Ratings based on 285 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Treatment to guests, hotel room assignment, availability of food at all time.
We didn't have a good experience. We felt like hotel staff didn't want us to be there. The room assigned to my parents was not in good conditions and I tried to deviate this matter from their mind. We waited for dinner to be able to eat after check-in at 3.30pm. Overall, my family didn't enjoy the hotel. we focused on passing a good time together.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Bay FL

Large resort.

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Cons: The beds are hard as rocks! Fans in dining room and lobby would be helpful. Better internet service. More people who speak English.
Location: Very limited activity.
I would not recommend this hotel to any american tourists that are not fluent in Spanish. I was disappointed with this resort as very few staff members spoke English. I was ignored in dining room when I made a request for water. The lobby and buffet restaurant is all open air. There are no fans, birds are flying around when you are eating as well as flies. Also, if you go here do NOT FORGET bug spray. Mosquitoes are in abundance and the gift shop wanted $22.00 dollars for a small can of Off. Not a lot of activity going on and the internet is only available in the lobby, and I could rarely get on it. The rooms are o.k. but poorly lit. This would not be a destination I would ever choose to go to again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2015 by Princess Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Lyn Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at the Tropical Princess. Thank you for your recent review . We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay. Your observations are taking into great consideration and have been shared with the corresponding department managers, in order to analyze the points you mentioned and improve the described shortcomings. We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again to demonstrate you the commitment and quality of service we have exhibited through the years, and that way be able to change any negative perception you may have. Kind regards Federico Espinal General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Italia- Santo Domingo

L'albergo non è male,il personale recepcion lo è..

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Ho litigato nella recepcion xche con malleducazione mi hanno detto che se non pagavo la tariffa maggiorata che avevano loro quel giorno,non avrei fatto il check in e dovevo ritornare a casa,xche io non ho travato giusto che mi hanno fatto pagare di più oltre la tariffa che Expedia mi ha prenotato in euro tutto compreso. Con la scusa che l'euro era salito quel giorno,cosa che non aveva niente a che fare se ho pagato in euro contanti la cifra che expedia mi ha prenotato. Prepotenti,malleducati e fuori ogni limite di rispetto...prettendendo anche fuori tono che se non pagavo l'extra ritornavo da dove ero venuta,cioè dalla capitale,quasi 250 km con bambina dietro. In più noioso in generale. NON TORNO PIÙ...ORRENDO...YANIRI GARCIA RIVAS
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Secaucus, NJ

Nightmare

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: Infrastructure. Nice property.
Cons: Safety especially. Rooms need to be updated.
I will be quick. Stay out! I went to Punta Cana last year for the first time and I am not going back soon. This property is VERY nice and the staff is also VERY good - however rooms are so outdated and the worse thing is: My family and I did not feel safe in this hotel. I was about to leave after 2 days but I spoke with the staff - and stayed until the last day. I strongly believe they need to invest in safety. And please this is NOT related to staff, as once again - this is actually one of the positive things in this "resort".
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2015 by Princess Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Sacardi We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay. Your observations are taking into great consideration and have been shared with the corresponding department managers, in order to analyze the points you mentioned and improve the described shortcomings. Kind regards Federico Espinal Gerente General
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from republica dominicana

Muy bueno y tranquilo

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Supero mis expectativas la comida buena las atenciones también
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA

Awesome place for a vacation!!

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: Everything! It even has a small chapel on the grounds for church service on Sunday afternoons.
Cons: Maybe be a little clearer with instructions regarding reservations at the restaurants. Those who do not speak Spanish seemed to misunderstand.
Location: Free kayaking and sailing to begin with - awesome. We took a 4 wheel buggy ride through the jungle and jumped into a crystal clear lagoon in a cave.
The staff are wonderful and try extremely hard to please the guests. There is a large variety of food available for dining in multiple restaurants and it was great for me to take a break from cooking for my family. The resort is like a tropical paradise with wildlife in abundance including birds, ducks, turtles and peacocks. They are all very tame and gentle. The peacocks even ate out of my hand! Great opportunity for walking and exercise.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2015 by Princess Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Jacqueline We would like to thank you for having taken the opportunity to share the experience you had while here at Tropical Princess. We truly appreciate the compliments towards our hotel, beach, infrastructure and our friendly staff; it is always good to learn that our clients were able to enjoy their stay. Overall, we thank you for expressing your thoughts and await your next visit to the Princess Hotels. Sincerely, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess Beach Resort and Spa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Experience

Posted May 27, 2015
Best stay ever staff treat you like they know you for ever.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Princess Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Client, Thank you so much for selecting our Tropical Princess as your holiday destination. We are so lucky to have the opportunity to welcome you in the Dominican Republic and we really appreciate your positive feedback. It’s a pleasure to know that you had a delightful stay thanks to the kidness of our staff Members. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again in our property. We will be more than pleased to assist you and make your stay with us memorable! Sincerely, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess Beach Resort and Spa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Excellent resort, nice facilities. My room just OK

