a restaurant on that floor, so we splurged and had a very good dinner for under $35 each (no alcohol included).
3 out of 5
by GJC from melbourne

Okay but not great

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: The location is great Finding it was not hard
Cons: Wifi in the rooms The foyer was uncomfortable The breakfast was awful
Location: Shinjuku is great fun at night. Lots of interesting street life. Shinjuku park is really beautiful
No wifi in the room! Staff polite but not actually helpful.
3 out of 5
by louis

Okay for budget stay, 8mins walk from station

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Okay for budget stay, 8mins walk from station. Extremely small toilet even for skinny people. Wifi only at lobby. Not recommended to share with 3 or more, uncomfortable extra bed given.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by S, K and R from Adelaide

Good budget Hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We are budget travelers and tend to look for clean rooms with reasonable amenities. We do not complain about the soap being the wrong colour or details such as that - as I have seen in some other reviews....just to give some perspective of our expectations. This hotel was a 10 minute walk from the Shinjuku JR station. The directions we had were a bit vague, but it has a front and rear entrance which is good. It is basically on the far side (from Shinjuku station) of the Washington Hotel - which is large and easier to find. We got a good buffet breakfast included each day with both western and japanese options. The only down side was that our window looked onto the wall of the building next door (so no view) and the bar fridge had a slots for the drinks, so it was hard to keep supermarket bought items, like milk etc cold. Staff were helpful and friendly and held our bags in the foyer after check out, which was good. Ask about laundry facilities as there are pay washing machines in the building next door which can be used.
3 out of 5
by karen from San Jose

The attitude of staffs in front desk are worse!

Posted Dec 28, 2013
I have no idea why their attitude cane be such unfriendly! All I experience in JP before are always good service. Some staffs of this hotel w/ impatient attitude when asking some questions....they supposed to be nice when customers need help!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

LOVELY

Posted Dec 25, 2013
Good location, just no more than 5 minutes walk to government. safe, lovely, clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Greg from Colorado

Japanese experience by Shinjuku

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: Japanese atmosphere with heated toilet seat. Location, Location, Location--short walk to Shinjuku station. Narita Limo drops off 50M from hotel
Cons: WiFi in room, TV with couple of English news channels, less furniture for small room
Location: Shinjuku station, observatory 45 floors 100 M free, shopping
Overall experience was excellent at this Japanese style hotel. Room very compact. Too much furniture in a tight space but very comfortable beds. Bathroom very small but with heated toilet seat and strong shower. Wired internet worked great in room but WiFi only available in Lobby. TV had only Japanese channels no English. Breakfast included with room had both Japanese and Western items with high quality. Staff was informative and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by etoile

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marvyn from Singapore

Good location with reasonable price

Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
As the title says it all. Although it may require about 10 min walk between hotel and JR Shinjuku train station, it is still worth the stay. Easily accessible to most areas of Shinjuku. Highly recommended:)