Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Beautiful Jamaica Trip

Posted Aug 19, 2014
This hotel was elegant, right on the beach the staff was very accommodating, so very nice and oh the food WOW!!!! so great. We had a little trouble with ants but the hotel compensated us and corrected the problem. I really would like to suggest that they have some reggae music playing through out the hotel because that's the experience you are looking for when you arrive, it does not have to be loud but it should be suttle. We will be back!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westchester, New York

Fabulous ocean views

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The resort amenities were many with pleasant and attentive staff members who were on top of their game.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Location was wonderful inasmuch as it was very near to the airport and everything you could wish for was right there at the hotel.
Room was steps away from an absolutely wonderful beach. We had excellent room service and the food and drink throughout the resort was the best we had had on our visits to Jamaica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Wonderful getaway

Posted Aug 13, 2014
The hotel has beautiful grounds and the location is unbeatable. A short 10 minute drive from the airport and then you are in paradise. The hotel staff is very professional and courteous. The food and drink throughout the resort is second to none. All the restaurant located within this e
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Beach Wedding attendee.

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Location, fabulous ocean views, room accommodation, friendly and efficient staff.. just to name a few things.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Located about 15 minutes from Montego Bay. Resort offers many activities, not necessary to go anywhere outside of resort area.
I was a guest at the Half Moon Resort for 5 days. I was there as mother of the groom for a wedding that took place on the beach. It was absolutely lovely from beginning to end. My room was steps away from an absolutely breath-taking view of the pristine turquoise ocean. What a pleasure to wake up every morning to such a beautiful landscape!! The resort amenities were many.. pleasant and attentive staff members who were very unobtrusive and provided excellent service. So very relaxing and I definitely plan to stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire, England

Paradise Found

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Beautiful Room and View. Fantastic Staff. Loads of facilities.
Cons: Hard to say, as they were on top of the game and went out of their way to ensure everything was OK.
Location: The Half Moon is in Montego Bay Jamaica and the Martha Brae and the 'Jamaican Swamp Safari & Kananga House' are not far. Both are great excursions!
The staff at Half Moon went beyond expectations. We were given a fantastic room with the most beautiful sea view that I have ever had. Even the hairdryer in the room was as good as I have back home, and that is a first. There are plenty of facilities to do at Half Moon and so you would never be bored. The staff were so friendly and went out of their way for us. Examples:- 1. We had returned from a wonderful trip down the Martha Brae and had with us a passion fruit that had dropped into the river and the man who punted us gave it to us. My husband had it in his hand when we arrived back at the Half Moon and went directly to lunch. Teana asked us if we would like them to make a drink out of it. It was also a very good drink. 2. We had a late excursion one evening which cut across Dinner times and we arrived back late and slightly hungry, but we did not want a sit down meal. Renae kindly made us some sandwiches. 3. We also came back one lunch time with a coconut and Daniella offered to cut it so that we could drink out of it. 4. One lunch time I went to take my straw hat off as I was getting hot, and only had to look around for a second as to where to put it, when Everette drew up a chair for me to put it on. The other staff were very helpful as well. Angela our maid was lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL.

Pleasant hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The staff , and the beach.
Cons: Dining areas could have some air conditioning - it would be more comfortable.
Location: Nice location, but we didn't do much since our stay was so short.
Had a nice time at the Half Moon. It's a lovely place, with a nice staff. The beach is very nice also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Great Resort, on the ocean

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The property offers a variety of rooms and views
Location: The resort is near the airport, shopping, on a major through-way for visiting other parts of the island.
The Half Moon Hotel and Resort is very accommodating to their guest. The property is very well kept, rooms are above average, meals are great. The staff are very friendly. I've often pass by this resort on other visits, no longer!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Everything is to spread out.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Clean and friendly.
Cons: Food taste.
Location: No entertainment other than piano playing in the early evenings.
Food was not very good and over priced. There was no original Jamaica food, like fish and curry goat. However, the drinks were good and the breakfast was good. Deserts were horrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Beautiful, relaxing and peaceful.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Traveled all over Jamaica and this by far was the most peaceful place. Very elegant, but not snooty...relaxing, but refreshing. Laid back atmosphere and a spa to die for. There is an old school style (1954 est), picturesque setting for wedding ( 2 while we were there). Rent a golf cart or bike - it's 400 acres of beauty. Meal plan is a good idea...kinda pricey. Must try mangocolada w coconut rum and the coconut snapper.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com