Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Nice hotel close to the town

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Clean quiet and comfortable room with the usual facilities that you would expect.
Cons: Removal of the car park fee for guests!
Location: River boat rides and hire, the shakespear theater is very close and so many more historic buildings and architecture to enjoy.
Hotel is in a good location just across the river to the town center, you can walk into the town and enjoy the beauty of this historic town, this was only a short weekend visit to this beautiful town. The room was located at the back of the hotel and therefore did not suffer from traffic noise, the hotel is close to a busy main road but the room that we stayed in was insulated from any noise due to its location, not sure if all the rooms would be as quiet as ours. The hotel is an old building that has had substantial modification and has lost the character that it once had, quite corporate in its modified design.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Thames Valley

Excellent base for the Stratford experience.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Location. Friendly staff. Adequate parking. Range of bar and dining facilities. Proximity of other restaurants etc. for better value meals.
Cons: Decorations starting to look tired. Restaurant serving "formulaic" food menu. Price of breakfast, compared to excellent value at nearby Carluccio's.
Location: Excellent centre for visiting Stratford, Warwick etc.
Excellent base for visiting Stratford and the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. We attended two performances at the RSC and greatly enjoyed the location of the hotel. Could not have been better located.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Swan's Nest For Me

Posted Jul 29, 2014
The front desk staff were condescending, and when I was checking-out, curt and borderline rude. I will never stay at a Macdonald's hotel again.
1 out of 5
by annette from gloucestershire

Appalling

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: nice location
Filthy smelly bar room facilities so bad no wrds to describe!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenny from London

All around delightful stay

Posted Jun 14, 2014
My son and I spent two nights at the White Swan and had a lovely time. The staff were incredibly accommodating, welcoming, and helpful. We had dinner at the restaurant our first night there and the food was delicious. While the wait staff were courteous and nicely mannered, the service fell short a bit and was slow. It was fine, as we weren't in a rush, but it took some time to get the attention of our waiter a few times. We booked the bed and breakfast deal and were very happy. There was a small buffet table with pastries, fruit, yogurt, cereal, juice, etcetera, but we also ordered from the full breakfast menu which was excellent. The location is IDEAL. It is walking distance to everuthing, including the train station, but isn't on a loud, busy street. The rooms were pleasant and very clean. They have recently renovated, so they have all modern amenities. The bathrooms were beautiful for example, but the old charm was in tact. There is a lot of history in this old place and we found it perfect for a stay in Stratford-Upon-Avon. I appreciated also, that at check-out they only charged me the exact amount of our dinner, which came to less than the amount I paid for a pre-booking deal. I was offered a 10% discount for future visits which I plan on using. I would highly recommend The White Swan to anyone looking for charming, comfortable, elegant, and convenient accommodations in Stratford-upon-Avon.
4 out of 5
by Naomi from Maidstone

Our Night Stay

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: The closeness to walks into town & a large recreation ground for dog walking. The hotel has a welcoming atmosphere.
Cons: All the extras [ £15 ] for a small poodle, parking for hotel guests & breakfast [ which is pricy] add up to a substantial amount. An expensive stay!
Location: The location is perfect for easy access to walks, theatre, restaurants & town.
This is a lovely hotel within easy reach of all amenities. It is, however, rather an expensive one night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by dk from Solihull UK

Nice - but nothing special

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
nothing special - dated rooms!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by joe from Essex

good location but too scruffy

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
the hotel is in need of immediate attention
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Richard from London

Great location. Shame about breakfast.

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have no complaints about the room - clean, good amenities including fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. Room was cleaned already when returned from breakfast. I found breakfast a little disappointing. Was there between 9:30-10:30 am on a Saturday. Staff seemed to be too busy clearing and setting tables and we had to remind them about the toast we had ordered. Coffee refilled just by chance. Also if you need to get away earlier than breakfast starts (8am on Sat/Sun) they won't offer you a packed one to take away. Can't order room service before 8 either.
2 out of 5
by Gerald from London

Nice facade shame about the nursing home

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Checking out
Cons: The rooms need updating - this is carry on era decor
Location: RSC and Shakespeare
Good location but the motel nursing home circa 1970 extension and memorial gardens are disappointing - the rooms and facilities are almost comical unless you happen to be staying there. Needs updating and the staff hardly looked up on check in and check out - Stratford Upon Avon is beautiful this hotel isn't.