Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Aust

Unique experience close to Addo NP

Posted May 4, 2017 on Wotif
Rod and Magna were great hosts and the bush cabins were exciting and unique. Nestled amongst vast citrus farms Dung Beetle will remain in our memories for all the right reasons.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Eco lodge on a fruit farm close to Addo

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Addo Game reserve
If you can face the 6km trek on bone juddering roads before you get to the hotel then this could be the place for you. But we stayed in one of the new Dung Beetles accommodation in the bush. Some way from the main lapa. This is an attempt at Eco accommodation with a small concrete structure that could double as a nuclear shelter, which did not quite suit our tastes. The hosts were very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from cancun, mexico

Not your standard hotel....BRILLIANT!

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: So unusual, yet with modern conveniences and very clean. Loved the walk to our hut, with all the sayings about nature. The owners!
Location: Best to have a GPS to find it!
Loved this unusual accommodation with all its repurposed touches. Ingenious! Loved the fact that the huts are in the middle of the bush, yet we never fe!t unsafe. The unit even has a microwave. Suggest putting your overnight needs in a backpack and leaving any heavy suitcases secure in your car in the lot. Rod offers a game drive through Addo that is worth doing. For mature travelers like us, who no longer do so well driving in the dark, you might want to make sure you have an Ramen or similar to have in your room or prebook dinner at the inn. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, but the roads are not well lit. Would stay again!
4 out of 5
by srian from Australia. Newcastle

Dung beetle lodge ADDO

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Good place for rest after visiting ADDO Game park. Breakfast excellent. Two Friendly dogs situated in a big citrus Farm
5 out of 5
by Timotheus from Augsburg, Germany

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
The guys running it are doing a fantastic job. Super friendly, super helpful. Great!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qatar

Bush chalet experience

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Enjoyed the nature feeling. Especially the outside shower view across the mountains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida-USA

Great base for safari excursions.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Good water pressure, nice hot indoor and outdoor showers. Quiet location surrounded by orchard. Tastefully decorated with safari/African feel.
Cons: Physical access to chalet. Pool and spa did not look very inviting.
Location: See above.
Rod and Magna certainly went out of their way to ensure a great experience. I stayed 3 nights and I think that is perfect for wildlife viewing. One day was taken up by being collected from Port Elizabeth airport and getting settled in with a delicious dinner that night. Day two went on a 4 hour game drive in Addo National Park and it was excellent. Rod is a certified guide and extremely informative on all aspects of the wildlife. Day 3 Went to Schotia private game reserve where the game drive was a combination of both a day and night drive. Saw so much wildlife including a lion kill. Schotia provided a delicious dinner in an open air lapa that had a very "African, safari feel". It was a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from york

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Cons: Was hard to find even with sat nav as it is quite remote
Location: Addo was amazing, Magna booked us on sunrise safari R300 each 5.30- 7.30 we saw so many zebra elephant antelope and warthogs, even 2 lions.
Beautiful room, with corner bath, shower cubicle and outside shower too! Microwave and fridge as well. Rod and Magna so helpful. After our amazing sunrise safari we were so tired we ate in room at night, on our veranda overlooking the citrus farm