Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Old and Tired

Posted Aug 5, 2017
The hotel itself is quite nice, but the rooms are worn and old. You can see that in its time, it was true luxury. The years however have left their mark on the rooms. Worn wallpaper, worn and stained carpets detract from what could be a 5 star property. It's a 4 star at best. One small pet peeve, how do you get a 5 star rating with no coffeemaker in the room? That's a basic amenity these days and our room was without one.
5 out of 5
by Bonnie

Gorgeous hotel with GREAT Breakfast Buffet

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel. Breakfast buffet was one of the best, really great. A good 15 min walk to the Cathedral, Treasury & Kings Hall (all very much worth a visit). LOTS of shopping & restaurants in the same area. Our room was very nice with LOTS of room & storage. Even the bathtub / shower were heated (I love Germany!). Aachen still has a few towers from its walled city days that are great to tour. Can't wait to return in Spring or Summer. The Concierge had great stories of famous people who had stayed there: Monet, Churchill, Clinton, Dylan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great old hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Woke up early. The spa/pool much nicer than carolus spa. Had the place to myself. Great. Also great breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Reasonable stay

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Good hotel in good location. Pricy. Breakfast is good but expect to smell like eggs and bacon yourself when walking out afterwards. whatever happen to ventilation???
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

This is not a five star hotel. 3 1/2 at best

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Not much. Bar area was cool and location was alright. Free paper.. there really wasn't much good to say. Really?
Cons: Rooms are super small. Seems like you are ina prison cell
Location: Close to town area. I just walked
5 out of 5
by George

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Peter from Stoke on Trent

Too many problems to recommend

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Thought I would try this as a change from the Novotel The building is impressive but the room was a bit worn and small , with no kettle -waking with no cup of tea is difficult for the English but maybe this is not a problem for others. The bar food was not bad but I would not recommend the breakfast as it was very crowded and I gave up trying to get food and managed to get a coffee from another persons table who kindly let me take some of theirs so if you have the choice I would skip the breakfast option it costs around 15 euro and after losing that I got a bun and a decent coffee a few minutes walk away for 3.9 euro and was able to relax. The final annoyance was they billed me in sterling without asking and this causes me administrative problems with my expense report which means another 1/2 hour phoning our accounts to get an exception. Needless to say I moved back to the Novotel the next night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from luxembourg

Certainly the best deal in Aachen

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Spa
Cons: Offer in massage
Location: Walk to the Charlemagne basilica, a must!
I'm used to stay at the Quellenhof since it was a Sofitel. The price is unchanged for the quality of the facilities you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very central

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Very good overall, only minus is no coffee machine in the room
3 out of 5
by Karen from Baden-Baden

First address in Aachen is not worth 5 stars

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
Old fashioned bathroom, single room was spacious however the bed was a converted sofa with super soft, unhealthy mattress. Breakfast service staff rather grumpy and unhelpful. Breakfast selection okay but not 5 star.