Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brighton

Dirty damp smelling room with a broken toilet.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Matt the manager tried very hard to resolve any issues regarding the broken toilet and unhelpful staff. We were given alternative rooms
Cons: Front of house costumer satisfaction warm welcome try to accommodate or at least listen before rattling of pre programmed answer.
Unfortunately our first room was as described in the title. However worse than that was the total lack of help from the receptionist when we tried to upgrade to a family room. she refused to help us and we're told to deal with Expedia directly. Eventually after elevation the issue to senior management we were given the option of a put up bed in a double room. Which was in the older part of the hotel. the room look tired smelt damp and then the toilet broke. When I asked for some reassurance from reception as to the toilet being fixed she said "I don't know I not a Plummer" I tried to get some assurance as we were about to go out but she kept repeating her pre programmed answer " I don't know I'm not a Plummer" ..... Then the taxi that reception ordered for us didn't arrive.... And so on and so on.... Really disappointing and frustrating experience at my expense!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Close to a friend's wedding I attended

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Very nice and clean room. Was a twin bed for 2 people but the beds were pushed together so it looked like a double bed. Not suitable if you are sharing with siblings! Facilities well stocked so no need for additional supplies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short visit to London

Posted Jul 9, 2014
About a 20-25 minute walk, safe, from the Tube. One hour total to get into London. Enjoyable trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ballymena

Relaxing place to stay

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Terrific staff, comfortable room, excellent food, gracious garden.
Cons: Shelf for toiletries in shower.
Location: Small shopping area and pub nearby. Bus from almost in front of hotel to Woodford tube station.
I would highly recommend this hotel. I was on my own so occupied a single room which was small but well equipped (flat screen TV, iron, safe, tea/coffee making), comfortable and very clean. The hotel specialises in functions but I was never disturbed by jollity or noise. The environs are beautiful, a lovely garden that I enjoyed wandering round. The breakfast is first rate - there is a hot buffet that is really hot with some items cooked to order and a good cold selection - and the restaurant in the evening which I availed of twice is excellent. However the main bonus is the quality of the staff. They are genuinely warm, friendly and helpful, from the management to the receptionists, the restaurant and bar staff and housekeeping they all made my stay a positive pleasure. If I am in the area again I would not stay anywhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Leanne from Kent

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was lovely clean hotel good value for money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from Hull

Excellent base for exploring London

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Comfortable, clean, friendly and helpful staff. Only marked down because there didn't appear to be any way of controlling room temperature. Hot or cold, no in-between.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steve from Luton

Comfy bed & good service

Posted Dec 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
An excellent stay and well looked after...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eva from Gateshead

convenient to the central line

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: I like its location
Location: Woodford is pleasant but its attraction to me is that its a convenient location and by using public transport many locations can be reached
Have stayed here many times , am always pleased with the overall experience The hotel has had a make over and looked very welcoming but the breakfast area is now much smaller and I thought had a little less choice Staff were very friendly and helpful
1 out of 5
by Syed from LA California

Horrible hotel, no way is it a 4 star. Avoid

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Horrible room. Smelly corridors. Dead leaves in stairwells. Sink didn't drain. Fungus on inner windows. Hearing fan very loud so you can't sleep. Rude staff, unhelpful. Horrible breakfast mixing meat with vegetarian. My car was damaged in car park.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2013 on Hotels.com