Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iringa, Tanzania

Fantastic service and beautiful property

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Location, pool bar, staff, services
Cons: Can't think of a thing!
Location: Right on Nungwi Beach, next to several other hotels and restaurants. Near a village supermarket.
Our stay at DoubleTree Nungwi was fantastic. Quick, easy check-in, our room was comfortable, and the entire property was clean and secure. We didn't choose the all-inclusive option, opting instead to choose our own meals. There are plenty of other restaurants nearby. We did eat at the Fisherman's Restaurant one night, which was delicious. We also utilized the pool bar (delicious drinks), and spa (great massages). We chose to use another service provider for snorkeling, but you can book snorkeling, diving, jet skis, fishing, parasailing, and more with the hotel if you choose. The manager also allowed us late checkout with no extra cost on our final day, as we had an evening flight. Great service from highly professional staff- I would definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Australia

Excellent location.

Posted Feb 27, 2015
The staff were very polite and friendly and managed to produce a nice hot black coffee after a number of attempts. A suggestion for putting a shade cover over the baby swimming pool for protection of the children and to keep the water cooler. A lovely place to stay and would do so again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

Nice

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Location. View. Courteous Staff.
Cons: House Keeping, Buffet menu.
Location: Long walk on the beach, Walk into the sea bed at low tide.
It was not too bad an experience. They had to change our room twice. The first since the view was not as promised on the web. The second because the AC and lights were not working. The 3rd was a suite with a great view but the the phone was not working. And house keeping was non - existent. The view made up for anything that was not up to the mark. The staff was very courteous. The location is brilliant.
5 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom HAMMARÖ

Hotell med bra service och strandläge

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Cons: Angående maten kunde bufeerna ha uteslutits då 12 av 15 i vårt resesällskap fick problem med (enligt lokal läkare) salmonella.
Strålande utsikt med ett turkos hav och långa stränder. Badskor rekommenderas då det finns sjöborrar på stränderna. Blåsigt av och till. En del försäljare utmed stränderna, men ej på hotellområdet. En del utflykter anordnas av hotellet. Bla till lokala båt byggare, turtlesmuseum där de visar hur man räddar kapsejsade och skadade sådana. Barnen kan man låta bada i barnpoolen
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Karinfrom Zanzibar

Arrogant and hostile staff...

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
It took me two hours to check in yesterday. My room was not ready even though I arrived in the middle of the afternoon. They gave me another low standard room, but finally decided to "upgrade" me to the standard I have payed for. It took 45 min. to change money and the staff will only give you exact change if you ask for it; in other words they tip themselves. According to my reservation my breakfast is included, but this morning I was asked to remain at the exit until the had checked if it was true. They provide an "all inclusive solution" costing 60 dollars a day for each guest. I decided to say no to that and pay as a go and choose my own meals. The result is that a servant just arrived in order to empty the refrigurator, so now I can't buy anything through that kind of room service. I could continue for hours, but the sea is beautiful and the weather is great. After 30 years hotel experience I finally hit rock bottom when it comes to service - or even a smile from the staff. Book another hotel than this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Abs

decent hotel and value for money

Posted Oct 9, 2014
overall good experience Relatively cheap Good location Excellent staff Food is okay Walking distance from a lot of hotels and shacks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mounfrom Paris

Bel hôtel

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hôtel magnifique. Piscine très agréable.le buffet du matin est génial et tous les repas. Seul hic la plage avec marrée haute et basse difficile de se baigner...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Herts, UK

Very nice hotel right next to the beach.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The staff, the location, the rooms, the pool, the beach.....
Cons: Can't think of anything!
Location: Really good location on the beach. We went to the aquarium, we went fishing, we had a snorkeling tour to Mnemba and we went into Stone Town.
Very nice hotel right next to the beach. The rooms were clean and comfortable with very efficient air conditioning and lots of bottles of free water provided. The staff were very friendly and seemed intent on being as helpful as possible. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have no complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tatianafrom Milano

Rilassante

Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
L'hotel è molto bello e il servizio e' impeccabile. La cucina, invece, non è ottima, nelle strutture vicine si mangia decisamente meglio. Le camere sono molto ampie, arredate con gusto e ben pulite. L'unica nota negativa e' che si sente un forte odore di umidità, ma credo che sia un problema comune di tutte le strutture circostanti. Nungwi e' umidissima. La spiaggia di fronte e' molto bella e con la bassa marea ha un fascino davvero particolare.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels.com