Ratings based on 1,078 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Good overall.

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet.
Cons: Check-in speed
Location: Easy to get to
The experience was positive overall. Clean, quiet, comfortable room. The check-in was VERY slow. Only one staff member checking guests when three shuttled of delayed airport passengers arrived. They were tire and grumpy and had to wait a long time to be processed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey

great staff, clean room.

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: flat screen TV, pleasant staff, room was equipped with dishes,utensils,microwave, fridge.
Cons: Better beds.
We were very impressed with the staff and the cleanliness of our room. The only complaint would be that bed was way to soft and we are use to firm mattress.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the airport

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Just got in late at night and out early the next morning, so it's not fair to give a good or bad comment as I didn't is any services expect the wake up service which late and caught the shuttle to the airport.would have been nice to have free coffee while we waited for the shuttle. This questionair is a little over the top for a person who only stayed at the hotel for 6 hours. Now the questionair is gettinge really a little POed because just want at bunch of B/S and that's not fair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria

Convenient and friendy

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Staff were all very friendly. The food at Moxie's restaurant was fantastic.
Location: SO close tot he airport and the hotel offers a free shuttle service.
Stayed one night for an early morning departure out of YVR. Convenient and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Decent Hotel if on a budget in Downtown Vancouver

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Location, reasonable cost, friendly staff
Cons: Shark Club closed is biggest negative. Rooms are somewhat dated.
Location: Right next to BC Place and Rogers Arena, 6 blocks to Granville or Yaletown. Somewhat away from the good shopping and restaurants, but walkable
Hotel is about what you should expect for the price. Good location, clean rooms, but slightly dated. Its a busy place with a rental car desk in the lobby and a Moxies attached. I was there for Grey Cup weekend which lead to a mix of sports fans, tourists on their way to Whistler, etc. populating the hotel. Also was propositioned by ladies looking to "serve" the Grey Cup fans, which was somewhat unsettling but probably not something the hotel can do much about. Overall, a decent convenient place to stay proably best suited for couples or guys trips rather than families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique alternative

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: The unique layout.
Cons: I couldn't, for the life of me, figure out where to plug in the coffee pot until my wife found the hidden outlet at the end of the island.
Pleasantly unique hotel rooms. We booked a loft suite. Second floor master is really a cool idea. Full sized fridge, large microwave, and a two burner hotplate, although not used by us, was really nice to see. If it were just a little more affordable this would be a nice place for an extended stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern British Columbia

Hotel near Airport

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: after a very long flight we sought quiet and a good nice sleep and had it here with a comfortable room and beds
Cons: the housekeeping could have been a bit better as there was a used towel laying in the loft and sticky floor in kitchenette
Location: Near the airport...about a 10 minute drive with shuttle bus
Shuttle service was superb. Staff very friendly. Room was very nice and comfortable for 3 Adults.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, Ontario

Two (wet) days in Vancouver

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Our plane arrived in Vancouver before 7 am, so we were thrilled when our room at the Sandman Hotel was ready at 8:30 am. The window actually opens too
Cons: One of the desk clerks was perfunctory: she did her job but with no real pleasure. Others were much better.
Location: The Sandman is a 15 min walk to Bridgeport, a transportation hub, but the walk is not a very pleasant one. However, it was worthwhile for city access
We had a two day stopover in Vancouver during a long trip. The Sandman was a good choice, since it is near the airport, yet has pretty good city access too. If we wanted to really explore the city, we would stay downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom victoria

Easy to deal with

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Staff at desk are quick and nice to deal with. Beds are pretty hard on 2nd flooor and stay away from ice machine and pop machine very noisy hallway doors arent sound proof.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel centrally located to my business stay

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Convenient location and easy access - room was clean but even though it was nonsmoking you could tell someone had either smoked or it used to be a smoking room. Had all the amenities but could use some fresh paint. Even though it was close to the airport and on a busy street room was quiet.