Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emily from UK

Great hotel near to El Carmen

Posted Jun 30, 2014
This was a lovely hotel in the perfect location. The staff were friendly and helpful, and we had a lovely stay. We were there five nights, and loved the decor too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mrs W from West Sussex

Excellent location in Valencia Old Town

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff, attractive decor
Cons: A kettle in the bedrooms. Some way of keeping the bedroom window open at night - I had to wedge it with my shoe.
Location: In the Old Town near the Cathedral, Market Hall, art gallery, bars/cafes, park. Well situated for sight-seeing.
We stayed with friends for a long weekend. The hotel was ideally located in the Old Town, a few minutes walk from numerous cafes, bars and restaurants and many of Valencia's interesting sights. It is also a short walk to the nearest Metro and the park in the old river bed. With suitcases, the walk to the Metro might be a bit of a hike. We took a taxi (20E) which was very efficient which I would recommend. The hotel is quiet small but comfortably furnished and the staff were very helpful, giving us local information and ordering a taxi for our return to the airport. (16E). Our standard doubles were fairly small and had a window onto the light well, but were comfortably furnished and very clean. Our friend found the bed hard, but we slept very well. Despite asking beforehand if the room had a kettle and being told yes, there wasn't one, but the staff were happy to bring tea to the room free of charge. This often lacked something - milk, tea...... a kettle would have been easier. We didn't eat at the hotel but found a cafe near the Cathedral - La Virgen - where we had a reasonable breakfast watching the world go by, particularly on Sunday after Mass as it seemed to be where all the locals went. When we ventured further into the modern part of the city where a lot of the large hotels were situated, we were glad that we had chosen the Ad Hoc. It was a much better location for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cj from East Sussex

Friendly, quirky, well equipped

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Really lovely position right by the park. Quiet, unique, quirky - great decor (the brickwork and ceilings are fabulous). All comforts. Great breakfasts. Fab beds. The staff could not have been kinder and more helpful. A brilliant Galician restaurant just around the corner and the city centre just a few minutes walk away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicholas from London

Posted Dec 12, 2013
Pros: Quiet, understated and relaxing
Cons: Very little as a hotel, some way as a restaurant
Location: See my previous comments
Unpretentious small hotel situated in the old arab quarter, near The Cathedral, museums, a wide variety of restaurants and the central market. The staff on the desk were exceptionally helpful to us first- time- in- Valencia visitors, with good local knowledge and ideas. The rooms are comfortable and reasonably spacious but, in December, the restaurant had a slightly forlorn air and too many
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Reno, Nevada U.S.A.

A very Charming small Hotel...

Posted Dec 11, 2013
Pros: Most everything
Cons: Parking.
Location: Everything is close. If not just a bus ride away.
This hotel was very charming. Our room was roomy and comfortable. It was a small hotel just the way we like it. It is located in a great spot. Walking distance to plazas, food, bus, shops etc. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking a bit of a problem. We thought breakfast was included but was not. It was still worth the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge UK

Superb base for exploring Valencia old town

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Pros: Charming building close to old town.
Cons: Better tea and coffee making facilities. There was no coffee or milk.
Location: Too much to write! Buy a guide book - Valencia is fabulous.
The Ad Hoc is a boutique hotel of great character. Spacious rooms and very pleasant staff. It is a charming old building very close (walking distance) to all the old town attractions. A 95 bus leaves 300M away to take you to Science City. The Metro (easy walking distance) can get you to the port. Slight drawbacks: the breakfast is a bit basic (no problem as there are masses of cafes close to) and there are inadequate tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. Otherwise great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicola from London

Super convenient boutique style hotel on a budget

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Pros: location, staff, style
Cons: fridge in room, better drinks selection
Location: Great location as already stated. Convenient for walking around the historic centre and park. We hired bikes for two days, great way to get around.
We had a lovely long weekend at the Ad Hoc - good deal from Expedia and well worth the money. The location is right on the edge of the amazing Turia park, and in the old historic part of the city so convenient for just about everything you would want to do and see. The room was on the front of the hotel and pretty quiet, no problems with noise. Facilities in the room were minimal but comfortable: it would have been good to have had a fridge and more choice of drinks (just two teabags all weekend! Otherwise it was spotless and all the hotel staff were really friendly, helpful and polite. We chose not to eat breakfast at the hotel as it wasn't in our deal - 14 euros per person is far too expensive and there are many great local places close by including our favourite 'hole in the wall' joint for less than 10 euros for both of us = fresh orange juice, coffee and baguettes with great service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim from York, England

Great hotel. Great location.

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: A friendly, welcoming hotel with interesting artwork throughout the building. Great central location.
Location: The hotel is situated in a quiet spot on the edge of the old town. Within walking distance of most attractions.
We stayed 3 nights. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Nice comfortable room, nothing too swish or swanky, but all very clean. Great location within easy walking distance of all the sights in the old town. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel as there are so many great little places to eat nearby. Would definitely recommend and stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marie from Manasquan, NJ

Excellent location.

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Excellent location - right in the old city with easy walk to everything. Also easy 15 minute ride to the beach via tram, bus or cab.
2 out of 5
by Michael from Atlanta

Big disappointment

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: Staff.
Cons: So many things: a) Bad odor in rooms, b) Rooms themselves, c) Bathroom way too small, c) WiFi connectivity, etc., etc.
Location: Location is good for spending time in Old Town although it is overrated in my opinion. There are way better and more comfortable options around.
Expected way more. Rooms are small and not very functional. Bathroom is very small with no space around sink even for one person to put minimum of personal hygiene pieces, while couple must permanently commute between room and bathroom while making sure that just one person at time could fit into bathroom. Rooms have unpleasant moldish odor which is not pleasant at all. If using car, staff would recommend public garage since hotel does not have any, but the garage at rate of 22Euros/day does not allow using Visa/Master card for payment for amount above 45 Euros (equals 2 days of use) despite big signs of Visa card. I learned it on Saturday morning while trying to pay 126 Euros charge while banks are closed. Fortunately I had cash in pocket. Overall, disappointing experience at all levels except for nice staff willing to help.