Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Great place close to the beach.

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Great place. Stay here you won't regret it! Clean and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Nice, Family oriented hotel close to beach

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Front desk staff were very customer service focused, easy entry into hotel, backside of hotel is wooded, so no street sounds, hotel was close to road.
Cons: The cleanliness of the air conditioner vents was a concern as there was a "dryer lint" look of build up. The tub faucet mount could use a brush scrub.
Location: Wings is right next door, so is Benson's seafood. I thought everything was close, but I would not say walking distance. Give yourself a 5 mile radius.
This hotel is a sweet little family beach hotel. The name is commonly associate with business travelers, but this is not a business hotel and THAT is not a fault. It is an economical, mid-range hotel at the beach. We had a two queen room with fridge and only the two queen rooms have fridges. The air conditioning worked well, our water pressure was fine, towels and wash clothes were fine. A small 2/1 shampoo was provided and so were small squares of bath/face soap. The TV was great and even tho there we not a lot of channels, the ones provided were enough to watch before bed or in the mornings. Breakfast consisted of sweet breads, cereal, make yourself waffles, coffee, apple & orange juice, milk, and packets of chocolate and tea were provided. There is always hot water for chocolate or tea, and coffee in the lobby. The beds are low to the floor and are firm. Plenty of pillows dressed the bed. But note, no blankets are furnished. Cold A/C = cold person. Take a snuggly or blankie to sleep under if you are cold natured (as sleeping in the cold is wonderful unless You are cold). Pool was nice salt water and pretty at night. Wi-fi signal was hit n miss and there is no business center. Room key always worked, and we were left alone when DND was on door but promptly attended when requested housekeeping service. Breakfast attendee was spot on and seemed to be invested in task. Was nice to have pool towels from desk and be able to return them wet to desk.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Do not waste your money on this hotel!

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything starting with cleaning.
We ended up renting two rooms on our arrival. All four beds had body hair in them. We had to change our own beds. The bathroom in both rooms was not clean. Body hair and soap residue was everywhere. The "manager" would not give us a refund. I traveled for 20 years in business and was on the road 120 days a year and never have I had an experience like this! They promised me a call from the owner which I still have not gotten after 8 days. Very poor customer service. I never give bad reviews if something is off I just don't respond to the questions. This case was different. The place is terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for the cost

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: staff, location, price
Cons: the hotel is a little old. Everything seemed clean just a tad run down.
Location: The beach was very close. Easy access to lots of restaurants, shops, and activities.
First of all, I've been to over 15 countries and this might have been the friendliest staff I've ever met. They were all wonderfully helpful and kind. The hotel itself is a little old but everything was fine. It was clean and a good deal for August at the beach. We'd stay there again for a short time if we travel back to Carolina Beach. I don't know if I'd do a week there but for 1-3 nights, it is a good place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fayetteville, NC

Loved my 4 night stay.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: The best thing about the hotel was the staff!
Cons: An improvement that could be made would be better TV channels.
Location: The best seafood we ate was at Bowman's restaurant which is right next door. Wings and True Value are also next door.
The staff was so kind and always willing to help. We were in walking distance to great food at Bowman's and shops. Breakfast was fresh everyday. Coffee and hot chocolate was available anytime in the lobby. Although we were right beside the lobby the noise never interrupted our sleep. Pool towels were available at the front desk so you didn't have to use your shower towels. I would've liked more channels on the TV for the kids but we didn't really go there to watch TV so it wasn't that big of a deal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Decent stay. Air condition didn't work. Wifi didn't work half the time. Pool was always dirty. Not planning on coming back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chapel Hill, NC

nothing fancy, but friendly staff and clean rooms

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Close to family we were visiting, free basic breakfast and pool.
Cons: The A/C units in our two rooms were hard to adjust so the rooms were a little too warm or too col.
Location: Not far from Carolina Beach and the marina where the fishing boats come in. Not a fancy area at all but typical for this area.
The rooms were clean as was the outdoor pool. The front desk staff were very nice. The only issue we had was with a broken a/c control that made it hard to adjust the temperature. My husband used one of this tools to turn it himself after the maintenance person didn't fix it, just stuck it back on.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Not what you expect from national chain.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
No one behind check in counter. No towels for pool. Dirty grey towel in room. Gross.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Very disappointed

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Cons: Desperate need of REAL upgrades, not just a coat of paint.
Location: Easy to get to
You can put siding on an old building and bright colors in the rooms, but it's just "putting lipstick on a pig". There was an odor in the room that made our eyes water. I bought a bottle of febreze but it didn't help much. The fixtures in the bathrooms were rusty. Just an old hotel made to look nice on the outside. The hallways were about 100 degrees and stifling. Staff was very pleasant. We left early, but not early enough!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2014
We were pleased with the location. The outdoor pool was nice, and the breakfast was good!