Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. The staff was accommodating and pleasant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Checked out within an hour

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Very old, run down, mold on outside and inside walls, threadbare linens, two bugs in bed, ants in the kitchen, no towels in bathroom, oniy closet is in the bathroom, fire ants biting as we unloaded and then loaded the car, no wifi except in the office. Asked to cancel our 4 nights or at least the following 3 and clerk said too late! No money returned, You might as well camp--it would be easier breathing without the mold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely property and amazing staff

Posted Nov 25, 2016
My bf and I stayed here for 3 days and had an amazing time. The staff where unbelievably helpful and friendly. The hotel is a little off of town but it was approx 3$ cab , so nice and easy, plus I liked the privacy . There's also a papaya plantation near by if you go exploring a bit. The farmer on the property told us we could walk around which was so nice. Over all really enjoyed my experience would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel, very clean, friendly and helpful staff

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: The little balcony with the table was a nice touch
Location: 1 km from town, were you can find every thing, restaurant, shopping, etc.
We love the environment, flower, birds, monkeys and the small river. The swimming pool is nice. The breakfast building facing the volcano is a nice touch. We had a car so we didn't mind the 1km drive to town.
5 out of 5
by alexander

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mindy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Nikki from New Haven

basic room, great service, nice location.

Posted Feb 27, 2016 on Hotels
my friend and i stayed here for several nights. the hotel is set back about half a mile outside of town, which makes it nice and quiet. the workers are extremely friendly and helpful. we really appreciated all of the travel advice. the free breakfast was tasty, and again, the servers are super nice. be aware that the rooms are more like nice cabins at a campground though, in the sense that the room is very basic and no frills. i was expecting something more and was initially taken aback by the starkness of the room, but it made for a good place to sleep after sightseeing all day. there's a/c, a shower with good water pressure, and a fridge, but it is not really the sort of room that you'd want to hang out for a while in. actually, that might be its strong suit, since it ensures you go out and about as much as possible while you're on vacation. also, the wifi can only be accessed at the reception area.
3 out of 5
by Joseph W. from TORONTO CANADA

JUST OKAY

Posted Jan 8, 2016 on Hotels
The room was not what we paid for! Our room was supposed to have two double beds. The a/c had not been put on and when we arrived after driving 3 hours we got to our room to find it like a sauna. This at 8pm was not pleasant. Secondly the walls have large gaps around the A/C and front door which waste all the cool air. There is no place to put your clothes. No closet or dresser! The toilet didn't work too well, and you have to put toilet paper in a waste bin. The TV was not receiving a signal and no one could help us with that. After two days I figured out that it was a tree branch in the way, no big deal. . but there was no one who was of any real help. The town has little in the way of entertainment and it's dark at 5:30 La Fortuna is NOT a family town after dark.It is nice to visit and do the hikes and take in the scenery. A TV would have been helpful. Diego was very helpful at the front desk but he was only there the first two days. After that the front staff was of little assistance. The gardens are gorgeous and maintained with extreme care. The grounds are lovely and teaming with wildlife. Cleaning staff were very nice and kept our room tidy. Kitchen staff were very pleasant and the food was appreciated! We've been to Costa Rica before this trip and our experience helped us this trip. Driving here is dangerous and requires patience and skilled driving. Every excursion from Fortuna takes hours to get to. The town itself has only one decent adult night spot
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient but poor value

Posted Dec 28, 2015
This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at in 3 different regions of Costa Rica, however this may be because we booked just a few days before? We had a standard room and my biggest complaint was lack of comfort for the price- small, hard beds with small, lumpy pillows & A/C that couldn't remove the suffocating humidity. The staff, breakfast and location were awesome but it is hard to make up for poor sleep.