Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Midlands

Good quality hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Friendly, comfortable. Towels were soft bath sheets, which were lovely and big to wrap around.
Cons: Signage could be improved - it was lacking in places, and also very difficult to read.
Location: Close to shops and restaurants. Tube station into London was about a mile away. Opposite a little church. Couple of miles away was Epping Forest.
Had a lovely overnight stay. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Good choice for breakfast. Our evening meal and lunch were very tasty - a little pricey but probably typical for the area. Large bedroom.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom westcliff on sea

Shabby

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Room was tired shabby dingy .carpet stained bed uncomfortable. Not worth the money.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

ok stay at chigwell

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: room decor
Location: not much
Stayed one night here, was looking foreward to it as the pictures looked great, however, the standard room we were given (312) was right at the back somewhere and was just a bit tatty, im sure originally it was 4 star, but not now, reception staff very nice though. Nothing in the surrounding area of particular merit but the ' Ghandi' indian restaurant was ok. Wont stay here again but there again theres not much choice if you have to stay in Chigwell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom portugal

Prince Regent Chigwell

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Was overall impressed, staff very friendly and helpful and the facilities and breakfast were good. Only criticism was the sofabed for my daughter was very lumpy so not comfortable would suggest the hotel provide a matress topper for a more confortable sleep!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bath

Must have been a good hotel in the past...........

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff
Cons: Investing some money in maintenance and decor
Location: This was busy business rip and we didn'y have time to experience the local attractions
The hotel was frankly in need of some timely reconditioning, worn paintwork, threadbare carpets, dented lift doors, basically showing it's age. It was clean and it looked as though our room and bath room had been refurbished recently. Restaurant food was not good and choice limited. Breakfast food was good but we had to ask several times for butter (they had run out..!) bacon, and eggs. Staff very friendly and helpful but not in a 4 star hotel way. To be honest it was a disapointing experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by David Gfrom South Staffs

Tired bedrooms

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Reception, restaurant and service all excellent. However, the bedroom was very tired. It was clean and tidy but the fixtures and fittings looked 20-30 years old. A bedroom refurbishment would make a massive difference.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andyfrom Leicester

Good times

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly staff, reasonable rates and a great breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom brighton

Dirty damp smelling room with a broken toilet.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Matt the manager tried very hard to resolve any issues regarding the broken toilet and unhelpful staff. We were given alternative rooms
Cons: Front of house costumer satisfaction warm welcome try to accommodate or at least listen before rattling of pre programmed answer.
Unfortunately our first room was as described in the title. However worse than that was the total lack of help from the receptionist when we tried to upgrade to a family room. she refused to help us and we're told to deal with Expedia directly. Eventually after elevation the issue to senior management we were given the option of a put up bed in a double room. Which was in the older part of the hotel. the room look tired smelt damp and then the toilet broke. When I asked for some reassurance from reception as to the toilet being fixed she said "I don't know I not a Plummer" I tried to get some assurance as we were about to go out but she kept repeating her pre programmed answer " I don't know I'm not a Plummer" ..... Then the taxi that reception ordered for us didn't arrive.... And so on and so on.... Really disappointing and frustrating experience at my expense!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Vinifrom Southampton

Good all round

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We needed a relaxed atmosphere and we got it, suited our needs admirably