Ratings based on 1,278 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Storkow/Mark

Sehr schoenes Hotel in Top-Lage

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Sehr gutes Preis-Leistungs-Verhaeltnis, beheizter Pool, Jacuzzi, tolle Lage (Bergpanorama)
Cons: Leider hat das Fruehstueck im Vergleich zu 2012 etwas nachgelassen (keinen Schmierkaese mehr) und keine Poached Eggs (gegen Bezahlung)
Location: Sehr zentrale Lage, nahe Downtown Palm Springs, und nur fuenf Minuten entfernt von den " Indian Canyons" ( fuer Hiker und Naturliebhaber ein " Muss"
Wir waren 13 Naechte im Royal Sun Inn ueber Weihnachten und Neujahr.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Great for the price !

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: You can make your own waffles at the free breakfast.
Cons: For the price , not much .
Location: Near everything P.S. has to offer.
This hotel is just south of downtown. It is older but is clean and comfortable . 5 star it is not ! It does have balconies that offer mtn views. We have stayed here twice .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wildomar, California

Always a pleasant stay

Posted Jan 20, 2015
I stayed over the MLK weekend with our Girl Scout troop. It was a good central location between our desert oasis hike and our Mount San Jacinto hike in the snow. We had three rooms, and weren't able to get them all together, although when I requested neighboring rooms weeks earlier I had been told that should be no problem. Still, this time of year in Palm Springs I wasn't surprised they were too full to accommodate our request, and although they were full, the atmosphere was still quiet and peaceful. Staff was friendly and welcoming, even though we had a large group of (well-behaved) kids. The girls enjoyed making their own waffle breakfast, and they enjoyed the fresh biscuits, fruits etc., which are far better than the typical continental breakfast offered by many more expensive hotels I've stayed in. I love the fact that they don't allow pets or smoking. I have allergies and sometimes I wake up absolutely miserable after sleeping in a hotel/motel, but that has never happened at the Royal Sun Inn. The pool area is clean and family-friendly, too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: The most positive thing about this motel was the desk clerk who greeted us when we arrived. He was very accommodating and pleasant.
Cons: Need a lot of upgrades.
The room where the breakfast was served was small and dingy. The food lacked a lot to be desired. The room we stayed in had and uneven floor and we found a dirty wash rag in the bathroom behind the toilet, and a used straw and dirt under the sink. The telephone did not work half the time because the cord would not stay hooked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, but probably better overall choices

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Location: Across street from Moorten Botanical Gardens, near Tahquitz canyon hike and many restaurants/shops in the core area of Palm Springs.
Pros: Quiet room with lovely mountain view in morning sun. Excellent location to older area of Palm Springs. Cons: room was gloomy (inadequate lighting). Breakfast was very modest, but more importantly, there was inadequate seating indoors (2 tables). Since it was very cold when we visited, this was frustrating and we decided to go out the last day.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Not far from the airport, nice view

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: It was clean
Cons: The creaky beds, and the walls could be a little more insulated for sound. Pool was dirty but hot tub was nice
Location: Close to airport and nice view if mountains
First off, it was definitely overpriced for the one night we were there! The room was clean but the beds were horribly uncomfortable and creaky, the walls were so thin that I could hear things in the next room that I definitely didn't want to hear. For the price I had higher expectations.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Regina Sk Canada

The hotel like many in the area is old very plain.

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: The pricing for the hotel was priced based on its age. I guess I could say we got what we paid for.
Cons: Replace the bedding and the carpets
Location: Palm springs is a very clean neighbourhood, we very comfortable using public transit. There are few things that are worth seeing.
The staff was friendly enough however they are not very engaged with the guests. The continental breakfast area was crowded with only 3 tables for a hotel with about 75 rooms. The rooms are 1960 vintage with very few upgrades. The staff do a fair job of keeping the place clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mesa, AZ

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: The location was perfect and the price the most reasonable in Palm Springs.
Cons: The breakfast- perhaps something hot like oatmeal or eggs. The small room became overly crowded.
Location: Great location- close to downtown, the Botanical Gardens, Indian Canyon, and the main roads.
The hotel was beyond our expectations given the very reasonable price. The room was clean and modern and we loved having a balcony. We enjoy quiet- there was some traffic noise but none from the other rooms. The breakfast was not fancy but had the morning necessities- good coffee, fruit, and cereal.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Adelanto, CA

OK

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Location, Free Breakfast
Cons: Over alll condition
Location: Close to restaurants and Tram
Clean but bathroom ceiling needs repair. Towels are like paper. But close to Downtown Palm Springs and great FREE breakfast. Needs some TLC
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Cons: Cleanlines, fix the toilet.
This was not a good experience and would not return.