Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The property is being remodeled.

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Good coffee and wi fi.
Cons: It'll be quite an accomplishment if they are able to complete the project.
Location: There's a good restaurant just around the corner and it's near the highway.
The manager is very nice and eager to please. The best part of our stay was the silence because no one else was there! And they did provide us a room that looked out to the empty pool and not towards the freeway, which would have been not so good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This place should be condemned & torn down.

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Flatten it and start over. It's not worth trying to renovate.
There was no notice about this location being under renovation online. I didn't read reviews because, after all, it's a Red Roof Inn -- they have always been pleasant in the past... so this one should be too, right? The staff was very nice but the place is a total WRECK. Broken woodwork, the heat in the room did not work (fortunately I am hot natured) and it was filthy. At least the sheets were clean. The first room I was given had not even been cleaned and made up yet. AVOID THIS PLACE because they are GROSSLY overpriced (higher than Tucson, AZ!) and there WAS no breakfast, for petes sake. It was a terrible experience. SHUT IT DOWN.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I don't need much, but this was so bad.

Posted Jan 2, 2015
I don't think I'm very "high maintenance" so this review is coming from someone who just needs the basics. I just want to get what I pay for. I would say that this place wasn't worth half of what I paid. The shower was very moldy and didn't drain, the room never got really warm (low of 18° overnight), door didn't open or close well, lobby heater was broken, renovations on site made the whole place a mess, and "hot breakfast" meant that you could toast a bagel. Not all of that was a very big deal, I just overpaid for poor quality. It's an understatement to say I'll never stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Red Roof Inn in Van Horn TX

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly
Cons: Needs major overhaul!
Location: Know nothing about area, were meeting family halfway from Tucson AZ and San Antonio TX
the rooms were filthy, lots of noise not quiet at all, no ice, beds very uncomfortable, locks on door facing what is supposed to be a pool did not lock, will not come back again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Convenient, reasonable, accept pets.
Cons: Cleanliness
Door didn't work properly, found a cockroach. Faucet didn't work properly. Breakfast was OK.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Dec 21, 2014
We felt like homeless people who spent a night in a construction place. Everything was dirty, tons of dust, horrible smell, and noice were features of our stay. We were not informed that the hotel is under remodeling. The hotel should not have allowed to have any guests and charged that price for a night. There are many good hotels in the area. We are disappointed with Expedia that offered this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom J.

Rating hotel experience.

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Hotel under construction this should be shared with potential customers. Room security door lock broke. Nonsmoking room and smoking room in hall across from each other. Carpet torn, ice machine broke, no ice available on premises. Manager told about broken ice machine and he did not seem to sympathize with me as the customer. I have used Expedia 3 times this is the worse experience. Concerned
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lindafrom hesperia california

comfortable

Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
construction on motel was not pleasing to the eye it is next to hwy
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: NOTHING!
Cons: EVERYTHING!
Location: NOTHING!
When I arrived, I saw the motel was undergoing renovation. There were no cars in the parking lot. There was construction equipment in the parking lot along with stacks of lumber. Since I had little choice I decided to check into the motel. On several occasions the key card did not work. I had to go to the front desk at least 3 times to have it reset. At about 10:30 PM as I was getting into bed, I heard someone opening the door. As it turns out they had checked another guest into the same room. The staff did not seem to understand how upset I was about this. I cannot describe how low a rating I would love to give these people.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sketchy

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Hotel is in need of an update to say the least. Area is sketchy I felt very uneasy the whole time.