Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Off the beaten path - quiet and comfortable

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff. Located next to a Marina. Large Rooms facing the Ocean with terrific views.
Cons: Many repairs from an October 2014 need to be done - Roof of the hotel leaks and wooden boardwalk needs repair.
Location: The area is on the French Side of St Marteen. It is very quiet but with several local bars and restaurants within walking distance right on the water.
Hotel is a small hotel with rooms that have terrific views - boats coming and going all the time. The hotel is quiet and yet there are at least 5 small restaurants within walking distance. Several are right at the Marina less than 50 yards away. The hotel staff is very friendly with welcoming smiles. Due to a Hurricane in October of 2014, there are many repairs to the hotel that need to happen but as of this date (January,2015) have not. If you are looking for a resort type experience, Captian Olivers is not for you. If you like quaint comfort and piece and quiet with a major Marina at your door step, Captian Olivers delivers.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never go Again!!!

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Terrible Bad condition, no wifi, furnitures in very bad condition. Pillows should have 100 years...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Curitiba

Paraíso

Posted Dec 27, 2014
A marina que fica junto ao hotel trás um ar de sofisticação. A sacada do quarto com vista para o mar é esplêndida e a cama king super confortável. O espaço da do ao quarto é outro grande diferencial.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful ocean view room with ok room amenities

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Cons: Mosquito replellent in room and check cats for fleas
Location: Oyster pond is very quite compared to the rest of the island. Had a delicious meal at Canoa...definitely recommend!
First room had some bugs in the bed....not bed bugs but may be fleas. We couldn't tell if the sheets needed to be changed or it was a bed issue. Staff was very kind to switch our room which did not have bugs. The first room also had a lot of mosquitoes! Other than the issues mentioned above, the staff was friendly, nice hotel pool, several cats of the premise, hot showers, good ac, and small bar with fridge in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C

Everything was great.

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Good st martin place to stay. Clean and friendly place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

True Caribbean Resort

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: The staff was great.
Location: Location to both the Dutch and French Sides is excellent.
Our family stayed over Thanksgiving.. The staff, especially Anna, were awesome and extremely helpful in taking care of our every need. They went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay wonderful. When we come back in January we will be planning on staying at Capt Oliver's again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paris

Bon hôtel mais petites améliorations possibles

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: La vue de la chambre sur l'océan, sa proximité avec la marina idéale pour départ à Saint-Barth
Cons: Le ménage et le Wifi
Location: Oyster Pond : pas beaucoup d'activités à proximité de l'hôtel, un restaurant et et un bar. Plage de Dawn beach à 20 minutes à pieds
Je suis restée 4 nuits dans cet hôtel. Au départ j'avais une chambre avec vue sur la marina mais lors de fortes pluies, il y avait des fuites du plafond. On me l'a changée sans que je ne demande rien pour une chambre avec vue sur l'océan. Très belle vue, lit très confortable mais le ménage laisse à désirer. Il y avait un cafard mort dans la salle de bains. Quelques petits pépins (bouilloire en panne mais vite remplacée, porte-fenêtre qui se bloque...) et aucun wifi, sauf dans le lobby. Je vous conseille cet hôtel surtout si vous avez une voiture car il y a peu de choses dans les environs et sans ça, les plages sont difficilement accessibles. Le personnel, bien que souvent sollicité, est accueillant et de bon conseil.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by J.S.from Vancouver, BC

Could use updating, but clean with good view

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were there off-season, which might be responsible for aspects of our experience. We had picked the location to be by the marina (which it was), and because the ad offered amenities such as multiple restaurants and a shuttle to their "private beach". Turns out the restaurants were closed, and there was no indication of a shuttle to a "private beach." Such is life on a small island, I suppose... The good: beautiful view from the room, room was clean and bright. Location was right at the marina, which makes us happy (as boaters). The bad: our room safe had no batteries in it -- we asked to have it addressed and the clerk gave us a lock for something other than our safe...we had to go back and explain again; the bed is a bit on the (very) firm side -- so if you don't like that, you probably won't like the room. Overall the place could use some sprucing up, so if you are expecting anything other than a very local flavor, you might be unhappy. Also, if having on-site restaurant and other things available to you is important, double check on the existence of it before you book.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by C.S.Wfrom fort.Lauderdale

very satifying with a wonderful view

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
i enjoyed my 3 nights stay at the captain olivers. The air condition worked very well .I took lots of warm showers at the hotel after a long day in philipsburg.The staffs was great ! i booked the mountain view room ,when i arrived to check in they quickly upgraded my room from mountain view room to ocean view room with no extra fees. The hotel is far from philipsburg and marigot so u need to rent a car. The hotel need a liitle TLC. nothing major. I enjoyed my stay and i will return next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com