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: I liked the hotel grounds and pools. It had nice landscaping and was maintained nicely. Nice flowers and birds were all around. Peacocks surprised me!
Cons: Better TV, non-leaking bathroom ceiling, and FREE Internet in the room would be nice. Free Internet is available only in the lobby but it is VERY SLOW
Location: This resort is on Bavaro beach which is really nice. Snorkeling, scuba diving, speed boating, para-sailing, deep sea fishing, zipline adventure nearby
My overall experience at this resort and spa was very good. The facilities, grounds, pools, landscaping, were all excellent and very comforting. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The buffet restaurant (El Higuero) was good. The food was plentiful with nice varieties. But I cannot say the "quality" of the food was so nice, it was just OK. There were many bars in the resort serving a variety of drinks, but the alcohol was of dubious quality! I only had a few problems with my room (#3031). It had a leaking bathroom ceiling. Whenever people took shower upstairs, my bathroom ceiling leaked and dripped water! The bathroom was fitted with fixtures for handicapped people which was nice but was not needed by me. The TV in my room was fit to go to Smithsonian museum as one the first TVs that were manufactured! First there was no remote for the TV and the power button on the body of the TV was missing! When I demanded, a remote was given to me, but still the TV did not work. Eventually, a repairman was summoned, he fiddled with it for sometime, and brought back some very fuzzy images to the TV. The repairman informed me all other rooms had newer, plasma TVs except my room!! So I did not watch TV at all during my stay. TV was not essential for me. If it is essential for you, don't stay in room # 3031. Also the safe deposit locker in my room (it costs $4 extra per day) was rusty.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Princess Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Shoban, We would like to thank you for taking the opportunity to express your feedback about your stay here at Tropical Princess. We hope that you understand that it was never our intention to disappoint you in anyway and after reading your review it is clear to me that your stay was not a usual representation of the majority of our guests, nevertheless we will revise your observations and take any necessary action. All in all, we appreciate the time you dedicated to expressing your opinions and we hope that this does not deter you from returning to the Princess Hotels. Sincerely, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess Beach Resort and Spa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the beach!

Posted May 14, 2015
Very good experience!!! Loved it! If I can I will go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Princess Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen Tropical Princess for your vacations in the Dominican Republic and for taking the time to share your experience with us on web, We are very pleased that our hotel and grounds were to your liking and that you enjoyed our beach and pool area 100%. Thanks for your kind notes about our gastronomy, for us it’s a pleasure to know that your vacation was to your desire. We look forward to welcoming you again in to offer a Pure Vacation. Sincerely, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess Beach Resort and Spa
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

OK for a cheap weekend trip

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: The staff were all very kind and the grounds were well kept.
Cons: Despite being clean, rooms were very outdated and worn down. Also get rid of the time share Royal dudes, big irritant when walking the grounds!!
Location: The location at the end of the string of resorts in Punta Cana. We did not venture off the resort, area looks dangerous!
We got a great deal booking this trip 5 months in advance and during shoulder season. This is NOT a 4 star resort as rated when we booked. The grounds are kept up nicely, the lobby is open air, inviting and the only place with wifi, but a good 10 minute hike from any of the rooms no matter if you're Tropical ($ as we were) or Caribe ($$=top shelf liquor). Our room was in the 5000 block next to one of the three quieter pools. Our a/c and phone did not work but were both quickly fixed within an hour. I had read reviews over the months and most complained about the beds being very hard. I like a firm bed so wasn't expecting the rock we slept on and felt bad for thinking other reviewers were just whiners missing their pillowtops. These beds are miserable and I think the ceramic tile floor may have been softer. Other reviewers raved about the buffet and I am at a loss as to why. There were a few dishes served every night that were good, but for the most part offerings were not very tasty, if you're an adventurous eater you may be willing to try some of the "meat" dishes which my husband did, but I was vegan for the entire trip. All the staff were very friendly and despite knowing no usable Spanish my husband and I had no problem getting by. The beach is amazing and we had no problem finding loungers under the thatch umbrellas (towels on the lounger means taken, an unwritten rule that some people abuse!). A couple of days we had tolerable seaweed and rough waters.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Princess Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Doppelganger420, Thanks for choosing us as your vacation destination in the Caribbean. Our main goal strives in having a great ambience to satisfy our guests’ requirements; therefore we regret that we were not able to fulfill your expectations. In the same way, we thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention during your stay in our property since it is through communications of this nature that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from our resort. No doubt we are fully available to the rest of your holiday a positive and memorable experience with us. We remain at your disposal for whatever you may need. Sincerely, Federico Espinal General Manager Tropical Princess Beach Resort and Spa