Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel overall. Few major room for improvement

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: I liked they had a train to take you back to the lobby so you didn't have to walk. I loved the drinks...they were really tasty. The staff is fantastic
Cons: The resort only gives you one towel per person per day. I fought them on this to the point where I kept getting discounted services.
Overall, loved the hotel and staff. They were beyond friendly and accommodating. Beautiful views, gorgeous everything. The rooms were old but clean but we were only there to sleep so didn't need 5 star accommodations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ventura cabrera

Horrible

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Not was that i reseve, the service not was good, the hotel tha they put me was other than i think. Was a bad experience. I cant eat in the reataurant
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Nice for the price

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: scenery
Cons: more security locks on doors. more air-conditioning the only air you got was in your room, better food,softer beds
Location: right on a beautiful beach and excursion to Samoa island and other pick you up from the lobby
Hotel Lobby is nice, however once i checked in I HATED my room! It was old and run down with a horrible smell! I couldn't bare staying in that room for a week. I immediately called the front desk and requested a room change and that i would like a more modern updated room. Manager gave me NO problem i was upgraded to a 2 bedroom family room and it was beautiful! Clean with no odor. I did have few problems with housekeeping and receiving face cloths i had to call and request them it took 2 days to get them and then after that never got clean ones. Security and house keeping did bust into my room a few times once in the middle of the night while i was in bed with a whole family with them. NOT COOL! The rooms aren't very secure there is no second lock (chain lock or hatch) We also were on the 1st floor with a balcony with a door in bedroom that led to the balcony which also didn't have a secure lock. Didn't feel very safe. The restaurants besides the main buffet and the 1 near the beach all required reservations and some had additional fees. The food was VERY mediocre was not impressed at all. The bartenders at the swim up bar we great! Most staff was friendly for the most part. The Royal reps trying to sell time shares were very annoying being that they stood right outside my room and i had to pass them daily. Resort over all was pretty and the beach is beautiful. Overall I would return considering the price just remember you get what you pay for!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Niles IL

disappointing vacation

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: friendly stuff
Cons: need total renovation, painting and another things which every other hotel have with 3-4 stars
Location: location is on the beach so we didn't go out because we didn't go to look for another things
From arrival time to hotel problem started: first room assigned was 8x9 ft, without balcony with small window only and door (locked) I guess going to another, bigger room.I went to lobby asking for normal room with balcony and after some talks they did give me another one. This was normal size room with balcony , so after move we went to dinner. When we got back we found that AC is not working! It was late night and we were tired so we decided to turn on all the fans and went to sleep. Tomorrow morning I went again to lobby and cust. service give me another room in different building (it seems to me that they did now about AC problem but were waiting for my reaction) Now this room was OK. All I can say vacation started wrong way so I can't be happy about that! Food was OK, plenty of and variety in El Higuejo so we didn't go to another restorants. Stuff is very friendly and helpfull to some instance- as much as they can understand English. Few negative things: WI-FI is working strictly in lobby, no coffee maker in the room, no iron in the room so advice is take everything wrinkle free, and there is fee for safe, taking money ahead for whole stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colon

Very Very Nice.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Very nice and Beautiful. My experience was good very good. Hotles was nice and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philly

it was AWESOME!

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: everything was great & the staff is phenomenal!...treat people with respect & they will return it.
Cons: Wi-Fi
Location: locations is great, I recommend swimming with the dolphins, zip-lining (is tough, you must be fit), buggy ride (must be willing to get very muddy)
Punta Cana was awesome! stay in your resort, book tours through the resort, & you will be fine! I was surprise about the punctuality of everyone there...even the tours get there 10-15 minutes before pick up time, make sure you are early. The atmosphere is great, the daily shows were fun, but you must like to watch people dance. Buffet had a lot of variety! the food at the other two restaurants was great as well (must make reservations in advance when you get there)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Staff not very friendly, slow to respond

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Many of the staff, service, dining and front desk, were nice, several others were not so nice.
Cons: Staff training
Location: We remained close to the resort. There definitely could have been more to do there for day and nighttime entertainment..
The staff was a mixed group, friendly and courteous to down right unfriendly and disrespectful. We lost electricity in one room, took two days too long to repair. Lost AC in our second room, again it took half a day, through the night and until the next morning to repair. I would hesitate to recommend the Tropical Princess because of the inconsistencies we experienced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Great food and Beach

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: The hotel facilities and food
Cons: Towels supply in the room
Location: The hotel is located near shopping centers, discos and bars (but I don't believe you need to go outside if you have everything at the hotel)
The hotel was nice. A great beach and 3 pools, a lot of activities for everyone. The food was very good (variety and quality), every night at the main restaurant they have a theme buffet menu (Spanish, French, Chinese, etc), which you can enjoy along with good music and wine. Also they have open restaurants/bars all day/night long. My kids really enjoyed the hotel: Besides the beach, teh children's playground, mini golf, bikes, tennis, archery, ping pong, pool tables and a kid's show. A casino and the "Areito" disco (one of the best in the area) are inside the hotel complex, you can go there (using a complementary shuttle) and part of the night the drinks are free
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Relatively inexpensive. Staff was helpful.
Cons: Door locking system and room keys. TV's are old and remotes don't work well.
Beds are hard. Room keys constantly lose configuration and doors don't open. It happened to many guests. Staff claims it is related to cell phone proximity. We had no cell phones there. Beach is okay, not great. However, for the price and the all inclusive deal, you probably can't beat it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK

Hotel with beautiful beach and pools

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: beach and pools
Cons: food for buffet
Location: Location is great.Always you can take a trip to visit local area
I stayed in resort 8 nights.Hotel has a beautiful beach with clerly water and many activities to do.Location is perfect.The resort is well mainteined .The room was quite nice,but bed was very uncomfortable.The buffet food was not so good.The evening show was great.However my experience was fine .