Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Webbington

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Very friendly staff and great customer service...good food
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern England

Could be a nice hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: The staff were good and efficient, the breakfast was good, but the food in the bar at night was awful.
Cons: A complete refurb of the whole hotel is needed.
Location: We weren't there long enough
We booked this hotel for an overnight stay to break a journey up, it was cheap so we didn't expect too much. The staff on the whole seem to be trying their best to make the hotel stay for their guests as pleasant as possible, however the hotel is tatty and desperately in need of a complete refurbishment. Our room was clean and ok for one night. It's a long time since we have stayed in a Best Western hotel and it will be even longer before we do it again!! If the hotel was sold to a different hotel chain who cared about the visual appeal of the hotel it could be a lovely place to stay with views from the terrace that are panoramic over the countryside. The glasses and cutlery and crockery look like they have been in use since the 1980's and that reflects the look of the rest of the hotel, so come on Best Western spend some money on the place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Hotel rundown

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Floor in bedroom dipping when walking at the bottom of the bed fried eggs took for ever staff rude in restaurant clean pre packed plastic glass dirty Bar staff ok k
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Broxbourne, UK

Charming old hotel in a beautiful setting

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Great views from the sun terrace. Pretty good choice and quality of the breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff (Esp. Jordan on the front desk).
Cons: Better equipped rooms.
Location: Don't trust Google maps to get you here as you'll spend an age travelling along miles of single-track roads!!
Spent a couple of nights here for a romantic short-break with my wife. Overall had a pleasant experience here, but I was a little disappointed with the room size and facilities. There's no AC or fans in the rooms so in the summer the rooms can feel stuffy. Also the lack of an in-room safe or mini-bar/fridge was a disappointing oversight by the management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st albans

Stop over with family and friends

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Well maintained, clean, good facilities friendly and professional staff, all at an excellent price. Slightly let down by its proximity to the M5, but then it's a great location for a stop over or for exploring the area. Certainly would have no hesitation in recommending.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: everything
Cannot complain about the service, the staff were very helpfull and it was a pleasure to stay there, will be staying there again when I'm up that way
4 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Adrian

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly, helpful staff make up for the tired interior of the hotel. Our room was on the second floor with no lift. The porter carried our bags up, but we carried them down. View from the terrace was magnificent and ample parking was just what we needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was dated, but clean and comfortable. Good breakfast in the morning with attentive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2017
lovely stay staff very frendly and helpful.hotelgood location.