Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, Location, Location

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: They can't change the size of the rooms but they could update them. Provision for afternoon tea would be good
Location: The location in terms of Stratford and it's amenities is perfect
This hotel is fairly standard and adequate. The rooms particularly the bathroom were a bit small but clean and adequate but the decor is a bit tired. We didn't eat here but we did try to get an afternoon tea. However the Bistro didn't do just cake and the pub bar didn't serve food at that time of the afternoon. What makes this hotel worth going back to is ease of parking and above it's location a five minute walk over the bridge to the theatre and town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the theatre.

Posted Jan 27, 2014
We booked the hotel in order to attend the theatre and were pleased that it was so close to. The room was of a good size, pleasantly decorated, with all necessary facilities. The only puzzle was why thick, full-length curtains should be placed in front of the radiators. Parking facilities were excellent and included in the price of our room. The breakfast was not included in the price. All in all, a pleasant place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roberta from Eastsound, WA

Nice hotel, close to everything.

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: The location, the staff was professional and the room and view were gorgeous.
Cons: Elevators would be very helpful for getting suitcases up to the second floor.
Location: Everything is within walking distance.
Very nice hotel. Updated bathroom and gorgeous room. Beautiful views and walking distance to everything. The only problem is there is no elevator so you'll have to hike your bags up a flight of stairs if you're not on the first floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by D. from USA

Perfect locaton for Shakespeare lovers

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Location and old English charm.
Location: Within walking distance of everything to see in Stratford, including the tourist information center.
The Swan's Nest is located on the Avon River and a short walk over the river takes you to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. The staff was helpful, especially Agata, who assisted us with reservations. We loved the tea kettle in our room. Our room was very comfortable and roomy, especially the bathroom. The breakfast room overlooked the Avon and the food was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynda from Haywards heath

Good Hotel location

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: Staff very helpful
Cons: Nothing
Location: very good location and near main attractions
A very pleasurable stay in spite of noisy young people at night. Staff did patrol after telephone complaint.
3 out of 5
by Phil from Yorkshire

lovely location

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Its location and the restaurant.
Cons: The rooms, the water heating and new keycards.
Location: Beautiful location with stacks to do, just not at the hotel.
The location of the hotel is excellent, unfortunately it is in need of a refurbishment. The bathroom was dreadful and it would have been nice if of a morning if you could get a hot shower, not a cold one. The receptionist came up and checked the water a little later and said that it was hot, I then checked it and it was luke warm. I also had a problem with the key cards they only ever worked once and every time I had to go to reception to get them reprogrammed. The breakfast was extremely nice the only issue there was that there was a long delay in getting seated. If it hadn't been for its location it would have been a disaster.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daniel from London

Good location close to town centre

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff, good location, great breakfast.
Cons: More natural light in room. Repair rotten windowsills.
Location: Stratford-upon-Avon town center just 5 to 10 minutes walk away with theaters and a multitude of pubs and eateries plus a colourful lively market.
Handy location with beautiful view from the restaurant over the river. We arrived for breakfast at 8.30 and were quickly greeted and shown to our table. The selection of cereals, yogurt, juices etc. was excellent. The cooked breakfast order was quickly taken and served in double quick time - delicious! The room was a little dingy as the window was down at one end. The double bed was rather small at 4 foot 6 wide but comfortable. Staff were courteous and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from Somerset

Great location, excellent restaurant

Posted Aug 19, 2013
The hotel is superbly located near the river and just across the river from the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. Room was well equipped and comfortable. Restaurant food was excellent. Parking for a small fixed fee for the whole stay another bonus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK, no special.

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Finding room 51 was very difficult and dirwection of the receptionist were insufficient. Had to go back three times to try to find room direction from a curt receptionist. Bed OK, not great.