Ratings based on 553 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Deutschland

Ruhig am Rand

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Ruhig gelegen, mit der Fähre in 5 min in New Orleans
Cons: Kaffeeservice an der Rezeption wäre toll!
Location: Außerhalb in Algiers Point.
Danke Expedia für den Tipp! Große Zimmer mit kleiner Küchenzeile.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2015
Nice place to stop along the way. A bit far from the action of the downtown area. Staff was very friendly though
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Nice hotel

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Quiet and on the Westbank
Cons: It would have been great to have an overstuffed chair or two in the room in addition to the desk chair and two straight-backed dining chairs
Location: Location perfect for military personnel and visiting folks in Algiers
Enjoyed walking on the levee from the hotel to the ferry landing to go across to the CBD...might be a challenge finding a way back to the hotel without a car after a day of walking in the Quarter, or whatever. There is parking (for a fee) at the ferry landing, however. Hotel was very quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheaper and much bigger than the big hotels across

Posted May 7, 2015
Very accommodating and helpful staff. Room was nice. Room was missing glassware, but not an issue. Stove worked. Large room. No elevator, but not an issue for me. Great alternative to French Quarter prices. 5 min bus ride to ferry and $2 ferry to french quarter is worth the 30 minute loss. Cab ride back was under $20. I would stay there again. One day bus was 30 minutes late. Not hotel's fault.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati, OH

Quiet hotel away from the city

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Quiet, Clean rooms, never felt unsafe
Location: About a mile to the ferry that takes you straight into the French Quarter.
This is a cheap, but still pleasant alternative for those of you who want to save money on your hotel stay in New Orleans. The downsides are that the hotel doesn't have any extras. If you are looking for a pool or breakfast, you're out of luck. Also it is an ordeal anytime you want to get a meal. You're not super close to anything. But you are about a mile from Algier's Ferry. You can park your car there for $5 or $10 depending on whether there is a special even going on. Then ride the ferry over for $2 a person and it drops you off right at the beginning of the French Quarter and right next to a Trolley stop that will take you from one end to the other with plenty of stops in between. The Hotel is extremely quiet. So it's a great recommendation if you love the French Quarter but want the party to stop when you're ready to stop. I haven't read any of the negative reviews on here, so I'm not sure what their expectations or experiences were, but we just spent an entire week there. It was clean. We had a full kitchenette. The staff was very friendly and helpful. If all you are worried about in your hotel is a safe, clean place to stay in between having fun out in New Orleans, this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Deatsville, AL

Very good hotel.

Posted Apr 18, 2015
This was our first trip to New Orleans and were very happy with the hotel. We weren't in the middle of the "wild" part of New Orleans but were right there at the ferry that only took 10 min to get to the fun. The staff was excellent! So helpful with tips from where to eat to the best way to get around. We are planning on going back here in July for my sons 16th birthday trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sarasota, FL

Nice! 1-exit across bridge from French Quarter!

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Nice large, clean double efficiency with easy access to French Quarter. Staff was friendly prior to visit, during check-in and throughout. Well lighted parking in safe, quiet area next to Marine base and police station. Good value for the money! Although not on Expedia's description, the hotel did charge one night's deposit at reservation. When contacted they were friendly and sent email receipt for the deposit. Not perfect, but professionally handled.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, AB, Canada

A quiet oasis, but still close to a bustling city.

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Easy access to the city, yet a place to relax. Well looked after, and regular 'policing', as cops drive by from their nearby station - 'free security'
Cons: There was one bulb missing, but we didn't really need it. To improve: please add DECAF coffee, as well as tea bags.
Location: Restaurant by Fats D's statue (Algiers Ferry) has great food! Destrehan - a nice Plantation to visit, and South we went for the Swamp tour.
This Hotel was a place to rest. Good driving access to the city, and also a close connection by Ferry (and leave your car on this side of the river). We did both and it worked very well. Appreciated that Parking is Free at Federal City, whereas in New Orleans you pay in most areas. We much enjoyed the Federal City Inn, plan to come back here, and will also recommend it to others. Cost was reasonable, and it includes a Kitchenette, which we found very handy and a cost-saver for breakfast / lunch. To travel in any direction was very easy from the Hotel; I brought my GPS and that helped immensily! Staff is very helpful with local information / flyers, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Las Cruces, New Mexico

Quite hotel close to the city if you have a car.

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Away from noise of city. Pet friendly.
Cons: nothing
Location: Lots of room for my dogs to walk.
I like the fact the hotel was away from the city of New Orleans. It was clean and spacious. Very comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom HTX

Just fine for a night...

Posted Apr 3, 2015
The lady at the desk was super nice so that made the stay better. Bed was comfy, shower pressure was low and tub very outdated. I was surprised by the amenities with the room :) just wished it didn't smell so much like cigarette smoke. Thanks for a comfy bed for the night! Good location across the river.