Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NY, NY

We got stuck here...

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: N/A
Cons: Customer service, appearance, cleanliness etc..
Location: The poughkeepsie area colleges and the historic homes up route 9 north in hyde park and beyond.
I had stayed here a few times before, when it was a super 8. I'm not sure if it's still part of that family. It was clean-ish and close to the events we had in the Poughkeepsie area, though I considered sleeping in my car when I came to check in and they said the non-smoking room I reserved on Expedia was just a preference, not a guarantee. The clerk was quite rude when I asked to speak to the manager. My friend and I tried airing out the room, spraying bath and body works and blasting the ac. I woke up in the morning with fits of coughing, and even the bed smelled like smoke. The room itself was missing light bulb from several of the lamps, and one lampshade was ripped open from the inside. A lovely mysterious brown stain was on the ceiling, and I'm not quite sure what was on the carpet. At the end of the hallway, the wall was boarded up and a chute/dumpster was outside. I put in a complaint with the hotel to speak with the manager. She never called back. Expedia tried several times to speak to the manager about issuing a refund because the room I reserved was not available and quite unacceptable. After two weeks of calls, and the manager never being available (morning, afternoon and evening calls), they declined my request for a refund. I also contacted the Better Business Bureau and placed a complaint, which the hotel declined to answer. There are better places in Poughkeepsie to stay. Give them your business.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Served its purpose

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: They allow dogs
Cons: -More efficient front desk service -odor in the hallway
Used this hotel for one reason only - one of a few hotels in the area that allows dogs. The room had 2 beds and a bathroom, which is all that mattered. The room was non-smoking, but the entire hallway smelled like a smoke-filled bar. when we checked in, the man at the front desk did not know what he was doing; a woman from the back had to come out and help him. They gave us keys to a room that was unlocked and not turned over from the previous guests. Had to go back to the lobby get another room. The majority of the outlets in the room appeared to be covered up, presumably so guests could not use the electricity (cell phones, computers, etc.) The coffee at the continental breakfast tasted like hot water (no flavor) - ended up going to Dunkin Donuts a mile down the road. Not horrible, but far from a positive experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Andrewfrom Montreal

For the Price

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
You might have heard "bad reviews" of this place, but I beg to differ. FOR THE PRICE, and remember, you chose to stay here because its about 30- 50 bucks less than your other choices, it is worth it. The only knock is that its more of an "up-scale motel" rather than a Hotel. Keep that in mind. The staff was friendly enough and willing to please on issues, so unless you want to pay a budget price and expect to get a 5Star/ $600 a night experience, you should be happy with the price/ quality of your stay
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Pensacola, FL

Change in ownership

Posted Oct 29, 2014
This used to be a Super 8 which I stayed at a couple of times. There was significant renovations going on when we checked in, our room wasn't ready when we arrived (we were a bit early), and our toilet overflowed from the back. While it is the cheapest stay in the area, it still isn't worth the price.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Sewer problems

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Well, you get what you pay for. Knew it wasn't going to be great, but it was really dirty. Worst thing is the toilet clogged up in our room, and the staff said there wasn't a plunger anywhere on the property. We had to use the toilet in the lobby, which was also clogged up! Gross. It looked as if the carpet on the stairs has never been cleaned. Served the purpose for our visit, but be warned it's not so nice. Scraggly looking clientele with girls in pajamas & bare feet walking around the lobby.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Melissafrom New York

HORRENDOUS

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friends and I were looking for a hotel that was relatively inexpensive as we were only staying a night and looking to go hiking the next morning. So we knew that we weren't going to be staying in anything fancy but this place was by far THE WORST place I've ever stayed in. I seriously feared for my life after the night we had there. DIRTY, SECTION 8 HOUSING, DRUG ADDICTS. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Hampton Inn right next door. If you can't afford that, you're better off sleeping in your car. I'm not exaggerating one bit.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nj

Nice hotel forprice. Poor planning w construction

Posted Oct 27, 2014
The hotel was nice, but a little bit dated. As a result, they were doing construction. While I understand that this needs to be done, it was right above our room and literally shaking the entire room. It was very disruptive and loud and went on until almost 6 pm. I complained to the staff who were very apologetic and understanding and went to go speak with the workers. While I know this is not the staffs fault, I do think that on their website they should mention something about construction, so that you know and can "take it or leave it". Also, after complaining I felt as though a slight discount or room change would have helped. I'm sure the hotel wasn't full and our room was literally directly below the noise. I feel as though whoever ordered the construction should have had some sort of plan put into place for ther guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sharon Rideoughfrom Petawawa ON

good location

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
housekeeping was lacking severely. No elevator. Front desk staff courteous.