Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Great Location

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Restaurant staff
Hotel is perfect to get into the centre without having the world passing your window. The rooms were clean and comfortable but showing a bit of wear due to age. Breakfast is something that I would go elsewhere for in future, I was expecting good service due to the reviews that have appeared on other sites for the restaurant but alas this was not to be, the staff didn't work as a team and kept telling everyone how busy it was !! but there were more un cleared empty tables than full tables - the buffet didn't fall into the full table category as this had been decimated and not refiled (even down to having empty water and juice jugs, but that didn't matter as there were no glasses either). We were seated at a table and asked what we would like to drink, I chose the unlimited refill coffee. But alas one cup seemed to be the limit. we had a tea also but this arrived with no milk. After finishing our drinks and chatting for a while I thought that I had better go and order some breakfast as six tables had come in and been asked for their order before the waiting staff had come back to us. On ordering at the till point , as this was the only place we could find any staff we were given an apology and told that breakfast would arrive shortly, this was the time for redemption....alas two poached eggs on each breakfast and one wasn't quite cooked and the other breakfast had a boiled egg masquerading as poached...breakfast by the river next time
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel character less than expected.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Bar staff and bar restaurant efficient and polite. Room was clean but average spec. Close to town and good for access.
Cons: Rooms could be better but certainly when requesting a double room two singles together not acceptable. The Bistro Pierre very poor breakfast.
We were looking for a hotel with character and from the website pictures looked good. However when we arrived it turned out to be a good hotel frontage and standard 60s extensions. The double bed room was in fact a room with two single beds joined together so the seam down the middle was uncomfortable. We had breakfast once which was a mess, toast arrived within seconds in a basket so soggy, then waited 25 mins for meal to arrive. Asked for more toast which never arrived. Asked for source and told not available, as we left we saw full bottle on the table. When we complained the staff said it would be removed form bill and they would discuss with manager. Following morning at check out the breakfast was indeed removed but despite manager present, no comment or apology. Overall for the standard level claimed very disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Nice hotel close to the town

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Clean quiet and comfortable room with the usual facilities that you would expect.
Cons: Removal of the car park fee for guests!
Location: River boat rides and hire, the shakespear theater is very close and so many more historic buildings and architecture to enjoy.
Hotel is in a good location just across the river to the town center, you can walk into the town and enjoy the beauty of this historic town, this was only a short weekend visit to this beautiful town. The room was located at the back of the hotel and therefore did not suffer from traffic noise, the hotel is close to a busy main road but the room that we stayed in was insulated from any noise due to its location, not sure if all the rooms would be as quiet as ours. The hotel is an old building that has had substantial modification and has lost the character that it once had, quite corporate in its modified design.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Thames Valley

Excellent base for the Stratford experience.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Location. Friendly staff. Adequate parking. Range of bar and dining facilities. Proximity of other restaurants etc. for better value meals.
Cons: Decorations starting to look tired. Restaurant serving "formulaic" food menu. Price of breakfast, compared to excellent value at nearby Carluccio's.
Location: Excellent centre for visiting Stratford, Warwick etc.
Excellent base for visiting Stratford and the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. We attended two performances at the RSC and greatly enjoyed the location of the hotel. Could not have been better located.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Swan's Nest For Me

Posted Jul 29, 2014
The front desk staff were condescending, and when I was checking-out, curt and borderline rude. I will never stay at a Macdonald's hotel again.
1 out of 5
by annette from gloucestershire

Appalling

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: nice location
Filthy smelly bar room facilities so bad no wrds to describe!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenny from London

All around delightful stay

Posted Jun 14, 2014
My son and I spent two nights at the White Swan and had a lovely time. The staff were incredibly accommodating, welcoming, and helpful. We had dinner at the restaurant our first night there and the food was delicious. While the wait staff were courteous and nicely mannered, the service fell short a bit and was slow. It was fine, as we weren't in a rush, but it took some time to get the attention of our waiter a few times. We booked the bed and breakfast deal and were very happy. There was a small buffet table with pastries, fruit, yogurt, cereal, juice, etcetera, but we also ordered from the full breakfast menu which was excellent. The location is IDEAL. It is walking distance to everuthing, including the train station, but isn't on a loud, busy street. The rooms were pleasant and very clean. They have recently renovated, so they have all modern amenities. The bathrooms were beautiful for example, but the old charm was in tact. There is a lot of history in this old place and we found it perfect for a stay in Stratford-Upon-Avon. I appreciated also, that at check-out they only charged me the exact amount of our dinner, which came to less than the amount I paid for a pre-booking deal. I was offered a 10% discount for future visits which I plan on using. I would highly recommend The White Swan to anyone looking for charming, comfortable, elegant, and convenient accommodations in Stratford-upon-Avon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by FlipBook from Southport

Lovely hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
We came to Stratford for the theatre and this is the perfect hotel to stay at. It's close by and has good facilities. There's a £5 parking charge and the pillows are too soft to sleep on, we needed three just to get close to any support. Apart from these minor gripes it was great. We have stayed here before in one of the suites and the noise form the bar was frustrating but no such problem with a standard room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Simone from Spalding

Great getaway

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfortable hotel in a great location.went for a weekend away with friends and would definitely recommend a stay here.perfect for couples or groups as within 5 minute walk of the town.
4 out of 5
by Naomi from Maidstone

Our Night Stay

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: The closeness to walks into town & a large recreation ground for dog walking. The hotel has a welcoming atmosphere.
Cons: All the extras [ £15 ] for a small poodle, parking for hotel guests & breakfast [ which is pricy] add up to a substantial amount. An expensive stay!
Location: The location is perfect for easy access to walks, theatre, restaurants & town.
This is a lovely hotel within easy reach of all amenities. It is, however, rather an expensive one night stay.