Ratings based on 897 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Very pleasant stay!

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Air conditioning!
Cons: Can't really think of anything.
Location: Didn't stay but one night, so can't really comment on that.
Very pleasant stay! Came very late, early morning, from Squamish and the front desk person was very courteous and accommodating giving me a late checkout. Very clean, quiet, air conditioning was fabulous! Very comfortable stay will definitely go back if I am ever in the area!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Powell River

Average in every regard

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: close to the airport, friendly reception & restaurant staff
Cons: a little pricey for what you get
Location: land, sleep & take off
The dictionary could use his hotel to describe what "average" means ))
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean Airport Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2014
There are two Sandman hotels on the same street a block apart. When the airport shuttle driver asked which one, if I hadn't printed the reservation info, I wouldn't have known the street address.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good regular hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2014
It was a good experience. Nothing unpleasant about the hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mission Viejo,CA

Got bad direction from Expedia

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Pool and airport shuttle was fine.
Cons: See details of our experience and change most of them!
Location: "Family" restaurants wer all a half mile away. Would up eating in "bar and grill" attached to hotel
Had two rooms to accommodate family. We were early to arrive, but desk clerk put us right into two rooms on the same floor (that's a good thing). One room was very cold when we walked in, the other was very hot. The cold room warmed up,but the hot one never did. Reported the problem to desk, and a staff member came up quickly, looked at the thermostat, and the wall unit and walked out without saying a word. We ended up opening the window to cool the place down. By the way did I mention the room was adjacent to a freeway? Yep, slept (not very well due to traffic noise) . In the morning (in the cool room) we learned that the refrigerator was not working, and milk that had been purchased the night before for the two young ones in our party had gone bad from sitting in a hot box over night. One of the mattresses in the "cool room" was very hard and the adults in that room had a poor nights sleep. Well, there were more problems. The Ice maker on our floor was out of order. Solved by going up two floors an having once again to swipe the key card to change floors. The pool was probably the highlight of the facility. It was indoors and clean and refreshing. There was access to a nice outdoor sitting area. On checking out the next day I saw a bill from another patron who had paid half what we paid for the same room. I asked the other patron how his room was and he had no complaints. The good news is that there was prompt shuttle to to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

A surprise by the airport

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Location: Very close to airport. Shopping across the street. Several restaurants within walking distance. Skytrain stop is a bit of a walk though.
Honestly, one of, if not THE nicest hotels I've ever stayed. Clean from top to bottom. Lobby, halls, rooms, pool area. Very nice rooms with fridge (always a plus). Nice staff - lobby, housekeeping - all. Nice restaurant - Moxie's attached, and an IHOP nearby. Very convenient (as I had a car). If you're using public transit to get to Vancouver, may be a problem. Indoor pool and hot tub lovely - open til 1030. Would highly recommend to all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Very good experience with Sandman

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Sandman Signature - good view, spacious room, nice city / harbour view.
Cons: The beddings are a little bit too soft.
Location: Richmond is the heaven of Chinese food, including dim sum, shanghainese, bbq skewers and authentic Chinese soup.
I booked Sandman Hotel Vancouver Airport through Expedia. When I was checking in, the staff upgraded me to a room in Sandman Signature for free. Then I requested a room upgrade from a standard room to a 17-floor king and it only charged me $10 tax extra. One of the best cost-value stay I've had in Vancouver!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible room condition, way over priced!!!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Arrived, the front dest staff were friendly, got to the room, corporate king. Payed$230, the room was filthy..Hair all over the shower and tub. The floors were not washed. No bath robes, dirty glasses. I was not impressed at all!! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone! Disgusting, dirty and outdated. Way overpriced for what you get :( Will never waste my money on this hotel again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from RIchmond, BC

The overall experience was VERY BAD.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Lots of things to do near by but find a different hotel.
The experience was terrible. The staff were rude and apparenlty only had one person working in the WHOLE hotel during the night time so if we required something in our room we had to go and get it ourselves from the front desk when it was the hotel's responsiblity to bring it up to our room. The beds were terrible, we had to see a chiropractor after our visit to straighten our backs out. On our last day of staying at the Sandman Hotel, they didn't even clean our room (no new towles, unfinished bed...etc. When we checked in, we reserved a room for four people, we only had a set of 2 towels, this was bad hotel management. Overall, AVOID this hotel!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whitehorse, Yukon

Sandman Hotel Experience

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Fairly close to Sky Train station, free parking
Cons: Rooms should have closets to hang clothes, fridge should not be sent to freeze fruit and room requires a fan in the bathroom.
Location: Richmond…..Bridgeport Station Sky Train Station 3..4 blocks away.