Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by AH from UK

Very Tired Hotel in desperate need of investment!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: A great deal......needs investment.
Location: In a quiet suburb about 15 mins walk from Darling Harbour,
Not a great overall experience......I was here for 4 nights. The only positive thing I can find to say about the hotel is the location is not too bad for Darling Harbour. The hotel itself is in dire need of refurbishment......it is very tired looking and grubby in all areas. Despite what they claim there is no internet access at all in the rooms which in today's world is a huge frustration. Only access is in the lobby where there are few places to sit and then they still charge you for internet access. Areas that could not easily be seen in the room (under the bed) behind bedside tables were filthy and had not been cleaned in a very long time. Would not recommend this hotel or stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Robert from Winnipeg, Manitoba

Ok but not great

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Cost. Room rate looked very reasonable, but charge for an additional child was exorbitant and they charge all children 12 and over as adults.
Location: About a 10 minute walk to Darling Harbour for food or other activities.
Short walk to Darling Harbour, but not the nicest part of the city. Room was adequate, but dated and pull out beds were below standard for anyone other than very young children.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wen from Central Coast

Great Location.

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: The central (& quiet) location.
Cons: A little dated decore.
Location: Very close in walking distance to The Entertainment centre, China town, Paddy's market, Broadway & the Exhibition centre. Powerhouse museum close too.
We had to stay in the city overnight with our 2 year old toddler. The hotel was clean, on a very quiet street & only 5-10 minsutes walk over to the Entertainment centre/China town district. The room we had was huge - with a massive king bed (that ended up fitting all 3 of us) & a lounge area with 2 sofa's. The staff at reception were casual & friendly, answering all questions. There was undercover parking for an additional fee, but it was cheaper than other places we looked at staying in. Overall we were really happy with the hotel & it's location & would definetly come here again.
3 out of 5
by M from Sydney, Australia

The room was okay.

Posted Jan 13, 2014
The room was okay. Good aircon, Tv, roomy and a nice bed, however the room was let down by the dirty walls.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Glenn from Sydney

Not all that great

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff were friendly enough. Had (free) baggage storage for before I checked in and again after I checked out so that was good. But the room was so so. Airconditioning was pre-set and I could not adjust temp or fan speed or anything - only could turn it on and off - it was OK but I would have liked it cooler - if I was staying longer I would have bought a fan to use. Had large balcony but looked up to neighbouring house/ apartment windows, without curtains pulled the could possibly see into room, also close enough to get a bit of noise from them - just not felt private. And the neighbourhood seemed possibly a little rough as it was. And then the bed was not quality - went I first sat down on it I thought it was going to be terrible as it seemed to sink in the middle - I was actually surprised that it wasn't as bad to sleep on as it looked/ felt it would be. So overall it was OK and nothing unpleasant really, but I wouldn't stay again unless someone else was paying and even then I might ask if we could go elsewhere. It's a budget hotel but there are other budget hotels that I think are better. Then again, it could have been worse - if you stay here you probably won't be over impressed but also not too disappointed. That's my view anyway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by janet from UK

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the centre of Sydney. Walking or free shuttle bus access to the main sights.
Cons: Noisy fan, even when air con turned off. If there are two people in a room two face cloths without having to ask every day for a second one!
Location: Hotel in a back street. Not much in the immediate vicinity. Not far to walk to George Street. Staff helpful re local places to eat.
Decor a little tired but good value. Staff helpful. Main reason for choosing was secure parking in an underground car park for our hire car as we wanted to stay within walking distance of the city centre for our short stay. Unable to book the deal stay 3 park free offered on the web site (just couldn't get the site to accept the booking) but reception only charged for 2 of the 3 nights parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Diggers from Adelaide

ups and downs

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had 3 adults and 1 17 yr old in the room. The 2 beds for our almost adult children were dreadful, sagging almost to the floor , resembling the big dipper at Luna Park. However, the staff were most helpful in replacing these with alternatives when asked.The air conditioning struggled with the humid conditions, making sleeping challenging, particularly when exceptionally loud and vibrating drilling started in the room above us at 7.45 am in the morning...9 am would have been acceptable! However, the staff were friendly, the room clean....but only 1 teaspoon with the tea and coffee facilities for 4 of us!. Would stay again as the location is perfect for us, but would be more prepared for the challenges.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very reasonable stay

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Pros: Close to city and quiet in the evening.
Cons: minor detail.... would have been nice to have cold water and ice in the fridge, otherwise very reasonable for the price.
Location: 5 min. walk to China town. Same distance to Friday night and weekend markets.
Quiet, clean rooms, friendly customer service. Good location to city. Slight old world style to the Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Piranya from Switzerland

Big Room

Posted Dec 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great Hotel for less money!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy location for a Sydney stay

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Clean and well appointed for the price. Great location for a stay in Sydney or for somewhere to stay if you're having a night out. 10min walk to Darling Harbour or a quick cab ride to the CBD. Would recommend.