Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Walled Lake, MI

Best views you could ask for!

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The view, the property
Location: Tabacon Hot springs, Free hot springs, La Fortuna, La Fortuna waterfall
Decided our trip would be more about views verses luxury and we definitely picked the right hotel. We stayed in the chalets so we had a view of the volcano, the lake, and everything else. It was beautiful! Cattle and wild horses just doing what they do best in their own natural environment. The hotel has its own fields and gardens, definitely something to check out. They also have horse back riding on their own property which is great. Definitely recommend! The restaurant, the only one on the property, is great too. Great food for the value. Michael at the restaurant is the best! Definitely enjoyed our dining because of him, great service!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Miami

Beautiful property

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The hotel is on a beautiful property overlooking lake Arenal and the Arenal Volcano.
Cons: There were tons of bugs right outside our bedroom door and some managed to get into our room.
Location: It is close to the lake and the Mistic Hanging Bridge. But it is a half hour drive to La Fortuna and the other major sites and activities.
The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. You need to get there during daylight because it is up on the mountain with lots of twists and turns. We arrived late and there was a lot of fog so it was a difficult ride. The breakfast was great, the common areas and views are very nice. The jungle trail is an amazing hike. There is a restaurant, so you don't have to leave at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Costa Rica

The bathroom smell terrible.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The views.
Cons: I do not know about the other rooms
The room 304 was very uncomfortable and the bathrooms have no ventilation. The food quality, serve in the restaurant, was not very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Amazing views of Arenal!

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Location and seclusion from the main road - you felt like you were in your own rainforest.
Location: Near the Arenal National Park, zip lining and hot springs.
We loved this lodge. Our family stayed here and the kids loved the jacuzzi and pool, catching fire flies on the lush grounds, the food was good at the restaurant, and the staff was helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing location

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Hotel is on a ridge line overlooking the Arenal Volcano. It has a nice pool, good breakfast and two trails to see wildlife in the jungle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City OK

Excellent View

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: View
Cons: As a foreigner i would like if there was a little more information about the area and things to do and the best way to do things
Location: The location is a bit out of town, lake arsenal is near i suggest canoeing and boat excursion on the lake
The hotel room we were in had an amazing view of the volcano, the patio was very private and was cleaned daily along with the room. This made for a most relaxing evening and morning. The only complaint i would have is how far up the mountain you have to drive daily to access the hotel, but that is probably why we had such an amazing view. The hotel was peaceful and relaxing. As I have not been to any other hotel in the area I have nothing to compare to but overall we were very satisfied and hope to go back to the area again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from chicago

In rainforest

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: As abive
Cons: As above
Location: Rain forest, hanging bridges - saw 2 snakes there. There is also a boat safari tour - saw monkeys and iguanas there.
Hot and humid conditions. Room dirty with insects in it. Had to have them clean it. Again keep in mind it was in a rainforest so that's a potentially good excuse. Still I had kids so had to be protective. It was hot in the restaurant. I think it would help if they kept fans on and maybe an AC. An AC in the room would have made it very comfortable. Great trail through rainforest. Staff were very very friendly and went out of the way to make us comfortable. I still would go there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, canada

Charming older lodge (could be fabulous)

Posted Mar 20, 2017
This is a charming older lodge with lots of character. I loved the reception area with its huge fireplace and carved wooden furniture. Unfortunately we were placed in a 2 bedroom suite at the back of the property. The furnishings were old and uninspiring. No view. The cane chair was worn and broken. They should try harder to please. Food was really mediocre. Breakfast lukewarm. With a little effort and some cash this place could be brought back to its former glory.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheboygan, MI

Great place to get away from it all

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Orbitz
Amazing views from the chalets we stayed in. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great pool and Jacuzzi. The drive up is awesome.....in a good and bad sense. It's kind of scary and fun at the same time. It takes awhile so we were glad to have pickups for our excursions. There's no butterfly garden as advertised. It's out of town and with the drive it's a benefit to plan ahead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Nice, lodge, with excellent view of Arenal Volcano

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Location, food, the view, the gardens.
Location: Lots of outdoor activites nearby, hiking at Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna waterfall, there was also ziplining, chocolate tours available.
Stayed two nights with my family of 4. Loved the view of he volcano and the hiking trails that were on the property. A great place to see birds. Stays included a breakfast that was quite good. Staff were very nice. Games in the lobby as well a kids room.