Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Ryokan-style hostel

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, Japanese and Western style breakfast available, experience of traditional Japanese style room.
Cons: English instructions on turning on the hot water in the shower (you have to press a button on a control panel labeled only in Japanese)
Location: Near Ryoan-ji temple and a few other temples. Walking distance if you're ambitious, or easy bus ride.
This was a nice place with extremely friendly hosts. It's more of a hostel with tatami mat floors than a traditional ryokan, but for the price that's great. It's easy to get to by bus from several key points in town (the JR bus is included if you have a Japan Rail Pass). The garden and setting is not as lovely as in some of the pictures (the garden is small and inaccessible and it's on a major road surrounded by houses, but again you can't beat the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Budget Ryokan near Kinkaku-ji Temple.

Posted May 11, 2015
Very basic accommodation at a very reasonable rate. The food was excellent. Staff were delightful and a beautiful garden overlooked by the dining room. Bath was in a shed at the back of the property and in the cold weather it was not so pleasant. Yamazaki Ryokan is conveniently located near 3 of Kyoto's famous temples. It took around 40 minutes to reach the Ryokan by bus from Kyoto station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Good. Very Nice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have a good time there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Isolated ryokan in Kyoto

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Rock garden next to the dining area
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Located in the West side of Kyoto, so closest sites are Arashiyama Bamboo Grove and Kinkaku-ji.
Pleasant experience in nice, quaint ryokan. Located very far from center of Kyoto or any other sites. Public baths were located outside, so it was a little strange to walk around outside with your shower things to get to it. Also, the hours were unclear on when we were able to shower or use the bath. Breakfast was mediocre, ingredients did not seem fresh. However, facilities were clean and comfortable. Very affordable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Very authentic place. Wonderful staff

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Mainly the fact that it was an authentic place and the very kind staff but everything was perfect
Location: Quite remote but easy transportation (bus, taxi, ...). On the other side it is in the nature which is great (quite, beautiful gardens).
Fantastic. Very Japaneese and at the same time, all modern amenities (good English speakers, wifi, restaurant).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap pension in Kyoto

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: Tidiness, noise insulation (even for a Japanese-style room)
Location: A bit far off Kyoto's center (buses are quite rare, especially on weekends) but not bad to start on temple visit circuit.
The pension and the food is what you would expect for such low price. The staff is affable and talkative (provided that you speak Japanese). However, I found that the rooms (located in a different building) lacked a bit of comfort. More strangely, I could not find how to switch off the light that is in the room's alcove (even though I live in Japan and am well familiar with the electrical system) and had to sleep with it on all night. Also, I fond the neighboring guests (at lest two separate parties) to be unusually noisy, even for that price range of accommodation. It is not the staff's fault of course but the rooms being located a certain way off from the main building, I did not want to have to dress up and brave the rain to make a complaint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Very Accommodating, Hospitable, and Traditional

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Traditional Style, Cleanliness, Privacy, and the Friendly staff.
Cons: I just wish this Ryokan was a little closer to the main parts of Kyoto, but honestly, once you learn how to access the buses and taxis its not bad
Location: There are some Shrines near by that are pretty sweet, and of course the main parts of Kyoto are about 20-30 minutes out.
Hello All, During my stay in Japan i ended up sleeping in 7 different places ranging in different styles and exclusivity. This Ryokan was one of my favorite stays. The staff here made sure to make us feel welcome, comfortable, and confident. We had no tour guide and I knew very little Japanese, once Miya (One of the main staff) recognized that she went out of her way to make sure we knew what to do and where to go. If in Kyoto I highly suggest staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Olivier

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 長崎市

節約は美徳と感じられるワールドワイドで良心的なホテル

Posted Jan 13, 2015
シンプルに寝泊まりするには適した場所と思います。外で思い切り美味しい物を食べたりお金を使うため宿代節約と他のホテルが一杯で予約が取れない為に泊まったが意外と夜良く眠り翌日快調でした。又私以外は当日宿泊者すべて外国人さんでしたが、マナーは意外と良かったですね〜。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by WANLINGfrom 台灣 TAIWAN

很好的經驗 但從京都四条河原町 周六夜 最晚一班車 7:55就要返回旅館

Posted Dec 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
a nice place worthy to visit~however in a warmer season. too cold indoor in winter. Nice garden view and nearby area is fine. 不錯的地方 建議連住兩晚 位在往高雄方向的郊區 有時間附近環境走路閒晃也不錯. 庭園風景很好 但溫暖一些的氣候再到訪 冬天房間內有點冷