Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Get Away From it All

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Friendliness and courtesy of all the staff. Very comfortable and cosy, especially appreciated in the wet weather.
Location: Lots of scenic walks near by. Deer reserve near where you can feed them. Coastal route to Applecross particularly beautiful and interesting.
Excellent location to tour Wester Ross. Very comfortable hotel. Very attentive staff. Food out of this world but so it should be for the price. If you stay here you will not be disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Dan R-B, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the recommendation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ USA

Highlight of Our NC500 Adventure!

Posted Sep 4, 2017
We are still talking about the wonderful time we enjoyed at The Torridon. Gorgeously appointed room, beautiful, tranquil setting, stunning views, delightful whiskey bar, and delicious meal options between the two restaurants on the property. No question, we will return for a longer stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Dan, Hotel Management
Thanks Karen we really appreciate your review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards, Dan
5 out of 5
by Diana

Wonderful hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
A fantastic hotel set in an unbelievably beautiful area of the Scottish highlands. Attentive staff, lovely room and excellent dining. Althogether a first rate experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

A very disappointing experience

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Management
Arrived at 1:45 and informed book in time is 2:00 so we were shown to a room where we could wait. We had not had lunch as we had been traveling since early morning and our first hint of staff attitude was that it would be a problem to have a sandwich while we waited as the menu was for a full lunch. Things went down hill from here. Our companion wanted to fly fish. He was told that the Laird was in residence so there was no fishing on the estate until he left and they would send an email and try and get a date that fishing may be available. We then found out from our own enquiries that the estate manager was 100 meters from the front gate and there is no Laird, he was more than helpful and issued a permit on the spot. The people in the villages nearby were terrific and very helpful but once inside the lodge things were totally different. There are two classes of guests, one who book directly and one who book through Expedia, you have no friends here and it was mentioned more than once. The only meal at night at the hotel was a full detestation menu, with no a la carte. We chose to eat in the inn located in the grounds as we prefer to choose our own menu. We had no wifi that would connect and we could not get to our vpn there was also no mobile phone and added to which we could not get any help in using the land line for a couple of local numbers we were trying to reach. All in all a very expensive and unsatisfactory experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by DRB, Hotel Management
Dear Graeme. I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your experience. You stayed for 4 nights and never raised your concerns once. I can only assume that you enjoyed the room and the location as you make no negative reference to this. You seem to be most upset about fishing. We do not have our own fishing. We refer all our guests to 2 local estates and request availability there. You were requesting fishing on Easter weekend and it was not easy to contact the ghillie to check availability. We do not even advertise that we do fishing and shooting, which you also requested. However had you wished to do adventure activities then that is what we offer in house and we would have been able to easily accommodate you as they are totally in our control. We treat all our customers equally and the majority of staff have no idea whether you booked through Expedia or direct and it is absurd to suggest otherwise. In my experience where customers are not engaging, short and abrupt with staff and negative to the experience, we try and make things right but if the staff are not as engaging as you would have liked then perhaps a little warmth towards them would have helped. I myself checked you out and asked if you enjoyed your stay to which there was no real reply. I did witness that our resident dog also received some negativity from you and was shooed away. I can assure all our customers that everyone is treated equally regardless of how they book. Regards, Dan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Can't wait to go back!

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Location, quality.
Cons: Horseback riding needs to be an added activity!
Location: Highlands hiking, kayaking, clay shooting, walking, Inverness (1h 10mins), Isle of Skye (2.5 hrs).
This hotel is a dream come true! I could have stayed there my entire vacation! Plan to spend at least two nights and join the hotel activities. The hotel is in the heart of Highlands. You can literally walk out the door and go hiking, biking, kayaking, clay shooting, walking etc. The hotel runs activity groups which are very private and intimate. The restaurant food is good but needs a reservation. Breakfast is also good but pricey unless you take advantage of it. Parking and wifi are free. Hotel room was so nice and comfortable. The inside of the hotel building is beautiful. The whiskey bar is huge. The hotel dog, cows and pigs are adorable and friendly. Definitely worth the splurge!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, UK

Expensive, but classy with some odd failings

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Its setting and its public rooms.
Cons: More relaxed service for dining and an a la carte menu. Better bedrooom lighting for the whole room and better bedside reading lights. Fewer cushions!
Location: This hotel is close to the very attractive west coast of the Highlands, so that walking or driving to see it is the best activity.
The hotel is an interesting building in a very pleasant setting. The staff were welcoming, if somewhat remote. Free tea or coffee on arrival is a small but welcoming policy. The food was very good. However, we felt that the dining room service was rather "over the top" with masses of waiters almost vying to serve us. The fact that you had to choose a menu of at least three courses was rather off-putting, so that we did not eat at the hotel on the second night. To avoid a large breakfast, we went to the Torridon Inn, which is in the hotel grounds. The contrast could hardly have been greater. We were reminded of Fawlty Towers: no one took any notice of us, so we went to get cereal, but there were no bowls. We waited a long time until two bowls were brought to us and we were warned that they were hot - for cold cereal! We asked for them to be put under cold water to cool them and this took an age also! Our room was relatively small and rather dimly lit, with flexible spotlights to read in bed, which are never successful. There were myriad cushions on the bed (why do hotels do this?). A soothing cream was put on the pillow "to help us sleep", which we thought a rather ridiculous refinement. On the other hand, the bathroom was large and bright, with an excellent shower, a bath and two washbasins.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nico from Los Angeles, CA

Luxury in a Remote Setting

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Public Spaces.
Cons: I thought that our room at the top of the building was lovely but the roof cuts into the space throughout. If not careful you can bump your head.
Location: The hotel offers a variety of activities. In addition there are lots of walks and hiking in the area.
Classic historic property. Nice walking. Comfortable public rooms. Incredible whiskey bar. The lakes and mountains in this area have remote beauty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ann from scotland

Comfortable hotel great food and attentive staff

Posted Apr 15, 2012
Pros: welcoming and helpful staff
Cons: creaky shower seat
Location: fantastic scenery and views of loch
unstuffy welcoming staff. I am in a wheelchair and staff very helpful. Accessible room, although small ,had wetroom and plenty of room for wheelchair. The food was beautifully presented and good quality. Highlight of trip was a few hours spent with head gardener Les in the walled garden! Wonderful scenery and energetic activites for able bodied but warm lounge with log fires seductive. Overall a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Superbe hôtel château, accueil impeccable. Notre chambre était somptueuse. Très bon pub pour dîner avec des prix raisonnables.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2016
Le petit déjeuner est copieux et délicieux, digne d'un étoilé !