Ratings based on 270 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Douglas from Brooklyn, NY

safe, comfortable place to stay

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing- just what I needed
Location: Just what I needed
dealing with a family tragedy- the room was my sanctuary from all the craziness.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hockey Mom from Potsdam, NY

good for price

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: breakfast, cleanliness, staff
Cons: mattresses
Location: lots around--restaurants everywhere in vicinity, hockey rink around the corner.
The Days Inn Utica was a last minute option for us in an area where many of the hotels are way overpriced. It did not have an indoor pool, which would be our preference, but offered a nice breakfast. Facilities were clean and staff was friendly. The mattress was not the most comfortable and noise from another room was a problem in the middle of the night, but we did not ask the desk to address this, which they probably would have.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gail from Massachusetts

Nice location in Utica N.Y.

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Spacious rooms
We loved the spacious rooms. I would have given it 5 stars on comfort except one of our rooms had a ticking refrigerator and a heater that turned on and off frequently due to the energy saver. Otherwise a very quiet and nice hotel.
Comment from
Jan 9, 2014
thank you for your wonderful review
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worse time ever

Posted Jan 12, 2014
I called the customer service number listed on the web page. I asked the lady if I was to get to the hotel at 1am would I still be on the same day and be able to check in and stay til the next morning. She said yes no problem would you like me to book it...However I didnt book with her but with expedia...I got there after 1am and had to wait almost another 20 min before I could check in and on top of all of that had to check out at 11am that same morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by pete from boston

inexpensive hotel near a lot of attractions

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Big room, low rate.
Cons: update the place
The hotel was OK for what we needed, one night on our way to Boston from Canada. Near to a lot of restaurants which was good for us. The room we stayed in was a suite which was big enough for our family and at a reasonable rate. The breakfast was the standard fare with a waffle maker. The biggest improvement with the place is it needs updating, it looks worn and old. Also I smelled smoke in the halls, I assume that there are smoking rooms in the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeri from Elizabethton, TN

holiday visit

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: clean and affordable
Cons: more room amenities - coffee pot, fridge.
Location: good section of Utica and still affordable. Very convenient to everything!
While visiting family over the holidays we stayed overnight in Utica - staff was wonderful but room could have used a refridgerator. We booked a King room but it was on the 2nd floor - would have been nice to have known that ahead of time as we opted to take a double instead because luggage was heavy and there was no elevator available.
3 out of 5
by George from Keene, NH

Adequate

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: The price was well below average by todays pricing standards
Cons: The breakfast needs to offer at least one healthy choice. The facility needs to add some color.
Location: The facility is in a road with many other Inns and fast food eateries.
This Inn meets basic needs but not much more. The walls are gray and that is the general feeling one got from everything about the facility. Staff was polite but not engaging. The "breakfast" was at best very basic with almost noting that would constitute a healthy choice to eat. The price was very reasonable but appropriate for the fact that the facility was a very much a low tier Inn.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by College dad from NYC

Suitable.

Posted Dec 22, 2013
Pros: The price. With taxes, it came to about $70, for the night.
Cons: The front staff could be welcoming. The front lobby needs to be more cheerful.
Location: Delmonico's Steak House has good food, though the prices were more NYC than Utica, I thought. The staff was pretty professional.
Like most hotels, it looked a lot better on the website. All the things that make it suitable are the things that make it unmemorable. It's right off the highway and easily accessible, but that means it's on a major drag, N. Genesee Street, abutted by gas stations, fast food places and not very picturesque. There's a good restaurant across the street, but there's a lot of traffic racing off and on the interstate and scary to cross on foot. No way would I cross it with kids. The guests are obviously just passing through so I'm guessing there's not a lot of repeat business but still it wouldn't hurt the staff to smile. But if you're traveler just looking for a place to crash for a night or like me, up in the area to see your college student son/daughter, you could do worse.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kuko from New Jersey

Clean and quiet

Posted Dec 5, 2013
Perfect... everything close