Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for RSC

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: as above
Cons: nothing
Location: as above
Very close to the Theatre with a good restaurant and excellent real ale bar.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Southampton

Disappointed customer

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything! See above.
We were very disappointed with this hotel - the woman on reception on the morning we checked out was extremely rude when my husband politely told her that the room was cold, the shower was cold and the curry he had was very mediocre from the bar. She then said 'Why didn't you turn the radiator up?' to which he replied he'd tried but couldn't move the dial. She then said she'd not received any other complaints about the cold at which point several people waiting behind my husband also remarked that they had also felt cold. The young lady who appeared to be managing the breakfast was very pleasant when we first arrived but we had to ask for our tea several times before it arrived. The other staff were not particularly enthusiastic and certainly didn't want to interact with their customers. The English breakfast consisted of a piece of bacon which had obviously been sitting on a hotplate for a long time as it was tough, one sausage, a fried egg, a piece of black pudding, a piece of cooked tomato and the amount of beans had been calculated to an exact amount of about 20! Overall it was very disappointing and it has put me off using a MacDonald's hotel again. We stayed at the Premier Inn the following night and the service was much better, the room was about double the size and the breakfast excellent. We are not in the habit of complaining but we feel you should know that the Swans Nest obviously needs a bit of a shake up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Good hotel for easy access to theatre

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Enjoyed relaxing break at swans nest.close to town and just a quick walk over the bridge to the rsc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bevfrom Herts

Great hotel!

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely stay for two nights - had to pay to park but it was only £5 for the two nights stay and included the day we checked out also which we made full use of. Had dinner in the restaurant on the first night and the food was great. Breakfast was a continental buffet selection, good choice, attentive and friendly staff. Can't fault it, would stay again if we are in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

good value stay!

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel! Good dinner & breakfast! Pity we weren't told about restrictions on times children using the swimming pool in sister hotel across the road! Would stay at another holel in the group.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wales

Huge rooms and added extras

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Perfect location by the river. Room was amazing. Little touches added to the stay, like the bottled water on arrival in crystal glasses and the teapot. The monsoon shower was out of this world. Comfy beds with feather pillows and duvet led to a restful night's sleep. Shame we were only staying for one night. Would definitely return on next trip to Stratford.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Fionafrom Jersey

Theatre hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ideal situation for a visit to Stratford and the RSC - just a short walk across the river bridge and you are there in the middle of everything. Only downside is that the hotel car park is also used by day trippers and having paid to park there for our stay one day we came back and it was so full we had to go and pay to park elsewhere until there was room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a lovely stay, hotel is lovely and staff very friendly. Only criticism the room had a very musty smell and didn't appreciate cleaning staff knocking on the door and then entering without giving us chance to get to the door at 9am when we were checking out at 11am
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey

Hotel poor location great

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Adequate toiletries in room, overall cleanness and a fresh lick of paint! Breakfast (start again!)
Location: Great location, 10 minutes from town centre and theatre. Plenty of shops, cafes, bars and restaurants nearby.
Hotel tired and in need of a major overall, a typical example of location supporting it's existence. Avoid breakfast, uninterested staff, poor service and made to feel like passing trade. Cancelled 2nd day and ventured in town to eat and so thankful that we did. Would not go back to this hotel again but Stratford upon Avon a great town with a good vibe and great for the theatre. Shame the hotel did not live up to expectations to support the price tag.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Somersetjofrom Somerset

Perfect for Stratford upon Avon

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Absolutely great for sightseeing Stratford upon Avon and the surrounding areas. Hotel perfectly situated by the river. Maybe a lick of paint in the public areas would be nice but on the whole the service given was good. Good food and good friendly competent staff.