Ratings based on 1,195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Nice big room, good location

Posted Aug 27, 2015
I have stayed at tunnel mountain many times and have always enjoyed it. Usually we stay in the studio room which I highly recommend for only two people. This time only the studio condo was left. A bit older room, no electric fire place or steam shower but would be good with kids as more room and it has a kitchen. I enjoy being very close to town but not right in the hussle.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whitecourt, AB

Overpriced and Dirty

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Not much- dirty rooms.
Cons: Cleanliness and condition of rooms.
Location: Location is OK. Very close to town.
I recently spent five nights at Tunnel Mountain Resort while attending a conference at the Banff Centre. I will compliment the staff on allowing me to bring my three small dogs. I did have to pay $25 per pet which added an extra $375 to my already expensive stay. After my kennel fell through, I was stuck and the hotel did allow an exception to their pet policy. Also, when we arrived there were pet amenities in the room- a bed, two bowls and a toy- nice touch. We had a Condo with Loft that did disappoint. The decor was very dated and there was little done to keep the suite up to date. It must have been very nice when new, but now is dated and old. There were many nicks in the walls and the fan in the bathroom was hanging at a weird angle from the ceiling. The baths had new toilets, and the downstairs bath had a new whirlpool tub. The sinks, and counter tops were from the early 80s. Upon check in the memo in the room stated there would be a thorough clean on the third day. That did not happen. We got garbage emptied and towels changed- that was it. The king size bed in the loft was comfortable. The room did come with dishes, cups and utensils. There was also a dishwasher to clean up. It also had a full size fridge. There was also a wood fireplace with wood provided. That is a nice touch. The ice machine is in the basement of one of the buildings and has a weird way of access. It made getting ice an inconvenience. Now, the main reasons for my poor review. First of all,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Richmond Hill, Ontario

Great location in Banff

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Location is very good. The cabin has a full kitchen. Includes parking.
Very comfortable cabin, close to downtown Banff. Very family friendly. Clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: It was a very comfortable room with a beautiful view of a mountain and forests.
Cons: The only negative was the noise from the road. Our room faced the road and the traffic noise of passing cars went until late at night.
This was a great place to stay, not far from the village of Banff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Beautiful location but housekeeing lacking bath was not clean on arrival nor cleaned the next day when we complained bath cleaned but clean materials left in room. Now we did rent three rooms and no problems with the other two.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A place to sleep 6, not much else

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: The staff tried their best to help when advised of the shortfall of towels, and kitchen problems.
Cons: The place needs an update and needs a clean!
We stayed in the "Mountain Cabin" which has a dusty, dingy loft that sleeps 4 (two double beds), a master bedroom with 1 queen, and a couch with double pull out. What can I say, the place is DATED, DIRTY and lacking basic amenities. The shower is like a pressure washer (they provide 4 sets of towels for a party of 6), the stove had one burner that was broken (the large one), they supply one pot with no lid for cooking, the kettle was disgusting with white floaties, and the place was rather filthy. Since the bathroom was so small and uncomfortable, we went to the pool room to shower. The laundry facilities were lacklustre, with this tiny room in the basement of the old building to squash yourself in to...it's rather unsafe feeling at night being in such cozy quarters with strangers! For the price, this was a REAL fail. They shouldn't be allow to call it a resort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton,AB

Disappointing visit

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: Free bus passes, coupon book, layout of room
Cons: A/C, better insulation between rooms, take down "dishes are not housekeeping responsibility signs"
Location: Beautiful location, lots to do!
These rooms are not quiet, I could here a child crying and noise from one of the adjoining suites. The wall are so thin that you can here the plumbing from adjoining rules. There was no air conditioning. There was also a sign saying to do your dishes as that was not part of the housekeeping staffs responsibility. The Jacuzzi tub was a nice surprise but it stank when I used it and the jets were too low to be of any use. The layout of the room was nice as was the view. The staff were friendly and provided a coupon book to Banff and free bus passes for our use.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AB

Don't stay here

Posted Aug 7, 2015
The floor was dirty, hair in bedding, ran out of hot water after 2nd shower.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2015
the hotel is average the hotel is average the hotel is average the hotel is average the hotel is average
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Good location but underwhelming

Posted Aug 4, 2015
It's located in a beautiful location in Banff, but it feels cheap and doesn't come close to the hype of how they advertise and promote it online.