Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jj

Excellent stay

Posted Sep 18, 2016
This is my second visit and never disappoints idyllic location spotless room and the most comfortable bed would strongly recommend David J
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Telford, UK

Excellent value for money

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff. Although the M5 is visible there was very little noise from the motorway making this a very peaceful location.
Cons: The beds were very firm. I know this is a matter of preference but we both had stiff backs the following morning.
Location: It is in a great location for Cheddar Gorge/Wookey Hole and Weston Super Mare and the surrounding coastline.
My wife and I booked for a 1 night stay at the hotel on our way back up from Cornwall as we wanted to see a few of the Somerset sites. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who soon had us booked in. Our room was very spacious with a lovely balcony over looking the car park. It is just a shame that it was too wet to use it. Having settled in, we then made use of the pool, steam room and sauna, all of which were well maintained and clean. The only odd experience was having to walk from the pool to the steam and sauna rooms in our swimwear, as they were the other side of the gym. We ate out in the evening at a local pub, but we did enjoy a hearty full breakfast in the hotel's restaurant the following morning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Nice getaway hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016
The hotel is a great location, especially if you want somewhere relaxing and away from the tourist traps. Cheddar Gorge is 10 minutes away and Weston-super-Mare just 15 minutes away, if you do want to visit local attractions. It was nice to be able to use the pool/spa facilities (although you do have to walk through the gym to access the steam rooms). Room was a good size and well equipped, a few more signs/more obvious entrance sign would help when arriving at night (long country road to get there). Overall a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from blackburn

Stopover

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Stayed to break up a journey. Perfect for this. Nothing nearby but Cheddar is only 6 miles away & is a lovely little place to visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harrogate, North Yorkshire

Excellent hotel, close to local attractions

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Brilliant staff, very clean, great restaurant, excellent facilities, spacious car park, quiet location
Cons: Although nothing is ever prefect, is hotel must come close as we couldn't think of anything that needed improving
Location: Set in beautiful countryside with great views and lots of local attractions Cheddar Gorge, Wookey Hole, Weston-Super-Mare or the city of Wells .
This is the first time at this hotel and I would heartily recommend it to anyone who is planning to visit Cheddar Gorge, Wookey Hole, Weston-Super-Mare or the city of Wells or in fact anywhere in Somerset. My wife and I stayed at the hotel for two nights and visited the above places and more.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs upgrading in a serious way!

Posted Aug 7, 2016
We stayed 4 nights at the Webbington...it looks lovely on the outside but the inside is in desperate need of refurbishing. As a former hotelier myself, interior design is lacking in the bar area and library of what should be a grand hotel - a complete misplacement of furniture in both areas. The library had spot lights flung down in the fireplace, thankfully, the fireplace was not real or did not appear real. The hotel also needs an elevator for accessibility reasons and ease of getting luggage up to the third floor as we were. Hotel appeared seriously understaffed although the staff working were very pleasant and helpful when called upon. Problems with plumbing as we had no hot water our first morning and the waterpipes made terribly knocking sounds our last morning there. Sad to say, but the hotel, despite having the Best Western name associated with it, is being run by amateurs. There is certainly a lot of potential here but without proper guidance and advise, this hotel may not survive the expectations of the contemporary traveller.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The setting, overlooking the Mendip Hills.
Cons: More staff for breakfast when a wedding party is staying
Location: Good setting in lovely countryside. Near to all attractions . The Cheddar caves are worth a visit.
The staff went out of their way to assist. Good pool and gym facilities. The dinner in the restaurant was excellant. My husband ordered the rib eye steak and the best he has ever had. The only downside , there was a large wedding party staying so breakfast the next morning was very slow. I waited 20 minutes for a poached egg and had to ask 3 times for it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Good stop off

Posted Jul 31, 2016
For the price this is a great place to stop off ready to beat the traffic for onward travel to the south west. The building is lovely and the staff very well trained. We did not eat as arrived late, but a glance at the menu suggested hearty fair and very good value. If I am down that way again I will pick this hotel again. The leisure club is a bonus too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bedfordshire

Watch when you go

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Nice staff but your stay will be complicated if there's a wedding on. We booked a restaurant table for 7:30 (through reception who said it would be fine) - wedding guests vacated the restaurant & we were directed to our table at 8:30 - good job we hadn't anything planned later! 2nd night, 2nd wedding party + 60th birthday party = twice the noise in the room from discos. Extractor fan extremely noisy in bathroom so awkward to go in at night without disturbing partner (& unpleasant to shower in there) Overall a nice place with a nice (albeit a little small) pool & spa facility
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Hotel set in Scenic area

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: There was nothing we did not like handy to have a pool and Gym
Cons: Sometimes very busy at the bar and only one staff on duty
Location: Hotel not near many pubs restaurants but good walks and everything you would need at the Hotel
Hotel setting excellent , Receptionist friendly informative , Room spacious clean and Quite, Bar and waiter staff friendly very proffesional and food very good.