Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Mostly lovely hotel and good value for 5 star

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Good coffee bar, good food and many very friendly staff.
Cons: Housekeeping was a bit hit and miss. Twice our room wasn't cleaned in the morning which meant we had to phone to ask for the regular water supply.
Location: Beautiful spot on a gorgeous beach. Local towns but not much else nearby. Really it's the location for total relaxation.
The basic rooms are about to be refurbished so slightly tired but as they are also very good value for money I wouldn't complain. The pool is large and mostly shallow so safe for the kids but a large upper section which is good for swimming lengths too. Beautiful beach but slightly disappointing that the lagoon is so small so not much space to actually swim and a very limited range of fish (compared to the Maldives) to see from glass bottomed boat. We didn't try the snorkelling as couldn't take the kids but they might have taken you to a better spot. Most of the staff are really lovely and can't do enough to help, especially, Fabien, Ram, and Sitash the lifeguard who happily watched our kids when they didn't want to leave the pool. There are a few very surly staff, one of whom gave us the impression we weren't ordering enough drinks (which are obviously extra on top of the half board package). The kids club was lovely and very quiet as early Mauritiun winter, so the kids got loads of attention and lots of lovely activities included at no extra charge. The choice of restaurants was really good although we mostly ate at the Kitchen (buffet restaurant) for the children who loved choosing what they liked. The food was really good, especially if you like it spicy. Some lovely touches like the ice cream stall with unusual flavours and lollies for big and small kids. Overall a very relaxing holiday with young children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by moria from Jeddah

The best experience ever

Posted Jun 22, 2014
The best resort I have ever been to. Rooms are very comfy The staff are the best, they are very friendly They made my stay so happy and comfortable. Attention to every details. Daycare with friendly staff. Movie show at night Music and show Reception party Beach very clean Again the best part of this hotel was the amazing staff I would go back in a heartbeat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by deeps from india

Nice hotel with private beach

Posted May 29, 2014
Hotel staff was very friendly. The rooms were clean. The chefs prepare indian food as you request. For vegetarians there are not much options on menu so please take the buffet with the room. The ala carte is served only during dinner time. The hotel has private beach which is very clean and maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from Edinburgh

Great hotel in fantastic location

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Great facilities, located on beach and the most wonderful helpful and friendly staff.
Great hotel in fantastic location, where the staff could not do enough to help you enjoy your vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anukool from New Zealand

Serenity and Class

Posted Feb 4, 2014
I booked this hotel for our honeymoon thinking it would be a good reliable 5 star resort.. But it turned out to be so much more.. First of all it is on the best beaches in Mauritius (east coast). It has stunning facilities, so much space and designed with natural elegance. The pool is enormous and beautifully overlooks the beach. The resort has so many activities taking place free of charge that you can do yoga, play tennis, water ski, sail etc everyday! Not too busy, but with the amount of facilities they have, it wouldn't matter. Food - Delicious!! So much variety and so fresh.. On the beach dining, music in the background. Love it! Most importantly this place has 10/10 customer service, each and every staff is so pleasant to talk to, it has a calming effect on us . Mauritius itself has nice people so that helps.. The spa/massage was brilliant as well.. Best massage I have ever had, and the ambience was serene as well. Ask for Preeti as the masseuse she was excellent. Recommend it!! This place isn't cheap to say the least. But of you have money to spend, this is the place to do it!! Perfect for all kinds of people. Honeymoon or Group of friends.. Anyway, those are my thoughts. Off to eat at one of the 4 fantastic restaurants here!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Darren from Adelaide Australia

Nice hotel service could be better

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was good. The service was pretty average we requested a late check out 4 days before our departure and they told us they couldn't help until the day before the day before they told us they couldn't help us. The hotel didn't appear to be full but they weren't willing to make a few changes to accommodate us, not good for a room that was costing $700/night. Overall service around the pool/beach wasn't too good either, we found one waiter around the pool area to be proactive. The hotel really needs to look at the service they are offering for the prices that they are charging.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jose from Maputo

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: Location, service and the restaurant. The swiming pool is also fantastic
Cons: I did not like the construction which seems to be an expansion of existing facilities. Too noisy!!!
Location: Near by things are not so near but since trasportation services are very good this is not really a problem.
The hotel is very nice and staff is very good and well trained. Taxi service for site seeing and trips to touristic place is also very good and well coordinated by the concierge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tharshana from UK

Honeymoon in paradise

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Just got back from a weeks stay at the Lux Belle Mare for our honeymoon and there is not one thing we could honestly fault about our stay. The best thing about the hotel was the hospitality shown by all staff and the friendliness of them all throughout our stay. They went out of their way to cater for our particular requirements! Each night had a theme offering various types of food such as Indian/Chinese/mediterannean/arabic etc and including live entertainment following dinner. the hotel also provided movie on the beach nights/star gazing/ boat trips and many more and we found that we did not have to leave the hotel resort! The beach and facilities are gorgeous and again have many water sport options available as part of the hotel stay so there is no extra charges except for certain types of water activities! We enjoyed a luxury honeymoon massage at the spa and this was also a wonderful experience. We read several reviews prior to booking and this hotel had positive reviews throughout and we can now also confirm these reviews and highly recommend this hotel!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice beach but isolated!!

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Pros: lovely location and quiet in general
Cons: Better food and a lot more information on arrival, hotel brochures and directory about 2 years out of date!!!!
Location: Lovely location, beautiful beach and lots of water activities but if you want a bit more excitement and variety, stay in Grand Baie.
Hotel food not good and hotel not close to any other facilities besides other resorts and expensive. uninformative and told us to book our own tours and taxis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Brilliant location, outstanding service

Posted Aug 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lux Belle Mare was exceptional in every single way from the service to facilities. The room was awesome, staff were superb and the food divine. We would highly recommend Lux Belle Mare and would stay again.