Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Excellent location to be a soo locks....

Posted Jul 2, 2015
This is a historic hotel so dont expect modern rooms....Swimming pool area is ok but need to have someone check it for towel supply..... Restaurant service we were seated immediately was not busy...but waiting several minutes to have someone adk if we had been waited on.....food was much better than we had last year..glad to see improvement.....We tried to book for next year engineering day event but was told we can only book up until June........Still needs some improvements since Ramada took over...but love the location...and we will be back.......
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Restaurant is a nightmare

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Restaurant
Cons: Update the building - keep it as intended
Location: awesome location..highly recommend the pubs/local fare and VFW
Horrible stay; expected so much more for the price. The only positive experience is the lounge staff and management. Its sad to watch a gorgeous building like that be so abused and poorly managed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great location, nice hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2015
We had a suite. Nice, but not excellent. Very dated. Loud blower for heat. Room temp was hard to control, I was hot and cold all nigh. The trestaurant has a great location, lots of Windows with view of the Soo Locks, but we found the food very mediocre. Great spot, though. It would've been much nicer if the mall had also been excellent. Parking was super easy, close and free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheboygan, WI

Nice older facility with a touch of class

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Very quiet. Comfortable and large room.
Location: We were only there over night but we enjoyed the locks and the town.
We had a very nice but short stay. The staff was excellent. We asked for a room viewing the locks and they took care of it. Very friendly staff that was dealing with a coach bus of guests the same night. The hotel was clean and tidy. Older decor but very comfortable and quiet. Looking forward to returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Billie from Baton Rouge

Visiting the area for work for a week

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels
My wife and I flew up there for business. We stayed at the hotel for 7 nights and were able to explore the area some. It appears that we were there in the low tourist season. It was fun, however. There are several restaurants within walking distance with acceptable to above average food. The hotel gym definitely is not their strong point. The pool is ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Superior, WI

Location, location, location

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Location is perfect for ship viewing.
Cons: Staff was helpful, but not particularly friendly.
Location: Tourist shops and restaurants near by. Mini golf in season.
This hotel is right across the street from the park edging the Soo Locks. You can see boats entering and leaving the locks from your hotel room. That is the reason we stay here! The Expedia add says free breakfast, but it is actually a $2.50 voucher for the restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Doug from Traverse City

No Heat, No Breakfast

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels
This was a september stay and the evening temps were in the 40's. It cooled off quite a bit in my room, but I could not get the heat to come on, when I called the front desk they said that they are on a boiler system and since more people were wanting A/C than heat they couldn't turn on the boiler. NOBODY wants A/C when it's 60 in your hotel room, they were just too cheap to provide heat. They used to provide a complimentary breakfast, but not anymore, now they just give you a $2.50 discount coupon. For no hassle with heat and a good breakfast I will definitely pay the extra $30 to stay at the Holiday Inn Express.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Location, Location, Location

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: maintenance
A great location literally across the street from the Sault St Marie Locks. Unfortunately, neither the Ramada nor several other area hotels have many good views of the Locks from inside the rooms. The toilet in the room I stayed in ran every 5-10 minutes all night long. There was a puddle of water under the shut-off valve and another between the tub and toilet that I'm not sure where it came from. The cleaning staff cleaned good enough that just a bit of mildew was visible in the tub/floor seal. I arrived after the 3PM check-in time, was given my key card and arrived at the room to discover the maid was still in process of cleaning. Awkwardly, I left my luggage and took a walk while she finished. The area around the locks is very walkable with plenty of restaurants and souvenir shops. I have had much larger, nicer rooms in more modern buildings for the money but it is a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tranverse City, Mi

Oldie but Goodie

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, Friendly staff
Cons: Maybe some additional refurbishing maintenance of the facility.
Location: Commented above............
The Ojibway is 86 years old, and retains the charm of that era, yet offers the convenience of the modern day. It's location is very convenient, as it is located approximately one block from the locks, and right on a popular street that has many shops, restaurants, and bars. If your booking here you need to understand that this is an "Oldie but Goodie" first, if your good with that....Book a stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels