Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
37% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Never Again

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: everything
Location: very close to Termini but so are many other functional hotels. Luckily Rome was a great distraction
Horrible. They were completely unwilling to help resolve a booking issue, staff were rude aside from one very charming Italian gent who was only there in a day, wifi didn't work, was moved to a room with a leaky toilet and broken shower, couldn't move again as the floor was booked out by a school party who were incredibly loud all night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Avoid avoid avoid- fiasco

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Rude uneducated staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Wayward station rather than hotel for tourists

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The location was very convenient.
Cons: Everything listed above. And the description should be changed.
Location: Near Repubblica metro, Termini Station, the National Museum. Great restaurant (Zeus) next door. Bus stop right outside & lots of taxis passby.
Unfortunately, the Hotel Repubblica was very disappointing, only made better by the fact that we were more interested in what was outside the building/room than inside. First, the hotel was more like a wayward station for people new to or in transition in Rome. Not many tourists at all. Second through fifth, you don't pass the front desk to get to your rooms so staff was more or less absent, cleanliness was awful (mold in the tiny shower!) though housekeeping did show up daily, the elevator & A/C only worked intermittently, and to top it all off, the picture on Orbitz is not even of the correct building! Finally, we were told that someone would be at the desk to check us out when we left (around 6:00 am on a Tuesday), but no on was there, the door to the front desk was locked, and no one answered the doorbell. I had to slide my keys through a small opening in the sliding doors and hope that was enough for check-out and that I wouldn't get charged for random check-out.
1 out of 5
by stefanie

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Sink clogged, shower door broken, safe did not work, tv did not work. Asked them to fix it, they fixed the sink and shower and nothing else in 4 days. There were holes in the bedding. Positives- there was hot water and wifi and really close to Termini and Metro.
1 out of 5
by Dangirute from London

This hotel should be closed!!!

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed 7 days. 4 days was problem with internet connection. Master came just after 3 days to unblock the shower after our complain. TV is showing just some italian programs. Stinky toilet….
2 out of 5
by Brooke from Missouri

Few Struggles

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
Although the location was great; we had many struggles. The man at the desk charged us more than what his system directed him to. We saw a bed bug the last night of our stay, and my husband could not fit in the shower (he is of medium build). All together the location was tremendous, but next time I will be booking something of higher class!
5 out of 5
by Marine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

only good is location

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: Only the location
Cons: Every things need to be change lobby the couch dirty and old but the next day they change the better but still old room facilities are very poor
Location: Location is excellent
The facilities is terrible only one think good is the location near train station
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Fabrizio from America

Hotel average

Posted May 7, 2016 on Hotels
There was something putrid smelling coming from the sink or tub. I almost gagged it was so bad, but luckily there was a window in the bathroom that brought in fresh air.